Tick all the players you think will come in this week:

• Walker

• Ah Chee

• Thilthorpe

• None of them

Results are only viewable after voting.

I have no idea what we do.

I am tempted to hold of Thilly and Tex until after the bye now. Or give them a hit out in the SANFL. That wont happen.

AFter the bye we will have everyone available. A luxury to rotate and manage the list. Instead of full rests give players a hit out in the SANFL and manage their minutes. Why not. Thats what our reserves are there for. Hey Tex will probably dominate in the sanfl and kick 10. Even on managed minutes.

How is this a hypothetical?

Who are the outs if Ah Chee and Tex return this week? Presumably Nank, who is the other?

Coin toss, it’s a tough one. Both have attributes that are important to our 23. Both can be quiet and both can play very good footy. I’ve always like Pedlar for the hardness and pace aspect, but Taylor is cool and precise. I don’t know, I’ll support whichever gets a game and understand why and consider the other to be unlucky.

Our mindset will be interesting.

Hawks away

Is this a game we can afford to lose? Few would expect us to win. We're a couple of games ahead on the W/L ledger.

Some of the teams who were theoretically contending for Top 4/Top 8 spots this season are now looking average - GWS, Port, St Kilda, Bulldogs, Collingwood.

Do we rest all sore/recovering guys, make use of the bye round, get our squad cherry ripe and attack the season fresh from 6-5?

Or is this a must win game and we throw absolutely everything at it?

We have the bye thereafter so we have to go for it. We have two weeks until the Geelong game at home.

We win and it means we are 3-2 from 5 games away from home so far. We still have Bullies, Eagles and Bombers - which are all more than winnable. You do that and you are 6 from 10 away from home over a season and probably means top 4 at a minimum and even top 2.

And stating the obvious, you beat the teams around you is a two gamechanger - you get the win, they get the loss.

Maybe, after the way he played on the weekend id like him to stay where he was and keep him there.

Half back is one spot we have options, as long as its not Bond.
Where did he play on the weekend?
I only saw it on tv and wasn’t paying that close attention?
Half forward or wing?

I wouldn't be playing Tex or Filthy in Launceston.

Stick with the small forward line in what is looking like a cold and dewy night and then make a decision what our forward line looks like.

The fact the AFL is yet again hosting a Thursday night in Launceston is a joke after last year, they deserve a shit show of a spectacle.

Stick with the small forward line in what is looking like a cold and dewy night and then make a decision what our forward line looks like.

The fact the AFL is yet again hosting a Thursday night in Launceston is a joke after last year, they deserve a shit show of a spectacle.
Filthy's five goal debut was down there right?

I think we still lost?

Rory Sloane on 9 News sport just now said he expects both Walker and Ah Chee to play.
Said both are well and truly ready.
So Sloane's just hanging out around the club at training and stuff is he?

Not only that but the ground capacity of the ground is around 9,000.

In 2024, when both teams were struggling (Hawks 4-7 and Adelaide 4-6-1) they drew 36k at MCG.

You play this on a Saturday as it stands and they would have got 50k+ at MCG.

If someone told me at the start of the year we’d be more than confident of going to Tassie with Turray and leaving Thilly and Tex at home, I would have laughed. Yet here we are. Says a lot about how well Turray is going…and how disappointing Thilly’s season has been so far. A scenario with plenty of upside nonetheless

Before last weekend I would have said use this one as a practice match and rest as much as possible.

Now I think we have a red hot chance as we come into some good form and the Hawks are the opposite. I reckon we need to try and snatch the win. If we can go into the bye at 7-4 then top 4 is still within reach.
Problem is we are up against an angry post-loss Hawks — with Gunston, Chol and Nash added. Much harder proposition. Last week was clearly the week to get them.

Filthy's five goal debut was down there right?

I think we still lost?
That was the game we picked an injured player as the sub.

I come in peace.

But why would you rush Tex in after a 2 week hammy being 35? Makes no sense.
Back in November, after the draft, we got out a spreadsheet and used the sort function.

Our selection is now based on that ordering, so if he is capable of standing up without falling over, and there is a lower ranked player in the 23 currently, one of them will be bumped out for him.

Agree. Tex back after two weeks with a hammy is odd. TT can have another two weeks rest.

Ah Chee in for Cumming with Nank moving back makes sense.

Just leave Max in the lock down defender role. He is elite at that. Don’t fix what ain’t broken by trying to make him more than he is. The team is exponentially worse by making bond lock down defender and hoping Max can become a rebounding defender.

If he plays, it's 2 games missed, 3 weeks between his injury and his return.

I have always viewed this match as a free hit. If we go into the break at 6-5 and everyone but Keane available after the bye then we are in reasonable shape.

I would “manage” almost everyone coming back from injury. No Thilthorpe, No Tex, No Ah Chee, No Cumming. We can still field a competitive team and a smaller front six could work better in the cold and slippery conditions.

Out - Cumming

In - Edwards or Dowling

I come in peace.

But why would you rush Tex in after a 2 week hammy being 35? Makes no sense.
As a club we tend to be philosophically opposed to rests and general squad management. Best 22 23, no matter what.

We'll do it very occasionally if we have a buffer of wins and if there are absolutely no other outs in/around the potential resters playing position.

Tex did his hamstring off a 5 day break coming back from a Brisbane away trip which tells you everything you need to know about our player management philosophy.

That was the game we picked an injured player as the sub.
The AFL has taken that particular strategic weapon away from us.

Thanks guys!

Who says they are Vic-centric?

I have always viewed this match as a free hit. If we go into the break at 6-5 and everyone but Keane available after the bye then we are in reasonable shape.

I would “manage” almost everyone coming back from injury. No Thilthorpe, No Tex, No Ah Chee, No Cumming. We can still field a competitive team and a smaller front six could work better in the cold and slippery conditions.

Out - Cumming

In - Edwards or Dowling
Keane was 2-3 weeks last week. Hopefully today only 2 Weeks. So should be ready after the bye.