• Ryan Maric (6/9/04)
• Clay Hall (12/5/05)
• Harvey Johnston (18/8/05)
• Jake Miles-Wrency (??/??/05)
• Jacob Newton (20/3/06)
• Malakai Champion (17/5/06)
• Fred Rodriguez (10/7/07)

Giving Bailey Williams that 'top 10% paid at the club' tag in the final year of his contract which triggers his free agency is probably one of the shrewdest things I've seen the club do in a very long time.
Completely agree. I would've been seeing red if I knew this at the time but it could well work in our favour long-term.

I don't know how to take Cornes' comments. There is an oversupply amount of analysis and commentary these days. This leads to a lot of rubbish being said and written. If we are making offers to Georgiades right now then I expect we're not making a play for Walters and we must be open to trading Waterman out.

It’s also what normallly happens when a club potentially rises from the bottom. They have cash to spend and become more attractive for players.

A few of these names were thrown up last year. Cripps, Neale and Wines especially and all 3 of those circumstances have changed (2 clubs are now officially ‘rebuilding’ ‘transitioning’ and the other has well known personal reason)

Rivers dropped so easy to look at his home town and if they would be calling his manager.

Walter has been linked for a while now. While most fans could see how it would fit there has definitely been smoke.

Warner clearly has been a chase for a while now. Nothing new.

Georgiades is the new one and seems the one building momentum. Ports NGA and FS situation likely playing a part also the watered down FA compo also.

Just hope Cal is right and the plan is one more draft before we start trading those top end draft assets again.
I can understand the likes of Cripps, Neale and/or Wines(even though Wines is from Vic and would have plenty of suitors) for playing>coaching roles.

Warner and Walter make sense, we've been long linked to them.

Can't see Georgiades being an option if we're serious about Walter. Walter's OOC this year and would be going into his prime the same time as the others whereas Georgiades is next year for starters. He also would be directly competing with Waterman for a role and I know who I prefer currently, as good as Georgiades is.

It just feels all too convenient that this narrative is suddenly being pushed when fs/academy rules are changing and Port suddenly need picks to get them.

Georgiades would be better served looking at a big payday from a club like St Kilda(if they even have money left), Melbourne or Collingwood.

1. Warner is an absolute no brainer, we need another onballer and he's basically another harley.
If we do get him we would need to find a more pure defensive/inside mid to complement them, but those players can be found more easily, are cheaper and could even be able to be filled by guys already on our list like Robinson, Hall or B Allen.

Even if we got Warner, we would still have other huge, hard to develop holes in the team, specifically ruck and KPD.

2. This is where I think Georgiades or Walters have value. A Reid (Ruck, KPD) CDT (ruck) and Shanahan (KPD) all have good prospects in positions other than KPF. We could potentially solve one of our dire KPP spots if were able to bring in another KPD.

These guys are only 24 currently, younger than McCarthy/Murdoch and only a few years older than Ginbey/Hewett. If you can get them as FA they could bring our next window forward and for an extended period.

Could look something like this, which in 2-3 years I reckon would be a top 4 potential team.

1775030645237.webp

Arki Butler and one of the highly rated rucks this year or next could round us out.

I don't see much interest for Cripps, the game has passed that type by
Disagree.

Even with the rule changes that seem designed to speed up the game there is plenty of scope for a tough, in the clinches, put the body on the line, play it hard but fair type.

I don't want Cripps because he is no longer that player. He has spent so many years and so many fun tickets being that player that he is bruised, battered and broken. He hasn't lost a yard of pace; he's lost 3 or 4. Getting up each week is an admirable effort but in reality he is only capable of being Pattie Cripps of old in smaller and lesser bursts. Injuries at his age and how he goes about it are obvious concerns. Add a WC travel schedule to his recovery profile and... ouch.

The game hasn't passed that type by, but it has passed him by.

Ollie Wines? Patty Cripps?

F*ck I'm gonna have a spew.

Vol-Kaneo reckons Wines has more years in him than Tim Kelly...AND our first rounder for Cripps? Good f*cking grief. We should be draft focused this year with an eye to Warner next year.

Ahhh, the annual West Coast should give up all their good picks for old, broken players.

I can understand the likes of Cripps, Neale and/or Wines(even though Wines is from Vic and would have plenty of suitors) for playing>coaching roles.

Warner and Walter make sense, we've been long linked to them.

Can't see Georgiades being an option if we're serious about Walter. Walter's OOC this year and would be going into his prime the same time as the others whereas Georgiades is next year for starters. He also would be directly competing with Waterman for a role and I know who I prefer currently, as good as Georgiades is.

It just feels all too convenient that this narrative is suddenly being pushed when fs/academy rules are changing and Port suddenly need picks to get them.

Georgiades would be better served looking at a big payday from a club like St Kilda(if they even have money left), Melbourne or Collingwood.
Clearly a lot to play out.

If they are chasing Walter they still might be chasing Mitch as a back up. Jed likely hasnt made up his mind.

A lot of this talk is just connecting the dots until someone links the contract offers.

If Mitch does want to play footy back in WA, he really isn’t a priority for either club but someone will offer a deal if it gets that far.

Completely agree. I would've been seeing red if I knew this at the time but it could well work in our favour long-term.

I don't know how to take Cornes' comments. There is an oversupply amount of analysis and commentary these days. This leads to a lot of rubbish being said and written. If we are making offers to Georgiades right now then I expect we're not making a play for Walters and we must be open to trading Waterman out.
Yeah, we're not trading Waterman out.

Interesting reporting on Inside Trading this arvo that BRI has launched talks with Cody Curtin for an early contract extension on top of his initial 2 year deal, looking at a 1 or 2 year deal?

Does this mean that WC have been sniffing around and the total lack of news of the so called extension of ZZ being imminent recently?
I think they are looking to lock in Curtin as ZZ is getting some strong interest from us??

The media hype off these two wins is unreal. If Sydney beat us by 40+ points the line will be “West Coast got ahead of themselves”

looks how much the media is frothing over us after a measly 2 wins?

I think they finally realised just how big the supporter base is and their engagement metrics are proving it, hence all the talk.

I think it's more like someone within their own fishbowl media has brought it up and they are following like sheep.
WC have been irrelevant to the talking class for several years and now we have a bit of talent and win a couple of games they are s..t scared we will become a success again soon!

The Georgiades talk just came from him being ooc next year and the radio jockeys saying they reckon he may want to finish his career in WA.

Oh and Port needing first rounders to match bids on Pilot and Salopek.

I don't think there's any more to it than that.
Wasnt there something from Chad Cornes too?
He seems a lot more adamant than just speculating

Mini again referred to Jobe as a forward. Being able to swing back is great but he’s very much the future of our club as a KPF
If Georgiades and/or Walter are available then we have to consider Shanahan as a KPD, either that or we are shipping off Waterman/Archer/Shanahan to another club in the very near future, or we see CDT as being our main ruck in his 2nd or 3rd season, or we just play with 4 tall forwards + a ruckman + a ruck/fwd(2 talls more than most clubs)

Rivers would absolutely play for us its just a matter of price. If Melbourne don't match (which I can honestly imagine given he'd probably get Band 1) we get him 100 times out of 100. If they do match, I think we avoid it for anything more than a very late first very early second

The words "Rivers" and "late 1st or early 2nd rounder" are oxymorons.

Ive seen a fair bit of footy over my time and "Rivers" is a bog average player who to WC should be worth no more than #475

The words "Rivers" and "late 1st or early 2nd rounder" are oxymorons.

Ive seen a fair bit of footy over my time and "Rivers" is a bog average player who to WC should be worth no more than #475
I'd say given we are regularly trotting out the two Liam's on our back flanks, pick 20 for Trent Rivers is worth it to have someone that can actually kick a football. McCarthy, Lindsay, Rivers is a good, defensively accountable, trio of back flankers for the future that are all B to A+ kicks and either already or potentially have the ability to rotate into the middle if need be.

Also if we generate that pick by the new rule of top 5 picks moving back from NGA or FS

Wasnt there something from Chad Cornes too?
He seems a lot more adamant than just speculating
Started officially with Tom Morris yesterday and Kane said I think he is keen to leave. Likely got it from Chad.

Cal on Gettable then indicated that is likely our plan. Go to the draft and then try and land one, two or all three of the 3 FAs. Didn’t say it was intel or anything.

A lot of piggy backing on top of each other

Also if we generate that pick by the new rule of top 5 picks moving back from NGA or FS

That pick will only come into existence on draft night if/when a matched bid is made that triggers it

So it won’t be available to use in any trade - at best we might be able to trade our R2 pick if we’re confident the extra R1 pick will eventuate, but making assumptions like that is a gamble