Opinion 2019 Non Crows - Watts love got to do with it? #pick1herewecome

• Thread starter Thread starter FR0GGY

Its an interesting point you raised. We were the most dominant team in the H&A season in 2017 and I dont recall any of the major AFL shows focusing on how strong we had become.

Fast forward to 2019 and we are 1 and 3 and we dominated the AFL shows on Monday in a negative manner. Ironically the team that is 3 from their past 36 was applauded for their progress.

I remember we got plenty of praise when we were flying in 2017. In print, The Age ran plenty of whole pages opinion pieces about how incredible our game plan and scoring was, and who was going to beat us.

360/Talking Footy/On the Couch always focus more on losers and what's wrong, rather than focusing on the winners.

Outrage and drama sells these days.....

I remember we got plenty of praise when we were flying in 2017. In print, The Age ran plenty of whole pages opinion pieces about how incredible our game plan and scoring was, and who was going to beat us.

360/Talking Footy/On the Couch always focus more on losers and what's wrong, rather than focusing on the winners.

Fair point on the difference between AFL news shows and electronic/print media.

I remember a game up here at the qualifying final at the Gabba in 2002. We were MUCH MUCH worse that game.

I recall a game here at Subi where Scott Cummings kicked about 9 against us and we were deplorable.

Most of these games were 'bad days out' though. So far, we've had 'an ordinary month'.

That's cause for some concern. That maybe, this is the norm.

If so, can't wait for the 'bad day out'.....

I'm normally pretty buoyant, but don't like what I'm seeing currently. But hey I'm not Robinson Crusoe there.

I do think that we have the playing talent to turn this around quickly. Not with this game plan though.

I think I'd rather eat my own liver than watch this.

Jesus watching Ben Brown's multiple actions again how long is it going to be before frees are awarded against him for blatant staging?

It wasn't just the joke free kicks he was awarded. He jumped straight into the back of Talia to take him out of the contest when Zurhaar kicked a critical goal.

The umpiring was farcical.

It was so appalling that it was almost as bad as the footballing from both teams.

Jesus watching Ben Brown's multiple actions again how long is it going to be before frees are awarded against him for blatant staging?

I thought the AFL were going to fine players for staging?

... but they are farking clueless.

Fine the players to stamp out AFL players acting like soccer players.

Wow Last Sat was only our worse game this year.
May 5th 2017 was much worse, or May 25th Last year.
But the Media Have every right to dump on the Crows, the Only issue I have is when we win that say nothing.

To Err is Human
To Forgive is Divine

Funnily enough the old Greek, Roman, Norse God’s, not to mention the Old Testament weren’t too big on the ol forgiveness thing

It was a religious tweet that said :
Warning
Drunks, homosexuals, adulterers, fornicators, thieves, athiests, idolaters
Hell awaits you. Repent.

A fairly benign, if a bit backwards statement. Hardly some fire and brimstone hate speech

Well you've obviously not been on facebook. There's been a massive ground swell against Brunei. ANYONE that spreads hate should be howled down. Doesn't matter their colour, religion or nationality. Brunei is a disgrace.

You get news or take the temperature of public opinion from Facebook?

I’ve heard about people who do, just never encountered them before

Ill tell you what all this talk of u

I think a lot of the bashing may come from the fact that the majority of our playing group are petulant little flogs. Thats not to say i dont agree that the whole club from board level down needs a giant broom put through it, but seriously, this group of players have consistently had their knickers in a knot about one thing or another for close to 10 years. They get paid big bucks to kick a footy. **** me i wish i was fortunate enough to have a gig like that instead of my ordinary job for average pay. These little pricks need to get a grip if you ask me .

Ill tell you what all this talk of u
I think a lot of the bashing may come from the fact that the majority of our playing group are petulant little flogs. Thats not to say i dont agree that the whole club from board level down needs a giant broom put through it, but seriously, this group of players have consistently had their knickers in a knot about one thing or another for close to 10 years. They get paid big bucks to kick a footy. **** me i wish i was fortunate enough to have a gig like that instead of my ordinary job for average pay. These little pricks need to get a grip if you ask me .

Sort of agree with you but....
it is their job and to have the management team totally screw things up time and time again which then affects your performance/enjoyment of your job being pissed is understandable and this leads to disinterest or going through the motions.

Hear Hear
http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/26495257/afl-heroes-villains-round-4-brown-shelve-staging

VILLAINS
Ben Brown: Sorry, Ben, but it's about time someone called you out for some your forward line conduct. You're a talented man, and an excellent set shot at goal but staging for free kicks -- and waving your limbs around like a wacky inflatable arm man in the process -- is not a good look for you or our great game.

Too often you'll be late to a pack, outmuscled or beaten to the fall of the ball, and decide to raise the arms, kick out the legs and look like a giraffe on rollerskates. And the umpires seem to fall for it. But for the betterment of our game, it's time to stop.
In the third quarter of your side's win over Adelaide, you were twice awarded what can only be described as soft free kicks inside forward 50. The first was in a ruck contest during which you were outpositioned and outmuscled ... Reilly O'Brien must still be wondering what he did wrong. The other was when you were, again, horribly outpositioned in a marking contest, and ran across the back of the pack with your arms flailing. It was not a good look.

If Alex Rance copped a $1000 fine for staging last season, then it's only fair you dig into those pockets. Over to you, Match Review officer.

We seem to get a lot of press when we’re bad and none when we’re good...

Why is that?
I think we just tend to notice the bad press more than the good press. There was plenty of good press about us in 2017 but everything was rosey back then so we didn't take notice of it as much.

I recall a game here at Subi where Scott Cummings kicked about 9 against us and we were deplorable.

Most of these games were 'bad days out' though. So far, we've had 'an ordinary month'.

That's cause for some concern. That maybe, this is the norm.

If so, can't wait for the 'bad day out'.....

I'm normally pretty buoyant, but don't like what I'm seeing currently. But hey I'm not Robinson Crusoe there.

I do think that we have the playing talent to turn this around quickly. Not with this game plan though.

I think I'd rather eat my own liver than watch this.
Reckon Cummings kicked a lazy 14 that game.

Hear Hear
http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/26495257/afl-heroes-villains-round-4-brown-shelve-staging

VILLAINS
Ben Brown: Sorry, Ben, but it's about time someone called you out for some your forward line conduct. You're a talented man, and an excellent set shot at goal but staging for free kicks -- and waving your limbs around like a wacky inflatable arm man in the process -- is not a good look for you or our great game.

Too often you'll be late to a pack, outmuscled or beaten to the fall of the ball, and decide to raise the arms, kick out the legs and look like a giraffe on rollerskates. And the umpires seem to fall for it. But for the betterment of our game, it's time to stop.
In the third quarter of your side's win over Adelaide, you were twice awarded what can only be described as soft free kicks inside forward 50. The first was in a ruck contest during which you were outpositioned and outmuscled ... Reilly O'Brien must still be wondering what he did wrong. The other was when you were, again, horribly outpositioned in a marking contest, and ran across the back of the pack with your arms flailing. It was not a good look.

If Alex Rance copped a $1000 fine for staging last season, then it's only fair you dig into those pockets. Over to you, Match Review officer.

I still cant understand why Ben Brown has copped so much flack - he is a rank amateur compared to Robbie Gray.

PS I've said for many years there should be post match reviews where any staging etc is then strictly and harshly penalised eg 1st offence Big Fine 10K,
2nd offence 1 game suspension, 3rd offence 2 games suspension and so on. (Robbie would never play finals :) )
I also think there should be an end of quarter (ie during the match reviews) and player suspended for the following quarter.
The umpires cannot identify it for the most part during the course of play and this is a big blight on our game which has grown exponentially over recent seasons. Some teams actively encourage it. About time it was stamped out.

I still cant understand why Ben Brown has copped so much flack - he is a rank amateur compared to Robbie Gray.

PS I've said for many years there should be post match reviews where any staging etc is then strictly and harshly penalised eg 1st offence Big Fine 10K,
2nd offence 1 game suspension, 3rd offence 2 games suspension and so on. (Robbie would never play finals :) )
I also think there should be an end of quarter (ie during the match reviews) and player suspended for the following quarter.
The umpires cannot identify it for the most part during the course of play and this is a big blight on our game which has grown exponentially over recent seasons. Some teams actively encourage it. About time it was stamped out.
The AFL said a couple of years ago they would stamp it out... but they have been worse than useless... so the players keep doing it as they know the AFL won't do a thing

Is anyone else getting this when they try to paste to Outline?

Not Supported
We're sorry, but this URL is not supported by Outline

Anyone know how to fix it?
It was working fine until the other day.

Not Supported

Yes same happened to me as well. Its frustrating as I like reading AFL articles across the country.

From that video: "Probably exaggerated the contact" is the key, IMO. I thought ROB's problem was that he put his hands on Brown and pushed - in that sense there was a possibility of a free kick (because I believe it's OK to go body on body in a ruck contest, but not to use your hands to push). So I actually can't argue too strongly against it being a free kick. BUT:

The exaggeration / simulation is the problem. If Brown had tried to stay in the contest and not flung himself away in that exaggerated manner, then maybe he would have got a free kick anyway. If you are actually being infringed, there should be no need to exaggerate, and I'm sure we all agree that - whether the free is there or not, it's the exaggeration that is the problem, the ugly sight.

So my view is: Apart from punishing player for exaggeration / simulation, we (the AFL / umpires) can also approach it from another angle.

Move the "burden of proof". Let the players know that if they exaggerate, they run the risk of missing a free kick that might, actually, otherwise be paid. Let them know that exaggerated moves like flinging yourself back "I'm being HELD!!!" or forward/sideways "I've been PUSHED!!!" will lead the umpire to believe that
1. You are simulating; and/or
2. If you're in such control of your movement that you can make that move, you're not actually being infringed.

Run toward the ball, think you're being held? KEEP MOVING TOWARD THE BALL. If you're being held, you'll either break the hold - and get to the ball - or the umpire will see your jumper being pulled.

In a ruck or marking contest, and get pushed? TRY TO STAY IN THE CONTEST. If you're actually being pushed, the umpire will see it.

But exaggerate, fling yourself forwards / sideways, fling your arms out, and the umpire will say "balance of probabilities is you're simulating".

The "fling" will no longer be seen as an indicator that you've been infringed, with the umpire then deciding whether it was genuine or not. The "fling" will be seen by the umpire as evidence that you are staging and they will give the benefit of the doubt to the other player.

A coach isn't going to mind a player copping a fine for "a bit of theatre". They might start minding if a player starts missing out on free kicks.

From that video: "Probably exaggerated the contact" is the key, IMO. I thought ROB's problem was that he put his hands on Brown and pushed - in that sense there was a possibility of a free kick (because I believe it's OK to go body on body in a ruck contest, but not to use your hands to push). So I actually can't argue too strongly against it being a free kick. BUT:

The exaggeration / simulation is the problem. If Brown had tried to stay in the contest and not flung himself away in that exaggerated manner, then maybe he would have got a free kick anyway. If you are actually being infringed, there should be no need to exaggerate, and I'm sure we all agree that - whether the free is there or not, it's the exaggeration that is the problem, the ugly sight.

So my view is: Apart from punishing player for exaggeration / simulation, we (the AFL / umpires) can also approach it from another angle.

Move the "burden of proof". Let the players know that if they exaggerate, they run the risk of missing a free kick that might, actually, otherwise be paid. Let them know that exaggerated moves like flinging yourself back "I'm being HELD!!!" or forward/sideways "I've been PUSHED!!!" will lead the umpire to believe that
1. You are simulating; and/or
2. If you're in such control of your movement that you can make that move, you're not actually being infringed.

Run toward the ball, think you're being held? KEEP MOVING TOWARD THE BALL. If you're being held, you'll either break the hold - and get to the ball - or the umpire will see your jumper being pulled.

In a ruck or marking contest, and get pushed? TRY TO STAY IN THE CONTEST. If you're actually being pushed, the umpire will see it.

But exaggerate, fling yourself forwards / sideways, fling your arms out, and the umpire will say "balance of probabilities is you're simulating".

The "fling" will no longer be seen as an indicator that you've been infringed, with the umpire then deciding whether it was genuine or not. The "fling" will be seen by the umpire as evidence that you are staging and they will give the benefit of the doubt to the other player.

A coach isn't going to mind a player copping a fine for "a bit of theatre". They might start minding if a player starts missing out on free kicks.

This is the perfect solution.

If you fling your arms out or exaggerate contact it's play on. Similar to ducking your head is play on

Not Supported

Yes same happened to me as well. Its frustrating as I like reading AFL articles across the country.

Have you tried without "Outline"? I didn't use it and the link opened.