nickh32

1st phantom draft attempt ever (nearly finished all explinations)

Hey guys

im not a bigfooty member im using my mate nick's profile and just for the record i am a doggies supporter not an essendon supporter like this user.

i will add my descriptions later 2day and 2moz

the first 10 is pretty much similar to everybody elses
but 2nd round is a bit diff

PP 1.Trengrove(melb) Not to much i can really say. This is kid is pure talent and has superstar written all of him. Great leadership skills, poised, uses the ball extremley well, great in a one on one marking contest. People are going to go to the footy just to watch this kid play in a few years time.

1st Round
2.Scully(melb) Scully is close to the complete midfield package and one of the most safe-bet prospects you could see at U18 level. He is a potential top 10 player in the competition when hes mature.

3.Martin(rich) Martin is an excellent and polished midfield prospect who strongly satisfies a lot of the key criteria to be a high quality AFL midfielder, with good further scope for improvement in his game considering his late introduction to the elite football pathway.

4.Morabito(freo) Morabito is an excellent tall midfield/utility prospect – he is very well suited to the modern game with his style of play and whilst he is mostly a pick based on potential, he has significantly improved his production this year to be deserved of a spot at the top of the class.

5.Cunnington(north) Cunnington has produced the goods over the last 2 years at both TAC Cup and U18 championship level to become a leading inside midfield/utility prospect in this draft. He has a very well rounded footballing skillset along with incredible levels of desperation, intensity and work-ethic which make him a safe-bet, high quality AFL prospect.

6.Rohan(syd) Rohan is a potential over production pick - he is a great story in perseverance as a late blooming junior. He is raw and their is risk (not that he will be a bust IMO – I think he’ll at least be a good player, but moreso that he may not reach his predicted heights) but he is a genuine excitement machine with an excellent range of skills and plenty of upside relative to the rest of the class.

7.Jetta(wce) This kid is really exciting. Great crumber when he plays forward but then when gets a chance to run in the midfield he leave the opposition coughing on his dust. Great skills but has a very thin build.

8.Butcher(port) Butcher is the best credentialed key forward prospect in this draft with his height, athletic qualities and elite contested marking ability, however he struggled with a combination of injury issues and much increased attention from oppositions, as well as demonstrating disinterest and a poor work-rate on several occasions and as a result hasn’t kicked on from a very promising bottom age year in 2008 as many would’ve predicted.

9.Lucas(port) Lucas is yet another very promising midfield prospect from East Fremantle. He had a good year on the field in 2009 and added a string to his bow in demonstrating his versatility by playing off half forward very effectively in the U18 championships.

10.Tapscott(ess) This kid could be the daniel rich of last year. He has a body which is ready to go in the afl. Has a beatiful big kick can be dangerous around the forward line and when he goes deep in the 50. When he develops a bigger engine could become a dangerous onballer.

11.Talia(melb) Talia is high quality key defensive prospect that has some added versatility and is well suited to the modern game with his range of attributes. He should at least being a very serviceable top 10 player for his club.

12.Vardy(car) Vardy is a tap ruck with some good attributes, however whilst he is the best AFL ruck prospect in this draft, he would’ve struggled for top 3 last year. He does have the potential to offer a lot more as a mobile ruck if he improves his physical condition and work-rate to a good level.

13.Melksham(ade) Melksham is an very good midfield prospect who is very easy on the eye (to watch play football of course!). Whilst he needs to round of his game in some areas (particularly defensively), he offers undoubted value with an offensive game well suited to AFL with his evasiveness, decision making and kicking hurt factor.

14.Stevens(syd) Stevens is an old fashioned, no-nonsense footballer that plays a team orientated brand of footy with a good-very good level of production and consistency – he should be able to impact immediately (when properly fit and available – as he is suffering OP at present) early in his career.

15.Taylor(dogs) Taylor has some freakish abilities and upside to be a high quality and freakish 3rd tall forward, however there are areas of his game that will need to be addressed through hard work.

16.Moore(port) Moore is a very good hardworking medium utility option has a well rounded game. He should at least be a very serviceable team player. Uses the ball very well can rely on him when he is under pressure.

17.Sheppard(gee) Sheppard has the ability to be a top quality medium defender that can rebound with pace and precision and also guard a small or medium forward (either marking or crumbing) effectively – he is also very capable of pushing further up the ground into a wing or even half forward role if needed.

2nd Round
18.Black(meb)

19.Carlisle(rich) Carlisle is very much a player that is being rated heavily on potential – however there is plenty of quality footballing ability to work with, it is mainly the athleticism that needs improvement - given the reports are correct it is very impressive how quickly he has adapted to the rapid growth in height and you would assume he will continue to adapt further as he matures – seems like there will be plenty of improvement still to come.

20.Griffiths(freo) Griffiths is a promising key forward prospect, who despite not being able to get onto the park consistently for the last 2 years, has some very appealing qualities for a key forward. It is hard to rate him with great precision given he hasn’t played a significant amount of footy and isn’t in optimal condition when he does play.

21.Panos(north) Panos seems to be the player that greatly divides opinions this year – he primarily plays as a leading full forward with OK at best pace, not much running power/capacity and is lacking in physicality. Whilst this can be effective style at the lower levels, it hasn’t been shown to be as such at AFL with much less space/more crowded forward lines and greater physical pressure from opponents.

22.Fitzpatrick(wce) Fitzpatrick is largely a ‘potential pick with an appealing combination of genuine ruck height, explosive athleticism, good intensity levels and ability to take a strong grab, which opens up a few potential positions for him. However, he is still very raw as a footballer, his kicking technique is unconventional and has yet to develop close to any form of consistency both in games and game to game.

23.Colyer(wce) Colyer is an exciting small midfield prospect with a diminutive stature. It may be a challenge for him to sustain
a long term career given his physical disadvantage, but not beyond him given the style of player he is and the qualities he brings to the table. Could start off as a small forward and move into a midfield role as he develops size and greater level of conditioning.

24.Christensen(ess) Christensen is a good small midfield/HFF option despite physically not being a great fit for AFL football. It’s been interesting seeing the change in his style of play over the 2 championships, he showed plenty of flair and creativity in space as a wing/HFF last year compared to this year where he showed his capabilities mainly as a genuine inside ball winning mid.

25.Fyfe(north) Fyfe is a very clever 3rd tall forward prospect who has had a very good year and shown rapid improvement throughout. He could potentially be the icing on the cake for an already well structured forward line.

26.Gysberts(ess) Gysberts is a solid midfield utility prospect with a rounded game. At worst he should at least be solid back up/emergency player, at best he could be a serviceable ‘supporting cast’ midfield utility type.

27.Chrichton(bris) Crichton is a dynamic medium midfield option, who despite showing a lot of promise last year as a bottom ager, hasn’t kicked on as much this year as a top ager. At worst he will struggle to bulk up.

28.Carey(gee) arey is a good midfield prospect with a fairly well rounded game. I think at worst he will be a solid depth player.

29.Bartlett(ade)

30.Thomas(pies)

31.Ah Chee(dogs)

32.Harwood(stk) Harwood is a midfield prospect that has good-very good ability inside traffic – however he will need to improve his outside game a fair bit to develop into an effective player at AFL. I think at worst he should be good back up as a depth/emergency player, at best he could be a solid foot soldier for his team through the midfield.

33.Bastinac(ess) Bastinac is a good midfield prospect – although his production/impact isn’t up with the best midfielders, he has some appealing qualities for AFL (particularly his skills, disposal/DM and endurance) and there is plenty of class in the way he plays his football. If he bulks up OK it's hard not to find a spot for someone with his skillset and he should be a fairly regular fixture.

will do my 2nd round later on. aswell as my reasonings for why teams will choose these guys.

i got most of my definitions from afldraftinfo.com

thanks heaps

Could not just wait until later to add descriptions before posting?

Fair effort though, Bastinac a big slider. Look forward to your reasonings.

Could not just wait until later to add descriptions before posting?

Fair effort though, Bastinac a big slider. Look forward to your reasonings.

yeh i know hes a slider. ive nearly finished all of the reasoning and explinations just got 5 more to do.

but yeh every yea their is always a slider look aaron cornelius and ash smith last year or even kade klemke who was touted as a top 50 and was a 3rd or 4th round in the rookie draft.

Doubt Bastanic Would fall that far

Their is always going to be sliders in the draft and in my opinion it will either be basitnac or gysberts and in my draft its basitnac. Look at Klade Klemke last year under 18 all australian, captain of nsw/act. He was touted as being a top 50 pick and was a 3rd or 4th round pick in the rookie draft. Aaron cornelius was another slider like beams and ash smith. Im tipping bastinac to be the slider.

if you dont agree then lets see your phantom draft because i wouldnt mind reading a new one and i would like to see how you go:):thumbsu:

Carlisle at 19? We'd take him at 12 over Vardy for sure. We don't need another young ruck.

kurt tippet was drafted as a ruckman and now he is a dominant FF. Vardy plays up forward aswell and he does it well. Now that fev is gone my logic was vardy could groomed as a ff/chf and do the rucking in the forward line leacing warnock and kreuzer to stay in the middle of the ground.

Anything wrong with that thinking. He is a perfect fit for carlton aswell because he likes a drink like fev aswell:thumbsu:

First two picks are spot on, Trengove & Scully are locked in, not sure about Melbourne's #11 & #18 picks, don't think we'll take Talia if Vardy is available, & I'd prefer Carlisle or Griffith's over Black. But that's just me.

Talia as a "key defensive prospect" is a reason why Melbourne won't take him. We've got KPD's coming out of our ears, we don't need another.

First two picks are spot on, Trengove & Scully are locked in, not sure about Melbourne's #11 & #18 picks, don't think we'll take Talia if Vardy is available, & I'd prefer Carlisle or Griffith's over Black. But that's just me.

Talia as a "key defensive prospect" is a reason why Melbourne won't take him. We've got KPD's coming out of our ears, we don't need another.

Talia is so much more than a key defensive prospect though. If you have a look at footage of this kid. He is like same fisher. He can play back or forward really well. He can even play midfield on the wing cause hes got some speed about him aswell and hes not afraid to get in and under. Hes great one on one and rareley gets beaten. Also because of gold coast and western sydney if a team has picked a tall recently who mightnt turn out great this is a last chance to get someone. Hes a gem and could prove to be a steal of the draft this year imo.

Nah,Carlton have enough ruckmen.

look at what i said before. He can play up forward which would be really good for afte the gap fev left. He could be a great FF or CHF and his leap will make oppositions struggle hes only 198. He could also be a forward ruckmen which gives kreuzer or warnock a break from running into the forward line all the time. You would benefit the most from him.

Re: 1st phantom draft attempt ever (nearly finished all explinations)

12.Vardy(car) Vardy is a tap ruck with some good attributes, however whilst he is the best AFL ruck prospect in this draft, he would’ve struggled for top 3 last year. He does have the potential to offer a lot more as a mobile ruck if he improves his physical condition and work-rate to a good level.

Wow, that is the worst selection for Carlton that I have seen. I can say with 100% confidence that we will not select a ruckman, especially after picking up Warnock last year. Kruezer to play forward next year with Hampson and Warnock taking the rucking roles and most like shifting all 3 down forward and through the ruck when needed, Jacobs as back-up.

Before you give me the spiel that Vardy can play forward, think of why we would pick a ruckman who can play forward instead of a pure forward prospect? It just doesn't make sense. Black, Carlisle and Talia are all ahead of Vardy as KPP prospects and it would be a wasted selection and reaching for a player we do not need.

He is more a late first round (on a needs basis) early second round selection. I'm not saying he is a bad player because I like him as a prospect, he just doesn't fulfill a need nor is he best available. I'd rather add more midfield depth and quality by taking one of Tapscott or Melksham (or a slider) than choose Vardy.

look at what i said before. He can play up forward which would be really good for afte the gap fev left. He could be a great FF or CHF and his leap will make oppositions struggle hes only 198. He could also be a forward ruckmen which gives kreuzer or warnock a break from running into the forward line all the time. You would benefit the most from him.

Your forgetting about Hampson (and Jacobs to a certain extent) who gives more than servicable performances considering his age and how long he has been playing the game for. Hampson has Vardy covered in all areas.