Nige_Bix

WWT Eagles
I've just heard these two - apart from those on Channel 10 tonight.....

Johnson to Collingwood
N.Davis to Sydney
M.O'Loughlin to Adelaide

which is thinkable - but this one made me laugh!...

John**** for Lade!!

Any others going around??

O'loughlin to AFC...nice idea but doubtful. Roos will want him and I think he was one the players who was keen for Paul to take over. Then there is Mick O'Loughlin. He didn't have a great time at the Crows and I don't think he'd have too many nice things to say about Gary to his brother.

I like the first one but look at it from Sydney's point of view - Nick Davis in Michael O'Loughlin out. That's a clear loss for them. Collingwood would win getting Johnson for Davis.

From a Crows perspective I would be happy with it. Maybe if Collingwood gave Sydney a draft pick aswell as Davis it would be quite fair for all teams.

But I would be surprised if Sydney would let O'Loughlin go that easily.

Originally posted by dezzmo
I've just heard these two - apart from those on Channel 10 tonight.....

Johnson to Collingwood
N.Davis to Sydney
M.O'Loughlin to Adelaide

which is thinkable - but this one made me laugh!...

John**** for Lade!!

Any others going around??
Stiffy for Lade is laughable - although going by the Power board they reckon they are being shafted in this trade? :confused: Go figure, a 1st year player who played every game & has heaps of improvement v player with 2 knee injuries & is excess to requirements??? :o

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
M O'Loughlin (as opposed to Ricky) for Sugar seems OK. What is the age of Mick now? Pies will need to throw in a draft pick though to make it fair for Sydney.

Michael O'Loughlin would be good but I think Ayres would need to improve the defensive side of his game - which shouldn't be that hard considering he did it masterfully with Welshy. O'Loughlin could be placed just under the King and could kick many goals more than he has at the Swans.

As for the John(**** trade. It is very clear that the Port supporters rate their players too highly eg. Lade better prospect than John(****, French, Brogan better than Biglands so I am beginning to skip past their posts.

Not only with their players, snakebite01 ...

In yesterday's Tiser, didn't that survey showed that the PAPs rate Chokeo higher than Matthews, Malthouse and Sheedy?

Originally posted by PrideOf
Not only with their players, snakebite01 ...

In yesterday's Tiser, didn't that survey showed that the PAPs rate Chokeo higher than Matthews, Malthouse and Sheedy?
Well he has won more pre-season cups! ;)

Re: Re: 2 Rumours

Stiffy for Lade is laughable - although going by the Power board they reckon they are being shafted in this trade? :confused: Go figure, a 1st year player who played every game & has heaps of improvement v player with 2 knee injuries & is excess to requirements??? :o

lade is a very good player IMHO but stiffy is OURS!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by snakebite01

As for the John(**** trade. It is very clear that the Port supporters rate their players too highly eg. Lade better prospect than John(****, French, Brogan better than Biglands so I am beginning to skip past their posts.
Yeah, Zombie's Brogan is better than Biglands is a classic. :D Don't get me wrong I like Brogan, but a virtually untried ruck v a guy who consolidated his spot in the leading ruck team is a joke. He seriously only sees through one eye! Next he will be telling us that Derek Murray is a better prospect than Graeme John****. :rolleyes:

Re: Re: 2 Rumours

Just a technical point, Lade's knees are fine, he has broken his left leg twice, that's all, no knee injuries.

Lade had a stellar season in 1999, when Primus was out with a knee injury. He then broke his leg playing against Fremantle early in the 2000 season, and did it again playing Geelong in a pre-season game in 2001.

2002 was virtually a confidence re-builder in Lade's own mind, he had to convince himself he could play again, without breaking the leg again in the various types of contact suffered during a game

Yeah, Zombie's Brogan is better than Biglands is a classic. :D Don't get me wrong I like Brogan, but a virtually untried ruck v a guy who consolidated his spot in the leading ruck team is a joke. He seriously only sees through one eye! Next he will be telling us that Derek Murray is a better prospect than Graeme John****. :rolleyes:

Brogan is a better ruckman than Biglands, like I said if he got the opportunities Biglands got in playing in a considerably less talented ruck team he would have consolidated himself as a good AFL ruckman IMO.

Remember Port sacked Biglands for Brogan ;)

I like little Derek Murray but I wouldn't go as far as saying he was a better prospect than John(ock as Johnco(k is in an AFL starting 22 whilst Murray seems to be on the outer at Port. When Murray was drafted he was a better prospect than Johnco(k currently is and I am one of the few Port supporters who believe he can still live up to that potential :(

As for Lade for Johnco(k we would be getting shafted big time in that trade. Lade is a game breaker, they don't call him the money man for nothing ;)

Next he will be telling us that Derek Murray is a better prospect than Graeme John****. :rolleyes:

That reminds me of the Port fan that told me in 97 that Shane Bond was going to be a better player than Andrew McLeod.

:D

Originally posted by Zombie

Brogan is a better ruckman than Biglands, like I said if he got the opportunities Biglands got in playing in a considerably less talented ruck team he would have consolidated himself as a good AFL ruckman IMO.

Remember Port sacked Biglands for Brogan ;)

I like little Derek Murray but I wouldn't go as far as saying he was a better prospect than John(ock as Johnco(k is in an AFL starting 22 whilst Murray seems to be on the outer at Port. When Murray was drafted he was a better prospect than Johnco(k currently is and I am one of the few Port supporters who believe he can still live up to that potential :(

As for Lade for Johnco(k we would be getting shafted big time in that trade. Lade is a game breaker, they don't call him the money man for nothing ;)

I didnt know Port sacked Biglands for Brogan....tsk tsk that appears to be a fu(k up of big proportions.

:eek:

If Biglands and Brogan were competing for the the same ruck position Id have Biglands anyday.

Lade is a leg braeker not a game breaker

Re: Re: Re: 2 Rumours

Originally posted by Asgardian

Just a technical point, Lade's knees are fine, he has broken his left leg twice, that's all, no knee injuries.

Lade had a stellar season in 1999, when Primus was out with a knee injury. He then broke his leg playing against Fremantle early in the 2000 season, and did it again playing Geelong in a pre-season game in 2001.

2002 was virtually a confidence re-builder in Lade's own mind, he had to convince himself he could play again, without breaking the leg again in the various types of contact suffered during a game
Yep, you got me on a technicality - busted legs not knees, but my point remains the same. No way I (or AFC) would trade Stiffy for Lade.

Originally posted by topjars

I didnt know Port sacked Biglands for Brogan....tsk tsk that appears to be a fu(k up of big proportions.

If Biglands and Brogan were competing for the the same ruck position Id have Biglands anyday.

Lade is a leg braeker not a game breaker
lol Jars.

Zombie, how can you say a bloke who dominates ruck at SANFL level is better than a guy who has a has a good season in the AFL? So does this make Adam Richardson better than Matty Lloyd? :rolleyes: ;) :p

Originally posted by topjars

Why? Both would be still playing SANFL if they both still played for Port, undoubtedly though Biglands has proven alot of people wrong and has developed his game well.

However is should be noted that Brogan was playing basketball for the 36ers before deciding to 'try his hand' at footy. Now he is the best ruckman in the SANFL in only a couple of years, in another couple he could be the best in the AFL ;)

Sorry but French is better than Biglands, see any game were French is the lead ruckman and he is miles better than Biglands, perhaps showdown 11 is worth a look at.

As for Brogan being better than Biglands that is debateable as Brogan hasn't played as much as him at the highest level (though this isn't due to lack of ability more lack of opportunity).

But if Biglands was still on our list he would be played for the Eagles in the SANFL, that's for sure and i doubt he would be playing up to the level that Brogan has been (again can be argued). At Port i'd rather have Brogan as Biglands is only a poor man's French who is in turn a poor man's Primus at least Brogan provides something a bit different in our rucking department.

Brogan in time (in my opinion) will become Ports 2nd ruckmen behind Primus. I personally rate Brogan ahead of both Lade and French. Brogan just needs his oppurtunity.

A lot of people forget that Brogan has only been playing football for two seasons. Two seasons!! Port took a punt on him two years back and put him on their rookie list. He spent a whole year there developing his game. He was retained on the rookie list last year but luckily got a callup due to injury where he immediately impressed.

This year he was simply unlucky that he was down the pecking order in Mark Williams mind. If anyone here bothered to check his SANFL stats he was dominating each and every week. Most Port supporters were screaming for him to be given a shot all year considering his SANFL form where he was getting in Souths top 3 players each week.

I hope we do trade French as it would mean Brogan will get the oppurtunity he deserves and i reckon he will become a very very good ruckmen at AFL level.

Biglands is a good player...but he is a shocking kick. People comment on Primus's kicking but Biglands is much much worse. Still he is a good player tho.

Originally posted by Macca19
Brogan in time (in my opinion) will become Ports 2nd ruckmen behind Primus. I personally rate Brogan ahead of both Lade and French. Brogan just needs his oppurtunity.

A lot of people forget that Brogan has only been playing football for two seasons. Two seasons!! Port took a punt on him two years back and put him on their rookie list. He spent a whole year there developing his game. He was retained on the rookie list last year but luckily got a callup due to injury where he immediately impressed.

This year he was simply unlucky that he was down the pecking order in Mark Williams mind. If anyone here bothered to check his SANFL stats he was dominating each and every week. Most Port supporters were screaming for him to be given a shot all year considering his SANFL form where he was getting in Souths top 3 players each week.

I hope we do trade French as it would mean Brogan will get the oppurtunity he deserves and i reckon he will become a very very good ruckmen at AFL level.

Biglands is a good player...but he is a shocking kick. People comment on Primus's kicking but Biglands is much much worse. Still he is a good player tho.
Macca, I agree with you comments. IMO, Brogan has much more potential than Lade & French & should become Port's 2nd ruckman. Hence from a Crows perspective he is the only one of your "tradeable" ruckman I would be interested in.

On Biglands he needs to improve his skill, but you can't fault his endevour (unlike Marsh). I would prefer to have him instead of either Lade or French. May be biased, but that is my opinion & I reckon he has even more improvement in him.

I'd agree also re Brogan. The couple of games he played that i saw were quite impressive and he seemed a natural for AFL.

I think O'Loughlin is about 27.

I cant see the Crows trading a player [Jonn****] who was named as best young talent [ or something similar] - unless he wants to go!

Originally posted by dezzmo
I'd agree also re Brogan. The couple of games he played that i saw were quite impressive and he seemed a natural for AFL.

I think O'Loughlin is about 27.

I cant see the Crows trading a player [Jonn****] who was named as best young talent [ or something similar] - unless he wants to go!

I heard recently you can't trade first year player??? They have to be on the list atleaast 2 years after being drafted before they can be traded apparently.

Wouldn't be the first time The Advertiser didn't do their research, I reckon they made the trade up as i have never heard it anywhere else.

If the 2 year rule is true it would prove that The Advertiser had just made it up wouldn't it?

I heard recently you can't trade first year player??? They have to be on the list atleaast 2 years after being drafted before they can be traded apparently.

Wouldn't be the first time The Advertiser didn't do their research, I reckon they made the trade up as i have never heard it anywhere else.

If the 2 year rule is true it would prove that The Advertiser had just made it up wouldn't it?
I think the 2 year rule for 1st year players is true.

John**** has been on Adelaides list for 2 years.

that means the hopes of the kangas fans who were hoping to get reilly as part of the carey deal are dashed, if the rule is true. Brent has only been on our list for 1 year.