Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6

• Thread starter Thread starter Gralin

I try to remember Hanlon's razor when hearing what people have named their children.

I knew a Michael Jackson who like me was born in the 80s. It's not a coincidence when you are born several years after Thriller was released. When you are naming your son Donald McDonald what exactly is the thought process there? Heard recently of someone naming their daughter with the initials GAG. C'mon mannnn.
There’s a Queensland MP called Grace Grace.

Hazel is a great name, very popular.

John would have to be uncommon these days.

I’m not going to lie, I was like WTF
It just seems so weird calling out John to a toddler

My 7yo had a mate called Arthur in kindy a coupe of years back much to my amusement

My work colleagues 4 year old foster child is Arthur - I did a double take a) because it’s unusual and b) he just doesn’t look like an Arthur

Best thing for a dorky human name is to give it to a dog.

'Oh who is this good boy?' pats excited dog
'That's Kevin'

flipping Kevin.

I laughed reading this - my sister just got a standard poodle/bull Arab mastiff and they’ve called him Kevin

My partner was a teacher and we spent ages trying to name our kids - so many went by the wayside because they were “little shits”

Daughter was the same naming hers

My mate played footy in Darwin for a few seasons, reckons he played against a Desmond Haynes and a Chuck Norris among others.
I reckon Desi might have been a bit of a sniper if he played footy.

MOtel refuses to give me a discount despite having 75% vacancy. So he would be happy for me to walk and get nothing....
did you walk?

MOtel refuses to give me a discount despite having 75% vacancy. So he would be happy for me to walk and get nothing....
You lose willy wonka GIF

My mate played footy in Darwin for a few seasons, reckons he played against a Desmond Haynes and a Chuck Norris among others.
I reckon Desi might have been a bit of a sniper if he played footy.

Geez imagine rocking up to find your opponent has a spine of Garner, Ambrose, Walsh, Holding, Roberts.

There was a Joel Garner at Port for a couple of years.

I'm very much the opposite. I hate getting home in the dark. Would be happy for it to be dark until 7:30am but light when I get home from work.

I find it so much easier to get up in the morning when it's light.

i don't' care one way or the other I'd just like them to pick one and stick with it year round

shit split the difference and go to GMT +10:30 like I really don't care, I just hate the transition

Daylight savings.

I would much prefer it to get dark earlier but get light earlier.

Welcome to WA. If you can merge, please forget before you cross the border.

Sunrise in December is 5am. What kind of psychopath wants it to be light earlier than that? I would take 6am-8pm daylight hours over 5am-7pm but it's not a huge deal either way. But there's no shortage of light in the morning DLS or no DLS.