Things That Shit Me the Eighteenth

I've sacked 4 managers this year for workplace bullying/sexual harassment and ya gotta wonder how the **** people still act this way

I had to report a co-worker for inappropriate comments towards a female colleague in front of customers last year. We've also had a few incidents of prospective/current customers sliding into DMs of female work colleagues on Linkedin, one even found her on Instagram/FB etc and requested her on all platforms.

****ed if I know why some blokes think this is ok, they probably know it isn't but still do it anyway.

I had a 20 minute appointment with a spinal surgeon, cost me $600.
Partner had a skin complaint on the hands, saw a dermatologist who said, I've no idea what that is, try this cream, that'll be $220, thanks.

I had to report a co-worker for inappropriate comments towards a female colleague in front of customers last year. We've also had a few incidents of prospective/current customers sliding into DMs of female work colleagues on Linkedin, one even found her on Instagram/FB etc and requested her on all platforms.

****ed if I know why some blokes think this is ok, they probably know it isn't but still do it anyway.
I was only joking! Can't you take a joke???!

yes through purchase of the beanie one would hope its going to the cause, one also wonders what the markup is at say bunnings or other outlets. Maybe zero.

if put cynical hat on, yes ppl could just donate but by buying a beanie they "at least get something out of it".

I am a cynic but still buy them. I imagine the markup is huge given how cheap it is to mass produce things in China and they help raise awareness.

We have a lot of this at the moment. I stay out it as much as possible but **** it's making me look forward to retirement at the end of the year.

I just don't have the energy for unnecessary shit.

As Tim would say "The people you work with are people you were just thrown together with. I mean, you don't know them, it wasn't your choice. And yet you spend more time with them than you do your friends or your family. But probably all you have in common is the fact that you walk around on the same bit of carpet for eight hours a day.".

I've never donated a thing to MND. If I can't support all, I'll support none

I got chased by someone out the front of the shops who were asking for money to support animals overseas.

So you don't care ahhhh as they run after me.

I do care but asking for x amount every month is a rort.

I doubt the animals got anything out of it.

Came home from shopping to find one of our sliding glass doors shattered. Our mower man had been there and when asked, said it could have been a stone thrown up by the mower but he wouldn’t have noticed due to the noise of the mower and his noise-muffling headphones. We don’t hold him responsible at all but it’s a big door and it’s going to cost 😣 . Maybe house insurance will come to the party 🤞.

Our house insurance paid up when similar happened to our front window

He should be insured

What kind of things did they say?

I don't think we need to know.

I am very proud of MrsEddieBetts for having the strength to do the right thing.

I'll be honest and admit up until even just a few years ago I was guilty of making extremely crass and inappropriate jokes and gags (not just against females either

My only defence was i have Aspergers, but I don't use that anymore as an excuse, I spent a lot of time with bad influence friends and workmates (not anymore) who still live in the 1950s blokey bogan era.

Ditto with previous homophobic and transphobic and other shameful comments and jokes in the past.

I can't undo the past, but all I can do going fowards is be a more progressive and better person and learn/grow from my mistakes.

It's never too late for anyone to change and better themselves/evolve as human beings.

I acknowledge me and you had philosophical differences in the past on the soccer board previously (and in hindsight i believe i was wrong and acknowledge you were right all along, I don't like Saudi Arabia's sponsorship of Newcastle United one bit)

I am 45 now and wish I had the same self-awareness when I was 20.

He should be insured
He no doubt is, but we’d prefer not to involve him if possible. We just don’t want to change the dynamic between us, he’s been terrific to us over several years, doing extra jobs, very obliging. I’d rather pay what it costs. I am just a bit concerned about what to say to the insurance company.

I’m thinking we’ll get a quote or two, the glass replacement firms advertise that they help with insurance claims so we’ll see what they say.

Bad timing too, house guest arriving on Monday for the week, would prefer not to be dealing with this right now, but hey, those are the breaks - literally 🤨

Maybe just say a ball went through the window Dogs_R_Us but that could fall under “accidental” which I think is separate

Or run with rhe truth but say it was you driving the lawn mower

Maybe just say a ball went through the window Dogs_R_Us but that could fall under “accidental” which I think is separate

I had a housemate channel his inner Les Claypool with a new bass guitar of his, ended up on top of a very nice dining table which shattered under his weight.

I don't know what song he sang to the insurers but it was considered accidental in the end :think:

driving like a boss GIF

Yep that works

Social media...
This is an interesting comment. They ranged in age from 42-65 and none of them had a particular interest in social media (which I know without doubt because we use TikTok and instagram at work and only one of them would sign up for them). What makes you say it’s social media driven?

I'm heavily on social media and would never do such heinous things at work.

Pigs are gonna pig

It may not be purely social media driven, but on various platforms - say Twitter more so than even FB due to the potential for anonymity with user handles, I think we are seeing more people making comments along lines we wouldn't have seen people make in face-to-face situations a decade ago

The flow on from that is if folks start to have trouble differentiating between the real would & the online world, where the language & bravado they show online isn't necessarily going to be tolerated in different environments

The recent Rankine suspension is a good example where you could see the split between those who acknowledged that language isn't suitable (and lazy as an insult) & especially not in a work environment. While there was unfortunately a good number trying to make every excuse under the sun, before reverting to the old "sticks & stones" line. Encountering people like that on socials is also a good indication there's folks who still believe that in real life environments; maybe it's how they talk around their mates and wouldn't think twice about it at work

And while I haven't encountered it on BF, I did have a guy on a Geelong fan FB page who didn't like me showing him up on a discussion point, so he replied with "Women have no place in football, so go back to the kitchen where you belong". Good on the men in the group who told him to pull his head in & that he was out of line, but it's the type of language at stopped using some time ago though it's creeping back into things

Just feels like with social media we're seeing a change with what's deemed socially acceptable, and when we're seeing that screen world merge into the real world, things can get messy

It may not be purely social media driven, but on various platforms - say Twitter more so than even FB due to the potential for anonymity with user handles, I think we are seeing more people making comments along lines we wouldn't have seen people make in face-to-face situations a decade ago

The flow on from that is if folks start to have trouble differentiating between the real would & the online world, where the language & bravado they show online isn't necessarily going to be tolerated in different environments

The recent Rankine suspension is a good example where you could see the split between those who acknowledged that language isn't suitable (and lazy as an insult) & especially not in a work environment. While there was unfortunately a good number trying to make every excuse under the sun, before reverting to the old "sticks & stones" line. Encountering people like that on socials is also a good indication there's folks who still believe that in real life environments; maybe it's how they talk around their mates and wouldn't think twice about it at work

And while I haven't encountered it on BF, I did have a guy on a Geelong fan BF page who didn't like me showing him up on a discussion point, so he replied with "Women have no place in football, so go back to the kitchen where you belong". Good on the men in the group who told him to pull his head in & that he was out of line, but it's the type of language at stopped using some time ago though it's creeping back into things

Just feels like with social media we're seeing a change with what's deemed socially acceptable, and when we're seeing that screen world merge into the real world, things can get messy
I think because online people generally get away with their comments which is why it’s good to see people getting called. People need to be made accountable for what they say online which is why I’m all for people taking action against online trolls.