2009 Rookie Draft selection no. 61 - Geelong

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/86929/default.aspx

Height: 182cm
Weight: 73kg
DOB: 03/04/91
Recruited from: Port Adelaide Magpies (SA)
Bio: Hard nut who relishes the contested side of the game. Is terrific in close as an inside midfielder yet can also play outside. Uses the ball very well off both sides of his body. Captain of Rostrevor College side in 2009.

In his own words
What type of player are you?
Good at winning the contested footy. I can read the ball well and am relatively skilful.

Which AFL player do you most resemble and why?
Luke Hodge because he has similar strengths to me - he wins contested ball, uses the ball well and is a good reader of the play.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
Winning contested ball, skills and reading the play

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
Goalkicking and making faster better decisions.

Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
Hawthorn. Me and a mate decided when we were young that we would just go for the Hawks.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far and why?
Tony Bamford. He has given me the opportunity to participate in many academies and teams because I live in the country. I have learnt a lot from him.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/86929/default.aspx

Sounds Like Jesse Stringer has finally got his body right.

Whos training the house down?

After the Pre-Christmas sessions, Allen Christensen nominated rookie Jesse Stringer-"a nutcase when it comes to contested ball and he's got lovely skills".

"Once he gets a full pre-season in a lot of people are going to be pretty excited about him," he said. - Inside Football

I'm definitely putting my name behind Guthrie, and I'll take a punt on Bathie having a chance of making it too. But yep, I agree Stringer has some talent also, hopefully he's finally over his injuries.

Yeah I would say he has been chosen over Simpkin due to age maybe? Will be interesting to see who else gets listed.

I think they might wait on the Caddy result before deciding on Simpkin, because he definitely deserves to go up

Yeah I would say he has been chosen over Simpkin due to age maybe? Will be interesting to see who else gets listed.

one year older though but Simpkin is from Subiaco...maybe a door could open up for him during this trade week perhaps?

Good result. As I recall, prior to his club suspension he had played 8 straight at AFL level so they clearly rated him. It would have sent a pretty poor message also to suspend him, have him rehabilitate then dump him.

Guess the club is happy with the off the field situation - whatever that maybe.
Has clearly shown enough and earnt the bump. Congrats to him, but may mean Joffa misses a chair..or maybe gets another rookie year...

Would expect Burbs or Walker to also go up... probably Walker based on external interest thus far...

Go Catters

I wouldn't be upgrading Burbury or Walker. I'm not sold on those 2.....yet

great news!
But it could now mean Simpkin will be looking elsewhere which would be harsh as he won the B&F in a premiership VFL team.

That the VFL B&F leaves us is another omen type thing it has happened quite a few times over the past few years

Good move , really like him.Of all the A class rookies he had to be upgraded pr moved on as he had beem there 3 yrs.
Walker next and if space avaible Burbury.
Simpkin and Sherringham gone I'm afraid!

one year older though but Simpkin is from Subiaco...maybe a door could open up for him during this trade week perhaps?

Simpkin and something for Mitch Brown just to aggravate the Saints fans a little more ;)

List management issues become clearer and muddier at the same time.

Congratulations to Stringer. Was showing rapid improvement in the 1's before his hiatus.

<5% chance of an upgrade.

reckon other clubs may have inquired about him recently?
Teams who lack that type around goals would see his potential, we may have too many players of similar attributes as it is.