List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

I am not in favour of delisting him or writing him off. But this is his 4th year on an AFL list and he doesn't dominate or significantly impact WAFL games at this stage. Keep him for another couple of years and see what happens. But i think it is starting to look more likely that he doesn't make it to be a solid AFL quality player than that he does.
He dominated the WAFL two weeks ago, which is why he played AFL last weekend. Went alright too, until he got a soft tissue injury.

******* hell no! If they do that, it'll be the straw for me. ******* dumb.

We're better of playing and extra mid and concede 2nd ruck in CB. Darling is fine for forward throw ins.

Waterman back

Or Clark as 2nd ruck

NOT ******* ALLEN AS RUCK YOU KENTS!!!!
Steady on, he'll probably just take some taps in the F50, like Darling does.

The eagles have no money left to pay another player, that's the only reason i could see why they didn't pick a 2-3rd MSD player. They knew NN wasn't going to play again this year. I reckon we could have gone for 4-5 players this MSD as a lot of other players won't make it back. They need to get there finances back on track, all i know they aren't telling us something. Surely they couldn't have F**ked up the MSD as they did for no reason.
I think the most likely reason they didn't take a 2nd pick is that they didn't think there would be any players left by their second pick that are capable of playing AFL footy in the next 12 months. And they didn't want to waste a spot for the next 18 months on another project player. They also might be thinking that Pick 1 might become 3 picks if we trade down and that plus our Round 2 - 4 picks makes potentially 6 picks in the draft. They don't want to box themselves into having to cut 8 players post season if they take on too many MSD players and the cards do fall that way that Pick 1 gets traded down.

But if that is the reason they should just come out and say it and we would accept that that is their best judgement and they have to go with it. Rather than treating us like idiots and telling us lies about how all the injured players will be coming back this year. The lying and talking to us like we are stupid is the thing that makes me pissed with them.

He dominated the WAFL two weeks ago, which is why he played AFL last weekend. Went alright too, until he got a soft tissue injury.
I haven't seen that much of him. Is he going to cut it as a ruckman? Can he jump? Or will he need to go for a tall forward spot for a long term place (and if so is his marking, kicking and agility good enough)?

Calm your farms

Go to 4.50 in the video

Allen was asked if he was going into the ruck and said nothing more than he didn’t know as it hasn’t been spoken about but he’d do it if required

It’s a long bow to conclude that he’ll be rucking other than perhaps at a F50 stoppage based on the answer he gave

Now if ever there was a reason to bring in in a player like Buller in the MSD...............

IT WAS TO MAKE SURE WE NEVER PLAY OSCAR IN THE BLOODY RUCK AGAIN! EVER!

I feel ill reading that! Just hope its some click chasing journo who has totally twisted what someone said.

And Buller btw. Bog with 5 goals, 17 possesions, 5 marks, 4 tackles and also rucked to lead the Swand VFL side to their first win of the year.

Swans fans cant wait for next week to unleach their twin towers from WA.:straining::$:sick:🤢🤮

honestly, just play the gif every time before you read a story in that shitrag

Tom Hardy Bait GIF

List management is a long term thing. I expect we have now completed a load of discussion with player agents as to who is available and interested at the end of 2023 (eg Robertson) and who might be available the following year (eg English).

I expect the discussion with Hurn and Shuey have been had - it will likely stay under the Eagles cone of silence

We have no idea what Gov and Cripps have been offered and whether it is with triggers or $ incentives

What I do know is that with Maric, unless Waterman reinvents himself as a defender, we really do not need Georgiades as a forward or would only want if we saw him playing third tall defender or had a desire to screw over Port and get revenge through the PSD.

No problems taking only 1 in the MSD. You kind of need to understand what the consequences were - salary cap, our targets only wanting 18 month contracts, the WAFL clubs not prepared to release to Beagles (example Hunter and Buller).

No problems in saying King Nissie I has overstayed his time and his impact has now left the club lacking in confidence, unable to join up and unite, keeping the members and fans in the dark, nepotism in employing offspring, loosing the heir apparent to the Drug Rats, crippled with a WAFL team because King Nissie demanded we play finals and the WAFL presidents then made sure it would be a remote only chance, etc etc etc

Simpson should stay and se out his contract - he is suffering from his protectiveness and bias to his flag winning crew and has lost the plot in contract extensions (yes I know list management but Simmo has a big input on that) and has lost integrity in match committee selections.

I love the rhetoric from Barrett and Duffield starting to question the character of the club. There is only 1 outcome I want. Get the club running like a proper organisation - this would look like where the board report to its members (and they get to vote them in) and the CEO reports to the Board (and is not on the board recognising a conflict of interest).

I have personally written to Wayne Martin to enquire and outline the flawed constitution of Indian Pacific. Guess what folks - I sense from his response they do not give a rats so long as the fatted goose keeps passing out those golden eggs to the WAFC.

I am liking the look of the Hawks R2 held by Sydney (our good old trading partner).

There will be rich picking this year at the start of the second round and I am thing pick 22 for our future second. Sydney will still be left with their own R1, R2 and R3 plus Hawks R3 and a valuable pick into 2024.

Could Edwards slide to 19 and we might need 22 for Livingstone or Hall (if the trajectories continue)

Yup.

While our retention rate has been very good over the long haul it has been assisted IMO by being regular contenders, regularly competitive and being well run on and off field.

I’m not sure the situation in the 2020’s is the same.

Whole ship needs to be made ship shape.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
I dont think we are as unappealing as the usual bottom of the ladder team. Team is devastated by injuries and we still are one of the most powerful clubs off-field. Rich club with a massive supporter base still. We are not a North or GC that are horrible on field and treading water off-field.

Mate, 5 goals 4 behinds, 19 disposals, 5 marks. He won them the game off his own boot, because Sydney looked average without him.
Sweet, good for him.

Brander kicked 5 against Sydney's AFL game in the preseason after we de-listed him.

How'd that turn out?

One game isn't a sample size to judge him off.

I dont think we are as unappealing as the usual bottom of the ladder team. Team is devastated by injuries and we still are one of the most powerful clubs off-field. Rich club with a massive supporter base still. We are not a North or GC that are horrible on field and treading water off-field.
No offence, but there's literally been dozens of pages on here this week, talking about how poor you appear off field at the moment.

As someone who follows both teams casually, it currently looks like GC are more organised off field than WC.

No offence, but there's literally been dozens of pages on here this week, talking about how poor you appear off field at the moment.

As someone who follows both teams casually, it currently looks like GC are more organised off field than WC.
GC would die if the AFL didnt keep supporting them.

Bit of frustration bubbling over because of our on-field performance. West Coast is still well run and you can be guaranteed of playing in front of 30,000 plus, even when we’re dog-shit. Then when we improve, playing 50,000 plus every week is enticing for players.

Sweet, good for him.

Brander kicked 5 against Sydney's AFL game in the preseason after we de-listed him.

How'd that turn out?

One game isn't a sample size to judge him off.
That's a generous assessment given that most of his goals came in extra-extra time where they were doing drills in a glorified paddock.

I think the most likely reason they didn't take a 2nd pick is that they didn't think there would be any players left by their second pick that are capable of playing AFL footy in the next 12 months. And they didn't want to waste a spot for the next 18 months on another project player. They also might be thinking that Pick 1 might become 3 picks if we trade down and that plus our Round 2 - 4 picks makes potentially 6 picks in the draft. They don't want to box themselves into having to cut 8 players post season if they take on too many MSD players and the cards do fall that way that Pick 1 gets traded down.

But if that is the reason they should just come out and say it and we would accept that that is their best judgement and they have to go with it. Rather than treating us like idiots and telling us lies about how all the injured players will be coming back this year. The lying and talking to us like we are stupid is the thing that makes me pissed with them.
You can pass. We should have given ourselves the option.