• Thread starter Thread starter Ripper

Going into the derby?

I was purusing the "spine" thread and thought I would check out your draw.

You play teams with some pretty big good forwards.

I got the same feeling when I checked out our draw in 2001 and predicted to an E-girl mate of mine the we would be 0-6 in 2001. As it turned out we were 0-16.

Without Glass & Gasper etc it will be a hard ask early in 2004.

What do you blokes think?

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
It is a tough draw early like ours was in 2001. You seem to play the really strong sides at home and the not so strong ones away. I think if you come out of the first 6 2-4 you will have done all right.

Answer Sera please :)

Originally posted by Sera
Care to wager? Put your money where your mouth is.

Why not?
WCE 0 wins Ripper gets 2 Cartons
WCE 1 win Ripper gets 1 Carton
WCE 2 wins evens
WCE 3 wins Sera 1 Carton
WCE 4 wins Sera 2 Cartons
WCE 5 wins Sera 3 Cartons
WCE 6 wins Sera 4 Cartons

Draws count as a loss ;)

If you accept it is a sure way for you to ensure that the WCE get a flying start as I am a terrible gambler and rarely win. ;)

The derby is in round 6, not round 7 tho.......or do you think we'll be 0-6 after the derby.

Either way I'd care to wager you.

Why not?
WCE 0 wins Ripper gets 2 Cartons
WCE 1 win Ripper gets 1 Carton
WCE 2 wins evens
WCE 3 wins Sera 1 Carton
WCE 4 wins Sera 2 Cartons
WCE 5 wins Sera 3 Cartons
WCE 6 wins Sera 4 Cartons

Draws count as a loss ;)

If you accept it is a sure way for you to ensure that the WCE get a flying start as I am a terrible gambler and rarely win. ;)

Now now Ripper_46, in your original post you suggest 0 wins is an even bet and now you are saying 2 wins is an even bet? Backing down are we? Or were you just posting 0-6 for effect? ;)

I'll bet you anything... 0 wins after 6 rounds and you win or if we win any game in the first 6 rounds then I win. How about it? ;)

Now now Ripper_46, in your original post you suggest 0 wins is an even bet and now you are saying 2 wins is an even bet? Backing down are we? Or were you just posting 0-6 for effect? ;)

I'll bet you anything... 0 wins after 6 rounds and you win or if we win any game in the first 6 rounds then I win. How about it? ;)

0-6? is a question not a statement.
It is a possiblity not a given.

Looking at who you play
Round 1 Bulldogs (away)
Big marking forwards

Bandy Johnson Rawlings Maybe Koops

Round 2
Port (home)

Big marking forwards

Tredrea Cornes Primus/Lade

Round 3
Bombres (Docklands)

Big marking forwards
Lloyd Cupido Lucas Hille

Round 4
Brisbane Lions (Home)
Big marking forwards
Brown Bradshaw Pike Lynch

Round 5
Calton (Optus)
Big marking forwards
Fevola Mott/French Whitnal Morrell

Round 6
Freo
Big marking forwards
Longmuirs Medhurst Simmonds/Sandilands Polak

Without Gaspar Glass Hansen Etc
Trent Carrol will have his work cut out.

But as we all know footy is a funny game and it is not beyond the realms of possibility that you may jag a couple of thes games.

0-6? is a question not a statement.
It is a possiblity not a given.

Looking at who you play
Round 1 Bulldogs (away)
Big marking forwards

Bandy Johnson Rawlings Maybe Koops

Round 2
Port (home)

Big marking forwards

Tredrea Cornes Primus/Lade

Round 3
Bombres (Docklands)

Big marking forwards
Lloyd Cupido Lucas Hille

Round 4
Brisbane Lions (Home)
Big marking forwards
Brown Bradshaw Pike Lynch

Round 5
Calton (Optus)
Big marking forwards
Fevola Mott/French Whitnal Morrell

Round 6
Freo
Big marking forwards
Longmuirs Medhurst Simmonds/Sandilands Polak

Without Gaspar Glass Hansen Etc
Trent Carrol will have his work cut out.

But as we all know footy is a funny game and it is not beyond the realms of possibility that you may jag a couple of thes games.

You are the quintessential dockers supporter - blessed with the ability to look into the future with unrivalled optimism.

Worry about your own record after 6 - last year it was not too flash. In fact, it never has been.

You know the old saying, "one swallow...."

Originally posted by The Mission Man
Au has obviously been watching some quite different videos to get his old sayings - I doubt lotto ads feature prominently in them.

keep it clean MM - think of the kids

Will the kids be unsettled to discover that one swallow doesn't make a summer? At what age are they to be exposed to the old saws and maxims?

I reckon predicting things in January is still a little early, regardless of the number of small feathered things flying about. For example, Caaaaarlton in 2004 are pretty much an unknown quantity. I would be hesitant to be too bold about predicting the outcome of our Round 1 stoush with them. While the Dogs haven't made as many changes/additions as the Blooooooze, they too are a different beast to the poor old injured mutt that limped through 2003. Lord knows what's going to happen.

The real point of the discussion about Glass's injury is how important is Glass? I would have thought, his injury status aside, the real problem with Glass is that he is not an instinctual footballer. I may be wrong.

Most teams have a spine - I think we need to be innovative.

Ours could be Wirrapunda, Braun, Kerr, Fletcher and Matera.

They won't be expecting that and we'll have the element of surprise as other teams struggle to come to grips with the left field strategy.

Mind you, with fitness concerns over Glass, Gaspar and Hansen, it may not be that far wide of the mark.

All this talk about swallows and putting your money where your mouth is just screams out for the obvious comment.

From which I'll refrain.

Our glaring weakness is our backline - off which Glass is apart. He does not appear to be an instinctual backman or even footballer. What im hoping is that his deficiencies are related to confidence which may get better ??

He has some great physical attributes - but at this point in time seems lacking to take on the big guns.
Hopefully he's hit the gym pretty hard, but that is unlikely with a shoulder injury.

Unless we can uncover a hidden defensive talent in our talls ( johnson, lynch, seaby, hansen ) all of which are untried, we're gonna be occasionally phucked.

Glass is an interesting one. He kept Tarrant and Barry Hall to one goal but got toweled up by Rawlings in one quarter. He has got good potential as a full back but he needs to improve his concentration.

Now's as good a time as any to amberlynn, we've just got to the bit where Au reckons the WCE will be occasionally phucked.

Speaking of which - justifying his position as one of WA's most eligible bachelors, along with Humphrey B. Bear, Holly Wood and Colin Barnett, young Chad Feltcher recently reckoned that "the prettiest packages are often the hardest to unwrap."

Is he here referring to (a) how long it takes him to undo a bra when completely trolleyed (b) the problems facing Woosha in turning Trent Carroll, Darren Glass and a used bike pump into a functioning AFL-quality backline or (c) the tremendously tricky knots Cuz used on his Secret Santa Cwissy present.

Glass is an interesting one. He kept Tarrant and Barry Hall to one goal but got toweled up by Rawlings in one quarter. He has got good potential as a full back but he needs to improve his concentration.

With out sounding like a horse's hoof, he has a great physique and could quite well with time become like a Mal Micheal who is a mobile brick shizen house. But he doesnt have the quick descision making process required.

- We beat Port at home last season by 45points.

- We beat Brisbane last year by 69points (away from home).

- Essendon always trouble us away from home.

- We beat Carlton home and away last year and the only new name is morrell.

- Bulldogs... grant and rawlings are the only two danger men, grant will be rusty and rawlings can not win a match by himself.

- Fremantle ... always struggle to win the first derby of the year, plus everyone will be back by then.

4 wins perhaps 5

thank you, and good night.