2007 Ladder Prediction

maccas_no1 said:
Well mr stiffy you tell me what the story is, you even admitted in the McGregor thread that he is clearly struggling geez wouldnt that be due to his inability to take a contested mark??? Perrie is the same should rename him 'butter fingers' be honest stiffy niether take contested marks when they should be.

Our forwardline is shot to peices, thats why we struggled for the last few weeks of the season and the finals as we couldnt kick big scores because our forwardlines was deadset rubbish.

Time for AFC supporters to give honest opinions of where the club is at not think we are going to pick up the peices and get it together it wont happen, as I have said there are easily four or five clubs better than us in 2007.

2005 and 2006 were the biggest screw ups in the clubs history, when we were in a position to make a meal out of both finals series we screwed it up bigtime, that as supporters is what we have to live with and deserve all the crap we get, we have to live with it and hope the club gets it right in 3-5 years time. And yes it hurts like hell.
Now if anyone can be critical at times about where we stand, its me. Even when we were "flying high" I had my doubts but no one really believed them.

Now you choose to bag 3 players who 2006 season was damaged by injuries. To say that they can't take a contested mark is laughable. In the last season where they all were relatively free (2005), Ian Perrie was top 7 in the AFL in total contested marks. Both him and McGregor were top 10 IIRC. They can take contested marks and they have shown so many times over and over again.

Your analysis is extremely subjective. Kenny has struggled with inury all year. Welsh missed most of the year with injuries and so has Perrie.

Let me paint a picture for you. With those 3 as our go to forwards we made the preliminary finals and were beaten in there by 2 goals back in 2005. Welsh kicked 58 goals, Perrie 39 for the season and since he moved forward mid way through the year Kenny averaged a healthy 1.94 goals per game.

Rubbishing those players doesn't prove anything other than you being extremely fickle. Those players can do the job. They are not going to be reaching any superstar stadards any time soon but the Eagles have proven that you can win with decent forward line and without a gun forward.

Now back to this crap that our forward line can't kick goals. Are you aware that going into the finals we finished 2nd in the league in points for. Thats right SECOND. Collingwood is the only team that kicked more points than us (they outscored us by a whopping 14 points) and considering they played a lot of games at the Telstra Dome, it would be reasonable argument to suggest that our scoring power was more potent than theirs.

Our late season struggled have very little to do with our forward line and a LOT to do with our inability to win the ball in the midfield. Our midfield has struggled for the etire season and even in the PF when our midfield was getting a spank job, our so called "shot to pieces" forward line almost pulled off a win.

Do I think we have blown a couple of golden opportunities the last 2 years?! YES!!!!!! Yes, I do, especially in 2005. Do I think we will slide a bit next year due to our weaknesses and other teams' improvements?! Yes I do. But that doesn't mean that I will bag the part of the playing group that doesn't deserve the blame. We know how to kick goals and we have shown this year that we don't really need a stand out forward to kick a winning score. If the forward line is shot to pieces as you state, then you don't kick 30 goals in a single game, regardless of the opposition. If the forward line, is shot to pieces as you say, then you don't have a really even spread of goal kickers with 4 or 5 players kicking 30 or more goals in the season.

While we would all LOVE to have a gun key forward like a Pavlich, or a Brown or a Riewoldt or a Fevola etc... that is not going to happen and even without that type of player we have proved that we CAN kick a winning score on consistent basis.

Out concerns are much greater in the midfield than in the forward line. Thats where we get spanked, and thats where we lose games. Not the forward line.

Gee, I've missed some interesting stuff today thanks to my many meetings. :D

Maccas - c'mon mate and settle down. Even under your thought process that we are stuffed, rooted, the players are no good, we have no midfield, we have no forwards etc etc, you still settled for us to be around 6th.

If you're in the finals you have to have a chance. As Stiffy rightly said, no way were Sydney as good in any of the last two years as their results during the year suggest, particularly this year IMO.

If we had the opposite year in terms of injury to this year, we will field a very good side every week. That's a vital key to the success or failure of any AFL team and none of us can predict that 5 months before the season proper starts.

How do you know that some of our younger players won't emerge as very good players this year. It does happen.

To say that we are buggered 5 months before the season starts is ridiculous, mate - honestly. Let's just wait until the season starts and see how it emerges.

Question for Macca19 - why do you think that Collingwood will improve greatly this year?? Just curious as most people can't see much joy for them.

For what it's worth at this stage of the year - I'm sure it will change as time rolls on - I like Vader's post early in this thread, both in respect of the order of the teams and his reasons for doing so. :thumbsu:

macca23 said:
Question for Macca19 - why do you think that Collingwood will improve greatly this year?? Just curious as most people can't see much joy for them.

:confused:

Sorry mate but I dont see where you see that ive got them to improve greatly.

7th and probably losing their first final...about the same as this year.

2007 On Paper Prediction

Premiers = Gulp, Fremantle :eek:
R/Up - West Coast
3rd again - Crows
4th - Melbourne
5th - Collingwood
6th - Bulldogs
7th - Saints
8th - Sydney

9th - Bombers
10th - Richmond
11th - Geelong
12th - Power
13th - Hawks
14th - Roos
15th - Carlton
16th - Brisbane

mymansyd said:
2007 On Paper Prediction

Premiers = Gulp, Fremantle :eek:
R/Up - West Coast
3rd again - Crows
4th - Melbourne
5th - Collingwood
6th - Bulldogs
7th - Saints
8th - Sydney

9th - Bombers
10th - Richmond
11th - Geelong
12th - Power
13th - Hawks
14th - Roos
15th - Carlton
16th - Brisbane
Now Childrens - this is what happens when grown ups drink too much alcohol. Their eyesight goes all fuzzy and they become delusional......

:D

......I agree in a way - people talk about our window about to shut......I reckon it's now or never for the Shockers as well.

Mad Dog said:
Now Childrens - this is what happens when grown ups drink too much alcohol. Their eyesight goes all fuzzy and they become delusional......

......I agree in a way - people talk about our window about to shut......I reckon it's now or never for the Shockers as well.

Unfortunately our window come slamming down on our fingers in 2006, wont open for a good 3-5 yrs now:(

It's interesting to read all the opinions of doom and optimism.

Personally I subscribe to the theory that the last 2 years have been disappointing obviously - but it needs to be viewed in the context of where we've come from since August 2004, the quality of players on our list, and the fact that we were beaten by a very very good side in both Prelims. Am I embracing mediocrity ??....no - just adding some qualifiers to our performance.

I tend to think we have another opportunity in 2007 because.....

• We've got a bloody good draw as far as draws go
  • our senior group still has a bit of good footy to go
  • we are due for a better season with injuries
  • our younger group - van Berlo, Knights, Porps, Maric, Doughty are all another year wiser.
  • 2006 saw some tactical and ideological areas exposed IMO - and I reckon NC will look to sought those out so I have a feeling we will be stronger and sounder tactically.
  • we will be better in the ruck with more around the ground influence
  • our relative position to other sides has not been diluted that much.

my last point is a major factor IMO. It's ok to talk in terms of windows and list age and stage of development. But we aren't tested in those areas against a static benchmark.....we play other sides with their own PPCs (Premiership Possibility Curves....:o ). This means the major factor of measurement needs to be our position relative to other sides.

West Coast will still be strong, as will Fremantle. The Bullies will improve...and frankly their run and pace worries me. I honestly reckon that the Saints and Geelong will go backwards...as will Collingwood. Port Power, Brisbane, Hawthorn, Carlton, Kangaroos, Essendon are rebuilding. Richmond is just Richmond. That leaves Sydney and Melbourne as the tough ones to predict....and we seem to have both their measure.

So our squad is another year older and yes we've missed out on some golden opportunities in 2005 and 2006. But has our position really been comprimised relative to the rest of the competition yet ???.....I don't reckon it has.

Macca19 said:
:confused:

Sorry mate but I dont see where you see that ive got them to improve greatly.

7th and probably losing their first final...about the same as this year.

Yep, sorry for causing confusion there. Very poorly worded. :o

What I meant to say, and should have said, was after losing Tarrant and with Didak's knee injury, their forward line looks very very poor. Add a very average mid-field and an adequate defence and their 2007 season is being rightly pre-judged IMO by most to be pretty ordinary, with them most likely to miss the 8.

What I should have said was why and how do you think that they can improve on most people's expectations to maintain their position in the 8??

I tend to think we have another opportunity in 2007 because.....

• We've got a bloody good draw as far as draws go
  • our senior group still has a bit of good footy to go
  • we are due for a better season with injuries
  • our younger group - van Berlo, Knights, Porps, Maric, Doughty are all another year wiser.
  • 2006 saw some tactical and ideological areas exposed IMO - and I reckon NC will look to sought those out so I have a feeling we will be stronger and sounder tactically.
  • we will be better in the ruck with more around the ground influence
  • our relative position to other sides has not been diluted that much.
  • Yes to a good draw.
  • One year left of reasonable footy for Roo, Macca, Edwards & Goody.
  • No side is "due" anything - gambler's fallacy.
  • Doughty isn't in any "younger" group. Douglas & Vince are, however.
  • Tactically - meh.
  • Ruck is very much "untried" for next year. That doesn't mean it won't be OK, but it has to count as a risk rather than a definite improvement.
  • True. Lost Hentschel, Biglands, Hart & Clarke, "gained" Bock, Welsh, Meesen & Maric.

West Coast will still be strong, as will Fremantle. The Bullies will improve...and frankly their run and pace worries me. I honestly reckon that the Saints and Geelong will go backwards...as will Collingwood. Port Power, Brisbane, Hawthorn, Carlton, Kangaroos, Essendon are rebuilding. Richmond is just Richmond. That leaves Sydney and Melbourne as the tough ones to predict....and we seem to have both their measure.

So our squad is another year older and yes we've missed out on some golden opportunities in 2005 and 2006. But has our position really been comprimised relative to the rest of the competition yet ???.....I don't reckon it has.

Fair points, IMO.

I genuinely believe we are in no worse position than we were last year. We were unbeatable until half way through the year. No one on this board has the foresight to guarantee we can't recreate that form and hopefully when it counts, in September.

Bock, Douglas & Van Berlo: These are the reasons to be excited about 2007.

• Doughty isn't in any "younger" group. Douglas & Vince are, however.
That's MD's running joke mate. ;)

I have seen a few of you guys saying the crows are going to slid a bit next year but i reckon you guys still have one more good year in ya! You may slide in the ladder position at the end of the twenty two rounds but i think you guys will be in the Grand this year! Man that was hard to admit! Nah i just think you may not have such a consistent year next year as you did this year, and the year before but i think the hunger must be there and to get so close two years in a row will tip you into the Grand Final. Not sure how it will go from then on? depends who you play but there has to be some reward for such consistency over the last few years!

Wow i have never payed so many compliments to the crows in my life! hehe

Nah best of luck but if it ends up being port in the Grand Final you know Ports gonna win :D

Anyway here is my Ladder Prediction but you know i really dont know who will be in the Grand Final With YA!

Port
Kangaroos
Brisbane

Anyway here is my Ladder Prediction but you know i really dont know who will be in the Grand Final With YA!

Port
Kangaroos
Brisbane

That ladder has no credibility.

You should know by now that 9th spot is reserved for Richmond. ;) :D

You should know by now that 9th spot is reserved for Richmond. ;)

9vk8.gif

You should know by now that 9th spot is reserved for Richmond. ;) :D

Wow what a blunder i forgot that Richmond have two designated spots that of either ninth or the wooden spoon. Well easily changed change Richmond and Port around and we have our 2007 ladder! :)

I know it's abit early but, what the hell, there's not much else worth discussing. Here's how I see the ladder at the end of the 2007 season:

West Coast - Best list in the AFL. The forward line has been their weakness but I expect Lych and Hansen will be better players thanks to their finals experience.

Fremantle - Probably all round the list is just as good as West Coasts but
West Coast just inch them out of the top spot due to their extroadinary midfield. A geuine GF chance.

Western Bulldogs - Much depends on Luke Darcy. If he can remain injury free, and they play him mostly out of the square, he could be the the tall forward they need to take them to the last day in Sep. The Doggies are a genuine chance.

Sydney - Will be a better side with the inclusion of Spider. A genuine premiership threat but maybe their last year to win another one.

St Kilda - Will be a better side now they have a proper "football" coach in the place of a "life" coach.

AFC - The start of the rebuild. Not enough "1st tier" midfield talent nor Kpp depth to be considered a genuine flag chance. Even if we can manufacture 1st tier midfield talent out of Johncock and our host of solid work horses
( Thomson, Reilly etc ) there isn't enough kpp depth or talent to support them. It's like groundhog day, lack of talented kpp is again our arhcilles heel.

Port Power - Alot depends on the fitness and form of their top 6 players in C Cornes, Lade, S Burgoyne, P Burgoyne, Tredrea and Wakelin. If they lose two or more of these for lengthy periods of time, bottom 8 is again a strong possibility as their remaining 22 will comprise mostly "unproven" youngsters. Time is running out for them to win a premiership in the playing life of their best ever forward ( Tredrea ), ruckman ( Lade ) and full back ( Wakelin ).

Geelong- The Cats will be better next year but won't be a genuine premiership threat.

Melbourne - I love the Dees grunty, aggressive midfielders but time has run out for them to win a premiership in David Neitz's reign.

Hawthorn - On the way up.

Kangaroos

Richmond - They will slide in 2007. Their kpp depth is worse then ours. Midfield, average at best.

Brisbane - Will J Brown ever play a full season?

Essendon - Too reliant on Lloyd. Not enough talent.

Carlton - Unfortunately for the Blues, the spoon is again likely. Heading in the right direction, if you know what I mean.

In Summary:

AFC
Port Power
Kangas
Brisbane

I wouldn't quit your day job to become a psychic just yet.

I'd say a lot of people got it all miserably wrong.

How about now we've hit the halfway stage we update our predictions? (Bound to be miserably wrong too).

Mine
Bulldogs
Port Adelaide
------------
Kangaroos
Brisbane

I have seen a few of you guys saying the crows are going to slid a bit next year but i reckon you guys still have one more good year in ya! You may slide in the ladder position at the end of the twenty two rounds but i think you guys will be in the Grand this year! Man that was hard to admit! Nah i just think you may not have such a consistent year next year as you did this year, and the year before but i think the hunger must be there and to get so close two years in a row will tip you into the Grand Final. Not sure how it will go from then on? depends who you play but there has to be some reward for such consistency over the last few years!

Wow i have never payed so many compliments to the crows in my life! hehe

Nah best of luck but if it ends up being port in the Grand Final you know Ports gonna win :D

Port
Kangaroos
Brisbane

You could have done better than that by pulling teams' names out of a hat. You didn't even get one right.

Kangaroos

St. Kilda
Port Adelaide
Brisbane

Will be a very interesting race to the eight this year. I think there will be a massive fight for the last few places in the eight. I feel with the way Adelaide are travelling we will be fighting for a place in the lower half of the eight.

We will have a couple of games that we must win to ensure that we stay there. The way it is looking at the moment Geelong are looking very strong but as we all know that could change any time soon, meaning they may well drop down the ladder.

Sydney are again slowing but surely looking like hitting their peak when it matters most and looking at their draw for the second half of the season have a very nice run to the finals and should finish top four.

West Coast are obviously up top again with a very strong side. I see Collingwood just slipping into the top four. They have some big games they will have to win however to do so. These games are against old enemies which tradiontally can go either way quite easily.

The Hawks and the Kangaroos make the eight on the back of their first eleven rounds. Will slow up a bit for mine towards the pointy end of the season and probably won't challenge much in the finals. The Bulldogs have a nice run home and should get enough wins to slide into the eight.

Freo and the Saints will put a few wins on the board late and could be a chance of getting up and challenging for the last couple of places, but the way they have been playing and their current position may come back to shoot them in the foot.

While Essendon are currently in the top four I see them sliding out of contention in the second half of the year. I don't see them winning too many games from here on in, despite their good form against last years grand finalists in back to back rounds.

Port and Brisbane will continue to be average teams for the rest of the season, while Melbourne will win some games, but have left any hope of finishing anywhere well and truly too late.

I see Carlton as a possibility of being up higher. They have been impressive last couple of rounds and could quite easily finish higher. But with a young list and going on past seasons form I still have them finishing 15th. Richmond will win the wooden spoon. Despite having chances to win games they have been very ordinary and with only half a win at the half way mark, they will be hard to beat for the spoon.

First week of finals.

Friday Night
West Coast vs. Collingwood Subiaco
Saturday
Adelaide vs. Western Bulldogs AAMI Stadium
Saturday Night
Geelong vs. Sydney MCG
Sunday
Hawthorn vs. Kangaroos MCG

I am looking a fair way ahead of course, but hey, why not?

I wouldn't quit your day job to become a psychic just yet.

Wow look at the Geelong bandwagoners out in force now that they're finally stringing some wins together. Come on then smartarse, what was your pre season prediction? It'd better be ####ing spot on otherwise you too shouldn't quit your day job. :rolleyes:

Well now that you mention it, my preseason predcition for the cats was top of the ladder, grand final, Bartel to win the Brownlow, and Joel Selwood to win the rising star. Looks like I'll be doing better than you mate. :)

AFTER ROUND 22

Port Power