Training Pre-season 2026

Balta is the type who plays his best when he plays on instinct and can attack the footy. When he needs to be accountable, it almost seems like he gets caught wanting to leave to intercept, or stay with him man and defend and can get caught in no mans land. That's why I like him rotating through the ruck.
Me too...ruck rover and mid type hybrid...lurking around the center and forward...prolly playing on the slowest oppo mid...so he can come back to his man...

This is like reading an u12s local teams match reports. It’s important every kid gets a mention.

Socials team just got ChatGPT to write that for sure.
only gonna get fluff from the club, might aswell disregard. just give us more than 43 seconds of training footage and we'll make up our own minds.

I may be mistaken, but I'm sure Michaels would happily involve anyone in his panels, chats etc...at any time if they could add value... man, woman or beast. Hell, he'd probably have them on even if they didn't add value.

But he's not a paid content creator. He has a family. He has a job....as if he's going to go on some recruiting drive to tick the DEI box on his TigerCast channel, when probably 90% of people engaged in footy banter and viewing his content are 'old' white males.

Can I guess, you'd be the sort of person to criticise the coach and volunteers of your child's sporting team from the sidelines, despite never putting your hand up to coach or volunteer yourself. The people who never help or contribute are ALWAYS the most annoying and vocal critics.

A chat between Michaels and Alexander on the draft is 10x more enlightening and accurate than a chat on Foxtel between Shifter Sheahan, Braddy Johnson and Mick Ablett. As for 'Trade Radio', where you have to listen to 'paid presenters' who don't understand how points matching works, have no idea on each draftees actual position, and have done zero research in relation to anyone in the draft class ......

Anyway....so long as Michaels knows majority of people do greatly appreciate the content and understand it's only a passion project that should not be subject to trolls, particularly from within the Tiger army.
This is how captain blood 17 gets a gig most weeks ;)

I headed down to Punt Rd at 10.30am and stayed until 12.00pm to watch the lads train. I was stationed on the Punt Rd side of the oval. Conditions were a bit gusty, with the wind favouring the Richmond Station end.

The first drill I saw involved two teams, one group wearing a Tiger singlet and the other in a grey singlet, moving the footy up and down the oval and the aim seemed to be quick transition footy, with players working hard to get into space to create an outlet. There was little or no tackling.

I thought Grjl was a standout and he found a lot of the footy. He has got some wheels and continually ran to space to create the option or the overlap run. The other thing I noticed is his ability to accelerate; and he also quickly releases the ball when he runs himself into pressure. So there’s a bit of 360 awareness.

The next drill was setup with two midfield groups working on their stoppage craft and the focus seemed to be executing clean hands below their knees. Whichever teamed had the ball last would release it to a coach, who was standing 20 meters from the contest, who would then kick the ball into that teams forward line. Both ends of the ground were set up with forwards and backs, with an extra defender at each end.

The standouts were:

Seth Campbell, has a real presence, kicks the ball to advantage, works bloody hard and just appears to have quickly become a leader within the playing group.
Tim Taranto, continually found the footy, had very clean hands and covered a lot of ground. Unfortunately, he still seems to dump kick when clearing the footy from congestion.
Jonty Faull, looks every bit an AFL footballer. Moves really well for a big bloke and there’s always a second and third effort.
Taj Hotton, looked really clean and quick and seemed to be shifting from a half forward flank into the midfield stoppage work
Rhyan Mansell, really strong and menacing. Laid a nice tackle in one passage of play and did some tidy work in tight confines. Seemed to be stationed on a half forward flank.
Sam Lalor, what a massive unit up close. He seemed to running at 3/4 pace, so wasn’t working as hard to get to contests as others.
James Trezise, was involved in a neat passage where he was put under pressure and was able to sidestep and shimmy to release the footy to advantage. It really stood out and is not something that I would normally attribute to James.
Josh Gibcus, seemed to be moving well, halfed a lot of contests in the air and looked a class above

While this drill was playing out, Adem Yze was stationed 20 meters away from me, yelling encouragement and reinforcing some key points. I get the impression that Seth might be a favourite.

At one point they did some shuttle running drills, which were either won by Alger or Retschko, although I think Taj might have snagged a blue ribbon in one of them.

Finally, Luke Trainor and Jacob Hopper were doing running drills in front of me for 30 odd minutes. Trainor looked like he had the stronger tank. He is a big unit, looks cut and has really put on some size. Has a presence about him and no longer looks like a boy.

It was also great to see Juddy Clarke doing some controlled running, under the watchful eye of one of our Strength and Conditioning coaches.

I headed down to Punt Rd at 10.30am and stayed until 12.00pm to watch the lads train. I was stationed on the Punt Rd side of the oval. Conditions were a bit gusty, with the wind favouring the Richmond Station end.

The first drill I saw involved two teams, one group wearing a Tiger singlet and the other in a grey singlet, moving the footy up and down the oval and the aim seemed to be quick transition footy, with players working hard to get into space to create an outlet. There was little or no tackling.

I thought Grjl was a standout and he found a lot of the footy. He has got some wheels and continually ran to space to create the option or the overlap run. The other thing I noticed is his ability to accelerate; and he also quickly releases the ball when he runs himself into pressure. So there’s a bit of 360 awareness.

The next drill was setup with two midfield groups working on their stoppage craft and the focus seemed to be executing clean hands below their knees. Whichever teamed had the ball last would release it to a coach, who was standing 20 meters from the contest, who would then kick the ball into that teams forward line. Both ends of the ground were set up with forwards and backs, with an extra defender at each end.

The standouts were:

Seth Campbell, has a real presence, kicks the ball to advantage, works bloody hard and just appears to have quickly become a leader within the playing group.
Tim Taranto, continually found the footy, had very clean hands and covered a lot of ground. Unfortunately, he still seems to dump kick when clearing the footy from congestion.
Jonty Faull, looks every bit an AFL footballer. Moves really well for a big bloke and there’s always a second and third effort.
Taj Hotton, looked really clean and quick and seemed to be shifting from a half forward flank into the midfield stoppage work
Rhyan Mansell, really strong and menacing. Laid a nice tackle in one passage of play and did some tidy work in tight confines. Seemed to be stationed on a half forward flank.
Sam Lalor, what a massive unit up close. He seemed to running at 3/4 pace, so wasn’t working as hard to get to contests as others.
James Trezise, was involved in a neat passage where he was put under pressure and was able to sidestep and shimmy to release the footy to advantage. It really stood out and is not something that I would normally attribute to James.
Josh Gibcus, seemed to be moving well, halfed a lot of contests in the air and looked a class above

While this drill was playing out, Adem Yze was stationed 20 meters away from me, yelling encouragement and reinforcing some key points. I get the impression that Seth might be a favourite.

At one point they did some shuttle running drills, which were either won by Alger or Retschko, although I think Taj might have snagged a blue ribbon in one of them.

Finally, Luke Trainor and Jacob Hopper were doing running drills in front of me for 30 odd minutes. Trainor looked like he had the stronger tank. He is a big unit, looks cut and has really put on some size. Has a presence about him and no longer looks like a boy.

It was also great to see Juddy Clarke doing some controlled running, under the watchful eye of one of our Strength and Conditioning coaches.
Great write up mate
Thanks for making the effort to share with us

The standouts were:

Thanks for the report

Anything on Cumming and some of the new boys from the draft
Also McAuliffe if you have anything

Thanks for the report

Anything on Cumming and some of the new boys from the draft
Also McAuliffe if you have anything
Nothing stood out, but there’s every chance I missed them. The team with the grey singlets, were mainly wearing caps and didn’t have numbers on the back of their tops to reference against.

I did notice that Nank wasn’t training and I don’t think Balta was out there either. Just before I left, Mansell and Lynch left the main training pack to do laps. Mansell finished first and Lynch was still going, as I was walking off.

Nothing stood out, but there’s every chance I missed them. The team with the grey singlets, were mainly wearing caps and didn’t have numbers on the back of their tops to reference against.

I did notice that Nank wasn’t training and I don’t think Balta was out there either. Just before I left, Mansell and Lynch left the main training pack to do laps. Mansell finished first and Lynch was still going, as I was walking off.
Might of been hard to tell but did one team look like the preferred side over the other or did it seem as if the experience and skill levels were evenly spread across the two groups?

Interesting as other training reports have him as the stand out.

Thanks for the breakdown, I love training reports and as the draft is done, I can't keep just looking at Cumming videos. I need to be reading and looking at other things.

Might have been hard to tell but did one team look like the preferred side over the other or did it seem as if the experience and skill levels were evenly spread across the two groups?
That’s a good question, I think the talent was spread pretty evenly, Taj was wearing a grey singlet, but Dion, Tim, Seth, Lynch, Mansell, Gibcus (?) and Grlj were wearing the standard Richmond singlet. I think Alger, Grey and Retschko were wearing grey as well. It took me a bit of time to separate Taj from the group, but he’s really smooth and clean with ball in hand.

Another standout was Brown, he uses the ball so well coming out of the defensive 50. It was noticeable in the first drill, when he was rotated off, that they missed his ball usage.

The standouts were:

quality!

The standouts were:

Thanks mate for the info

Could easily just cut this post down to, "I am a coward" instead the nonsense you posted.
Mate, you and I know with my chiseled abs, square jaw, eye of the tiger and massive nutsack, he knows he could never measure up. He's weak as piss and needs to hide behind a keyboard spouting nonsense.

I’m not going to add any diversity to your panel and my opinion just gonna pee everyone off cause I call the clubs failures out for what they are
This tells me you have never actually watched the show. Because if you did, you'd actually know we call the club out when required.

I may be mistaken, but I'm sure Michaels would happily involve anyone in his panels, chats etc...at any time if they could add value... man, woman or beast. Hell, he'd probably have them on even if they didn't add value.

But he's not a paid content creator. He has a family. He has a job....as if he's going to go on some recruiting drive to tick the DEI box on his TigerCast channel, when probably 90% of people engaged in footy banter and viewing his content are 'old' white males.

Can I guess, you'd be the sort of person to criticise the coach and volunteers of your child's sporting team from the sidelines, despite never putting your hand up to coach or volunteer yourself. The people who never help or contribute are ALWAYS the most annoying and vocal critics.

A chat between Michaels and Alexander on the draft is 10x more enlightening and accurate than a chat on Foxtel between Shifter Sheahan, Braddy Johnson and Mick Ablett. As for 'Trade Radio', where you have to listen to 'paid presenters' who don't understand how points matching works, have no idea on each draftees actual position, and have done zero research in relation to anyone in the draft class ......

Anyway....so long as Michaels knows majority of people do greatly appreciate the content and understand it's only a passion project that should not be subject to trolls, particularly from within the Tiger army.
Our viewers range from indigenous supporters in the Alice, to supporter groups to WA to international viewers. We also have a lot of past players viewing the content. It's actually a very diverse range of supporters and viewers who are happy to watch the alleged white guy klan hour supposedly. We have worked hard to build the show from a small podcast to what it is now where we get to interview past players, Adam Yze, The Giesh, new recruits, not bad at all. And it costs people nothing to get this. Michaels now has a relationship with the media department. We have a pretty diverse range of sources to tap into.
But yeah, LOTW knows where it's at pissing outside the tent inwards. Just saying.......

The standouts were:

“Adem Yze was stationed 20 meters away from me, yelling encouragement and reinforcing some key points. I get the impression that Seth might be a favourite.”

…do you reckon Ooze sees a lot of himself as a player when he looks at Seth?

Mate, you and I know with my chiseled abs, square jaw, eye of the tiger and massive nutsack, he knows he could never measure up. He's weak as piss and needs to hide behind a keyboard spouting nonsense.
randy marsh GIF by South Park

I've also got a quick little training report to add. The traffic was atrocious on punt road around midday and I got stuck for a few solid minutes with a sweet as view of the training taking place. Think it was MRJnr and Grey who were taking set shots and missing pretty much all of them. They were both really leaning back on their kicks and spraying them. I could also see the comparative thickness of Lalor's neck even from 150m away. It really stands out. I also noticed Balta was strutting around a fair bit. His body language has improved and I think he's put last year's dramas behind him. The traffic moved on eventually so that's all I've got. I think I may have seen Vaucluse watching on through the fence with another nondescript boomer mate. There weren't many spectators so it could have actually been him who knows.

“Adem Yze was stationed 20 meters away from me, yelling encouragement and reinforcing some key points. I get the impression that Seth might be a favourite.”

…do you reckon Ooze sees a lot of himself as a player when he looks at Set

…do you reckon Ooze sees a lot of himself as a player when he looks at Seth?
I can’t remember much of Adem as a footballer, outside of being very durable and a good mark in the forward 50. At best, I’d compare him to maybe a Bailey Fritsch.

Seth is full of energy and attitude, keen to use his pace to impact the contact and he appears hungry, which I’m certain Yze likes. I remember when he signed his latest contract, he was asked about the Devils, and he said they were from the South, and he grew up in the North of the State.

There was a little moment in the second drill, where Seth and Tresize got into a pushing contest, it didn’t get out of hand, but there was a bit of intent. It was Tresize, who went across to Seth after the next break in play, just to make sure there was no drama.

I like Seth, because he genuinely wants to win, like Jonty and Lalor.

Training Pre-season 2026