Carlton a flag chance in 2026.

When Jagga Smith gets on the park, he’ll instantly change the way Carlton play.
Currently they are too reliant on one player…… Cripps should play forward … they won’t improve if they don’t find a midfield with out Cripps.
Coming off an ACL can be tough. He is unlikely to be at his best in 2026. Considering he hasn't even played an AFL game yet means he is a real unknown at this stage.

Bailey Smith was coming off an ACL heading into 2025 and was arguably the best player in the competition that year.

There seems to be no great expectations about Carlton for the coming season. We seem to be gleefully written off by all and sundry.

I don't think we'll be winning a premiership in 2026 but i reckon we'll do a lot better than what some people are expecting regardless.

I reckon we'll be an eight to twelfth place team at best. A lot would need to go right to break into the top four.

But we have been to the finals with the core of the list the previous two years. So they've shown they can do it.

I don't think Saad, McGovern, Haynes, and Williams are needle movers now but the likes of Weitering, Curnow, McKay, Walsh, and Cerra all have a heap of good footy left. We don't need to worry about replacing their output for a while.
Very similar to Port Adelaide around 2018/2019 when they realised their list wasn't good enough and decided to recalibrate by trading the likes of Wingard and Polec they nailed their early picks by getting Rozee and Butters and I can see Smith and Dean having similar impact. It also helped when Port decided to keep Ken Hinkley despite people wanting him sacked and saying he wasn't capable of taking Port to the top 4 only for Hinkley to prove the doubters wrong and take Port to the top 4 on multiple occasions which included a minor premiership, so it'll be interesting to see if Voss can prove the doubters wrong and take Carlton to the top 4 for the first time since 2000 as I know many people don't think Voss is capable of taking a side to the top 4. I know tonight was only a practice match but there were good signs and beating Brisbane in Queensland is a good way to kick off your campaign.

Who are you?

Someone who shares similar views to yours in regards to the damage done to the fabric of Carlton in 2007 not only with supporters hoping for losses to secure high draft picks but the players phoning it in so they could get Pagan sacked, the culture has been rotten for years and in recent times things have definitely improved mostly thanks to Brian Cook who had a similar impact to Paul Roos at Melbourne in terms of overseeing improvement in culture and standards at the club. As for 2026 it's highly unlikely that Carlton win the flag I think they can finish top 4 but a flag is too much of a stretch however stranger things have happened such as Richmond winning the flag in 2017 despite having zero finals wins under their belt since 2001, signs are looking good for Carlton so far in 2026 having beaten both of last year's grand finalists I know it's only pre season but there's no doubt people would be sticking the boot into Carlton had they lost both pre season games.

lol, no chance whatsoever. Won't make finals.
Geelong have one of the worst midfield's in the competition and literally zero rucks (Edwards is a beanpole and won't be ready until 2028).

Having said that, they certainly looked ok without Curnow up forward but over the course of a season, McKay, Kemp, Evans, Hollands, Ainsworth simply won't put up enough goals.

Do I think we are a real chance.

No. We are mid-table side who is currently riding optimism and trying harder in the pre-season because

A) players have a point to prove

B) more competition for spots

But I think we will be a finals chance, and sometimes in football, all you need are some good breaks and rub of the green.

Haven't lost a game yet!

J Jonah Jameson Laughing GIF

All this overly positive pre-season talk is annoying. You just know it'll result in a 10+ goal shellacking by should-be-flag-contenders Swans in Rd0.

Should be 2-2 by the time we face Collingwood, and will win that one by 12+ goals, you would assume.

Look at the 2-0 blues now.

Like i like the way they started pre season.

they will carry this into the early rounds.

But a case of now time to build that next stage besides this will Voss last harrah as coach.

Only say 5-6 spot will save him.

Need to build again post Voss and establish an era finally.

Look ahead a bit.

Short term pain for long term gain.

Hard for now but look for 2027 for any real improvements.

Cant see them bottoming out for those early draft picks.

Again 2025 like 2026 might go up a few spots and win say 3 more games then they did in 2026.

Little green shoots in a way.

Early spouting and plant the seeds again.

Got a touch of x factor in 2026.

Slow and sure 2026 for Carlton.

lol, no chance whatsoever. Won't make finals.
Geelong have one of the worst midfield's in the competition and literally zero rucks (Edwards is a beanpole and won't be ready until 2028).

Having said that, they certainly looked ok without Curnow up forward but over the course of a season, McKay, Kemp, Evans, Hollands, Ainsworth simply won't put up enough goals.
Geelong have a far more balanced midfield with the additions of Worpel and Bruhn as for the ruck you have Blicavs who is more than capable of playing there even at his age, although it would be handy if Conway could get on the park.

Geelong have a far more balanced midfield with the additions of Worpel and Bruhn as for the ruck you have Blicavs who is more than capable of playing there even at his age, although it would be handy if Conway could get on the park

Blicavs is not a ruckman's arseh*le and never was. He's a mobile second string & arguably the best utility in the game.

Worpel, Smith, Holmes, Bowes, they are average users.
Miers is our best user but he isn't a full-time midfielder.

It's a very mediocre midfield core considering there's no actual ruck to complement them all.
Even the likes of Essendon & Carlton have much better midfields and they're finishing bottom six this year.

demondavey - mate, I generally like you as a poster, you wear your heart on your sleeve - sometimes for better, sometimes for worse. But you obviously have passion and watch a fair bit of footy.

But this is a massive long shot. Look at the top 10 from last year.

Adelaide, Geelong, Brisbane, Collingwood, GWS, Fremantle, Gold Coast, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Sydney.

Who’s dropping off from there? Collingwood maybe, GWS if the injuries persist. Add in that the Saints have gone hard. Brisbane will be as good. Gold Coast should improve. Adelaide should steady, Geelong will be decent, Hawthorn should be there abouts, Sydney should improve, Dogs too. How do Carlton get in, let alone win

Great they are 2-0 be it pre season.
but 2026 has shades of 2025 again for the Blues.
A neither here or there team
A true stagnate team along with the likes of Port.
Got them around the 11th 12th mark in 2026.
Kind of start well but things unravel round 3-4 and case of here we go again again

demondavey - mate, I generally like you as a poster, you wear your heart on your sleeve - sometimes for better, sometimes for worse. But you obviously have passion and watch a fair bit of footy.

But this is a massive long shot. Look at the top 10 from last year.

Adelaide, Geelong, Brisbane, Collingwood, GWS, Fremantle, Gold Coast, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Sydney.

Who’s dropping off from there? Collingwood maybe, GWS if the injuries persist. Add in that the Saints have gone hard. Brisbane will be as good. Gold Coast should improve. Adelaide should steady, Geelong will be decent, Hawthorn should be there abouts, Sydney should improve, Dogs too. How do Carlton get in, let alone win
Spoken to a few mates over the weekend who are hawks fans and they reckon they are no good. Snuck into the 8 last year and had some good games. Depth isn’t there.

Collingwood - done
Giants - not convinced
Geelong - reckon they are dropping

Reckon Carlton will kill it without Curnow. It’s a big punt, I know, but let’s just see. Think the worm is turning for them. They’ll be at it this year.