Review Round 3, 2026 vs West Coast

In what world would we have 3, 4 and 5

I’m saying if we have pick 4 (from finishing bottom 4) and a bunch or pick that we get from butters say 9 and 11 (or whatever). If a bid came at 2 the club would use 9 and 11 and keep 4. It just has to equal the points, it’s not your next pick
In no world, it was a hypothetical to ask the question. It would be interesting to see if that was allowed. I am not sure it’s been tested like that yet because clubs have always had plans in place that used their next pick and they got a later pick back equivalent to the leftover points.

So I missed the first half live but got a nice missile/drone alarm that woke me so I could watch the 2nd.
I know the old days of “man up” or “pick up your player” are gone but the way we defend is woeful.
Whether it is lack of midfield pressure or lack of pace we always seem to be on the verge of being cut up.

Even against the Bombers last week the opposition seem to have so much time and space whereas for us every forward foray seems arduous.
I guess the positive is that we’re not bombing it long continually but we always look like we’re struggling to score.

I don't want to bring up the past, but with a guy like Robbie Gray buzzing around that forward 50 we probably win this game by 5 goals.

We are starved of talent, and it especially hurts after a period of some generational talent that achieved nothing.

That's all it would take.
And we've spent capital on chasing small forwards for several years & there's no real class out there now Rioli has gone. Imo Berry is ok & obviously its early days but I dont know where he fits. He does not win contested ball & is not a goal sneak & is too short to be a marking target. I'm assuming he was selected to be a link player buts he's making lots of mistakes in this role & doesnt find enough ball. We needed far more attributes from a first rounder we upgraded for. We cant afford to get these decisions wrong as we don't have the luxury picks afforded to many other clubs & we are struggling to trade in talented players.

Durdin looks even less like the answer. Not physical enough & cant kick more than 40m. Always looking to pass off. And he's also too short.

Where are the 190cm flankers who can take a mark & win some contested ball? Hinkley has left a mess that will take too long to fix.

Eh, a competitive game vs West Coast is the reality when you remove a couple of our best 23. Not only because we lack depth but because we’re literally part of that WC, Richmond, Essendon pack of teams where 60 games is barely the average across the whole list. Wake up call to some.

However, Tassie draft**** aside I think there’s a good enough mix of talent and players about to reach/just touching their prime years that have a couple years of that level in them. Very few important players that will be over the hill in 2 years. Have to be patient with Carr, get the recruitment right with academy, f/s, draft and Butters scenario.

So I missed the first half live but got a nice missile/drone alarm that woke me so I could watch the 2nd.
I know the old days of “man up” or “pick up your player” are gone but the way we defend is woeful.
Whether it is lack of midfield pressure or lack of pace we always seem to be on the verge of being cut up.

Even against the Bombers last week the opposition seem to have so much time and space whereas for us every forward foray seems arduous.
I guess the positive is that we’re not bombing it long continually but we always look like we’re struggling to score.
Essendon scored at will when they went forward. This has been an issue in all three games and its not getting any better so far.

If we have to do a rebuild then so be it. Mitchell was in a similar space when he took over the Hawks. It took him 2 or 3 years then they spiked we can do the same but we need to draft well get our nga/ father sons secured and stop trading in has beens, convince Nas to join us and make sure josh has all the support he needs which I think he does. Also our chairman can get lost just admitt we need a bit of a rebuild you goose then leave. Hopefully in 3 years we can be back up there.

What’s this “if”

Butters' brain has moved to Victoria. Strap yourselves in, boyos. It's going to be a big filthy skid mark of a season.

Why not? If we bid on a player and our first rounder then moves back a pick that’s what the afl is saying we would get.
Try watching the video of Cal explaining the rules. He flat out says that West Coast wouldn't have gotten an extra pick with taking Duursma pick 1 and bidding on Uwland pick 2. West Coast would've had to change their approach to bid with pick 1 to generate an extra pick for them.

Speculation is that it's only top 5 picks for finishing in the bottom 5 that generate an extra pick. So the compo pick sliding doesn't. Potentially trading into the top 5 doesn't either. Ie Richmond, or that might just be a limit of one per club.

Yep this was where it started. Worse, when we did win a centre clearance we just kicked it to a pack where West Coast spent all day hitting targets. We revert to entering the forward line like Charlie Dixon is there under 1% pressure. We wilt absolutely pathetically under any pressure.

A complete lack for pressure after quarter time. Couldn't force a turnover. Couldn't move the ball ourselves.
Dixon still rubbing ***** with the players and infecting them with vd. Spotted him with the injured lot.

**** it let’s just tank this season and make sure we get Dougie. Any other way the AFL will ensure we don’t get him.
We don’t need to tank.
People are stating to wake up that this list is crap and no coach can change that.
The game day thread is a monolog of what I’ve been saying all pre season.
Only difference is if I say it it’s being negative 😂.

And we've spent capital on chasing small forwards for several years & there's no real class out there now Rioli has gone. Imo Berry is ok & obviously its early days but I dont know where he fits. He does not win contested ball & is not a goal sneak & is too short to be a marking target. I'm assuming he was selected to be a link player buts he's making lots of mistakes in this role & doesnt find enough ball. We needed far more attributes from a first rounder we upgraded for. We cant afford to get these decisions wrong as we don't have the luxury picks afforded to many other clubs & we are struggling to trade in talented players.

Durdin looks even less like the answer. Not physical enough & cant kick more than 40m. Always looking to pass off. And he's also too short.

Where are the 190cm flankers who can take a mark & win some contested ball? Hinkley has left a mess that will take too long to fix.
Durdin has been fine? Kicked 6 goals in 3 games.

You just need enough points it isn’t the next pick

“To match a bid, a club must give up draft picks that are of the equivalent value to the pick of the club that made the bid. Every pick in the draft is allocated a points value through the Draft Value Index (DVI), which you can see here. Under the current DVI, pick No.1 is worth 3000 points and it goes all the way down to pick 54, which is worth 14 points (every pick after that is worth nothing).”

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1253636...ks-father-son-academies-rookie-pre-season/amp

Nov 2025, unless somethings changed since then
You don't get to choose the picks that are used in matching a bid. The points are taken from your picks in order until you either cover the required value or have no picks left.

If there are still points left it's then taken out of your pick in the same round next year.

Berry moves so nicely, clean crumbs, zipping around. Then he just kicks straight to opponents, or misses easy shots.

He just doesnt have 'it'.

He will play 200 games for us as we've got no other talent, but he's so far off the type of player we need it isnt funny.
Still reckon he will be a good player for us. Needs 50 games under his belt

Wehr is an sanfler.. that’s it.. I don’t care how good a team mate he is, he can’t play just panics when the ball gets near him
Has absolutely no right boot and continually gets the ball in situations where he is swinging around on his right.

Needs to play on the other ****ing wing if we're dumb enough to keep him in the side.

Still reckon he will be a good player for us. Needs 50 games under his belt

Agree with this. Small forward is the hardest position on the ground to play when your team is getting smashed, because you rely on good delivery and your key forwards doing their jobs. He was everywhere when we were on top and then disappeared when we were getting smashed.

Berry hitting the contest hard and the clean crumbs will win us games, he just needs time.

We missed Rozee a LOT. Not only to take a tag off Butters, but his close in work gets us out of so much

I felt like this as well, especially in transition. He's lethal in transition and we kept running ourselves into brick walls today.