Unofficial Preview 2025 Hawk's Hypothetical Trade Discussion...now with added DFA spitballing!

• Thread starter Thread starter eldorado

This thread is becoming increasingly popular, and to keep some sort of order, we will have some….

Rules of engagement:

1. Bring valid news or links to Twitter posts from notable sources. Don’t post screenshots or “some bloke just said on SEN” or what some “trade whisperer” has posted on a Facebook page.

2. Ignore what other team boards are putting up as trade offers. Don’t quote or bring them here either.

3. Don’t post “buckle up” for the lols.

4. If you can’t say anything nice about Worpel or CJ, don’t say anything at all. The continued slaps and backhanders are just going to be deleted.

Merret will NEVER get cleared to Hawthorn as long as Welsh is President. Another club sure thing but we’ve seen a demonstration of his Hawthorn hatred. I can’t envisage a set of circumstances where that will change. The only way he gets to Hawthorn is when his contract expires. Talk of a trade to Hawthorn for peanuts seems fanciful
Don't wanna ream Connors. He doesn't forget.
Strategic appointment by Zach.

Ive got more faith in Connors, than Petroro mate.
Doesn't matter who the middle man is if they other party isn't willing to be reasonable.

Pretty sure we had a 5 year deal in-front of Zach mate.

Club thinks he's got 5 years left.
But each year you would expect to get less return from him.

If you have a Zach in his prime for 2 of those 5 years it make sense to offer that conract even if the back end of it isn't great.

Losing one of those prime years make him so so much less valuable.

Good luck to Welsh if hes happy to bend Connors over, like he did Petroro.
It does not even have to be about bending him over, if they even are willing to trade but are expecting a good return i would want us to be out.

As a player Zac put himself in one of the most difficult situations that I can remember and he only wanted to land at ONE club!

As a Hawks supporter I find that admirable ……. how do reckon Sam feels? We will not abandon Zac, will always be on our radar and be a Hawk this year or the next.

As a player Zac put himself in one of the most difficult situations that I can remember and he only wanted to land at ONE club!

As a Hawks supporter I find that admirable ……. how do reckon Sam feels? We will not abandon Zac, will always be on our radar and be a Hawk this year or the next.
I notice that Zach missed the club photo today due to illness.. 🤣

Again walking away has nothing to do with integrity though, we chased him last year. Situations change 12 months later, he is a much less desirable asset at 31 turning 32. No player is a guarantee to be playing high quality footy at mid 30's.

I really really hope we are done with this situation.

Merrett is one that could play well until 36 though.

Fastidiously professional, rarely injured and has the sort of skill set that wont decline too much into his 30s

Merrett is one that could play well until 36 though.

Fastidiously professional, rarely injured and has the sort of skill set that wont decline too much into his 30s
He could, I don’t argue that. I do think people get a little carried away just assuming these things. You never know when they body will start to break down, some of the less athletically reliant players can also get exposed if they do lose that half a step.

Even if he plays until 36 it’s highly unlikely it is anywhere near his current level. So paying anything significant for what is likely to be 1-2 years of his best footy (assuming you get that) is crazy to me. We aren’t in a situation without list where it’s now or never. We tried last year and it didn’t happen, move on to other targets that make more sense.

He could, I don’t argue that. I do think people get a little carried away just assuming these things. You never know when they body will start to break down, some of the less athletically reliant players can also get exposed if they do lose that half a step.

Even if he plays until 36 it’s highly unlikely it is anywhere near his current level. So paying anything significant for what is likely to be 1-2 years of his best footy (assuming you get that) is crazy to me. We aren’t in a situation without list where it’s now or never. We tried last year and it didn’t happen, move on to other targets that make more sense.
Could’ve said the same about Zorko 6 years ago! Sports science is constantly getting better and we’re going to see a lot more players play at an extremely high level more often into their late 30’s.

Heard we are still going very hard for Butters and will do everything we can.

Humper too but he is going to cost a fortune in picks.

Butters is not worth the effort. We will get strung along, invest time we could be putting elsewhere, and end up with a complimentary message when he choses the Dogs or Cats to be closer to home.

Humphrey will cost us a lot but we're in a position to overpay, we have the draft collateral to make moves happen, and he was rumoured to be keen on us. In the current market, he probably goes for 3x first round picks. Get in early and make him the target.

I also hope we make a serious offer to Walsh although I think he's likely to sign. Geelong are rumoured to be interested but will be all in on Butters.

Could’ve said the same about Zorko 6 years ago! Sports science is constantly getting better and we’re going to see a lot more players play at an extremely high level more often into their late 30’s.
Again I’m not arguing that it’s possible to play high quality football at that age, just that the people doing at are still outliers and I don’t agree that it’s as simple as looking at someone at 30 and saying they will be one of the few who manage to do it.

Butters is not worth the effort. We will get strung along, invest time we could be putting elsewhere, and end up with a complimentary message when he choses the Dogs or Cats to be closer to home.

Humphrey will cost us a lot but we're in a position to overpay, we have the draft collateral to make moves happen, and he was rumoured to be keen on us. In the current market, he probably goes for 3x first round picks. Get in early and make him the target.

I also hope we make a serious offer to Walsh although I think he's likely to sign. Geelong are rumoured to be interested but will be all in on Butters.
I disagree on the first line. He absolutely is worth the effort and then some

He's still 25.

I
Again I’m not arguing that it’s possible to play high quality football at that age, just that the people doing at are still outliers and I don’t agree that it’s as simple as looking at someone at 30 and saying they will be one of the few who manage to do it.
I dont disagree with you but I think Zach IS an outlier.. An energizer bunny.

Zorko in a way shows how players decline past 30.

Even though he’s playing good footy now. His form was free falling as a mid-forward and it’s only that he gets to run around as a loose backman that he’s able to perform well. His role has hidden his decline from age.

Same thing with Merrett even if he’s able to play to 35-36. Odds are most of those years are as a role player in a lesser role. Not the star mid we’d want from what we’d have to pay to get him.