2011 Official Draft Discussion Thread

Dream draft for me would be:
Grigg, Sheridan and Frost.
Inside mid, inside/outside mid with a big tank and athletic tall who is raw and has a lot to learn.
Maric and anastsio (spelling?) arevery ordinary afl prospects. I think collier and jetta are suffice at present.

Dream draft for me would be:
Grigg, Sheridan and Frost.
Inside mid, inside/outside mid with a big tank and athletic tall who is raw and has a lot to learn.
Maric and anastsio (spelling?) arevery ordinary afl prospects. I think collier and jetta are suffice at present.
Why do we need another pure inside mid? We have Watson, Lonergan, Hocking and Howlett currently in the first 22, as well as players like Melksham, Stanton, Zaharakis, Prismall, Myers, Browne and NLM who can all rotate through there as inside/outside mids. We don't need any more project talls because we have Joe Daniher coming next year, as well as Gumby, Pears, Hurley, Hille, Carlisle etc on the list. You've identified the area where we need the least amount of players.

You serious? Have you even seen them play? You obviously have no clue mate, because Anastasio is a very exciting prospect

LOL. Flogs bagging out Foj who actually knows his shit.
If he knows his shit, why would he have us draft 3 players that we don't need?

Things we do need:
-a winger
-a decent small forward
-another class midfielder

Things we don't need:
-project talls
-another grunt midfielder
-flankers

Things that we may need:
-another ruckman
-another small defender
-inside/outside midfielders

So he ticks one box for what we may need, and none of the boxes of what we do need. I'm sorry, but for someone who "knows his shit" he has been way off the mark here

Again; differing opinion. What I'd like to see from us is (dunno about all players, but something of this Ilk):

Pick 19: Classy mid (Kerridge)
Pick 41: Winger (Like C. Young)
Pick 59: small defender
Pick 77: Crameri upgrade

RD:
1st round: Small forward (Anastasio/Gotch)
2nd round: Mature-Aged mid (Duscher/Valenti)
3rd round: Possibly a ruckman/Best Available
4th round: BA
5th round: BA

Who would you look at as a small forward Foj? Be interesting to hear your thoughts on a guy I mentioned a little later, Darren Minchington?

Any others you like, now that the messiah of state league small forwards is going to St.kilda.

I would think we need more midfielders that can work both inside and outside as we have far to many one dimensional players at Essendon, IMO.

You serious? Have you even seen them play? You obviously have no clue mate, because Anastasio is a very exciting prospect

Well done bagged the shit out of one of the better informed watchers of TAC Cup over a number of years who has never been far of the mark in phantom drafts as well as the draft boards draft effort.

I tend to value what foj has to say about under 18 footy more than pretty much anyone around BF.

If he knows his shit, why would he have us draft 3 players that we don't need?

Things we do need:
-a winger
-a decent small forward
-another class midfielder

Things we don't need:
-project talls
-another grunt midfielder
-flankers

Things that we may need:
-another ruckman
-another small defender
-inside/outside midfielders

So he ticks one box for what we may need, and none of the boxes of what we do need. I'm sorry, but for someone who "knows his shit" he has been way off the mark here

Who says Grigg is just another grunt midfielder ?
Personally i would describe him as an inside mid with a bit of class.
Secondly you always draft a project tall. How would we be traveling if we had not drafted at least 1 tall in all the recent drafts ?

What you are actually saying is you believe he is way off your opinion of what we need and personally i do not think you are 100% right either.
Good mids , yes. A quick goal kicking small forward , yes, a winger, not really.

Strangely enough we are looking at getting Caddy who is an inside mid which defies what you think we need.

Possibly a moot point (if we get Caddy) but what would be the range for Grigg? A chance to get to pick 19?

In phantom drafts after the draft testing he is right in our calculations, he just looks like a Bomber Thompson (geelong model) midfielder to me. Probably not as athletically gifted as caddy but a decent get nevertheless.

Looks the goods to me and is what we need.

Sorry Foj, I was tired and angry at my sister about something. No personal abuse intended, I just needed totake it out, and unfortunately, it was on you.

Ant, thanks for the reply, but if we do draft a project tall would you look at Fletcher Roberts? IMO he was great in the GF, and potentially release Carlisle into defence. What's your opinion on him?

And on the winger front, when I look at our list, I see a lot of flankers and a few inside/outside midfielders, but no pure line-breaking winger Ala Lovett who can change the game with 3 goals and 3 assists in 10 minutes or something like that.

And from what I've heard Grigg will go top 10 this year, probably to Adelaide.

Would Kerridge slip to 41 if we do get the Caddy deal done (if we have to trade pick 19, that is)?

Sorry Foj, I was tired and angry at my sister about something. No personal abuse intended, I just needed totake it out, and unfortunately, it was on you.

Ant, thanks for the reply, but if we do draft a project tall would you look at Fletcher Roberts? IMO he was great in the GF, and potentially release Carlisle into defence. What's your opinion on him?

And on the winger front, when I look at our list, I see a lot of flankers and a few inside/outside midfielders, but no pure line-breaking winger Ala Lovett who can change the game with 3 goals and 3 assists in 10 minutes or something like that.

And from what I've heard Grigg will go top 10 this year, probably to Adelaide.

Would Kerridge slip to 41 if we do get the Caddy deal done (if we have to trade pick 19, that is)?

Think you will be right about Grigg, probably be gone in the 7 to 16 range.
I would have said yes about Kerridge but his draft camp numbers where impressive which may push him out of that range.

Roberts would not be a bad choice for a project player.

As for wingers, ye we do not have pure speed but we tend to use the wings as a midfield rotation. Idealy Stanton can hold one wing while Melksham, Zaka and Heppell can hold the other while being in the midfield rotations.

Think you will be right about Grigg, probably be gone in the 7 to 16 range.
I would have said yes about Kerridge but his draft camp numbers where impressive which may push him out of that range.

Roberts would not be a bad choice for a project player.

As for wingers, ye we do not have pure speed but we tend to use the wings as a midfield rotation. Idealy Stanton can hold one wing while Melksham, Zaka and Heppell can hold the other while being in the midfield rotations.
Who do you think we'll take with 41 if he doesn't slip?

Okay. I just want that line-breaker ala Lovett

at the start of the year Dempsey looked like being that player. For us it seems like our quick players are either injury prone or morally challenged.

and, you could have Lovett back on the list if you wanted. :p

at the start of the year Dempsey looked like being that player. For us it seems like our quick players are either injury prone or morally challenged.

and, you could have Lovett back on the list if you wanted. :p
I'll pass on that

Sorry for intruding, but i think if you dont use pick 19 and 41 you are going to get 2 pretty good midfielders or small defenders types that you need. Alot of the top 15 players of this draft are all midfielders and with GWS having so many picks i cant see them taking all of them, they will probably target a few talls. So with GWS having so many picks 11 of first 14 i think it may help you guys land a very good midfielder at 19 and someone will slip through to you Atley style with Roos.

Sumner
Greene
Kavanagh
Adams
D.Smith
Grigg

I reckon you will get one of these that slip through and if not you might target Ellis as a small defender at 19 if available or even than you have

Mckenzie
Markworth
Crozier

Who i think will be available

For pick 41 you guys also have a chance to get another good player that slips through in

Ross
Waldhunter
Kerridge - big chance
Nelson - i think will slip

Tynan - as a possible small defender type who fills a need, should be around that mark, may need to slip 5-8 spots

So i think you guys have a good chance to get 2 of the above players if you don't get Caddy. IMO Caddy isn't exactly what you want to similar to Howlett, Hocking as bollocking, clearance, inside midfielder. You guys should throw your eggs at Travis Boak for next year, i think he fills the need far more as a class smooth moving midfielder with outside and inside qualities.

Good post keystone.

We threw all our eggs at Boak last year and could not get it done. Probably just as well too because it would have cost pick 8 and that ended up being Heppell. Funny how things work out.

I don't think it would be a consideration for the club that there was some duplication of talent with Howlett. He is a nice little player, especially considering he was a PSD pick, but does not have the tricks or class that Caddy has.

Minchington showed a fair bit near the end of the year but for mine better up the field. I do believe jetta and colyer are enough for now. There are some players in next years draft that will be good. Grigg could go anywhere from 8 to 25. Looked slow at testing but I remember thinking the same thing about Jordan Lewis when he was a kid. I reckon Sheridan can start off as a small back. Tallish good agility speed ok and good in the air. I prefer frost to Roberts. Take away a quarter and a half in the gf and Roberts had a barely passable finals series.
Eth-dog I have no problem with a difference of opinion however play the ball not the man I reckon. Small forwards are the hardest to judge for mine. I reckon we have more pressing needs at this point. Anastasio had spurts of good play however some matchups from opposition clubs on him were poor and he is the sort of player that you shouldn't let get goal side of you. Maric is similar but is actually a good mark for his size and clever however doesn't insert enough defensive pressure for mine. This inability has hurt his brother at afl level.

Who would you look at as a small forward Foj? Be interesting to hear your thoughts on a guy I mentioned a little later, Darren Minchington?

Any others you like, now that the messiah of state league small forwards is going to St.kilda.

I would think we need more midfielders that can work both inside and outside as we have far to many one dimensional players at Essendon, IMO.

Minchington showed a fair bit near the end of the year but for mine better up the field. I do believe jetta and colyer are enough for now. There are some players in next years draft that will be good. Grigg could go anywhere from 8 to 25. Looked slow at testing but I remember thinking the same thing about Jordan Lewis when he was a kid. I reckon Sheridan can start off as a small back. Tallish good agility speed ok and good in the air. I prefer frost to Roberts. Take away a quarter and a half in the gf and Roberts had a barely passable finals series.
Eth-dog I have no problem with a difference of opinion however play the ball not the man I reckon. Small forwards are the hardest to judge for mine. I reckon we have more pressing needs at this point. Anastasio had spurts of good play however some matchups from opposition clubs on him were poor and he is the sort of player that you shouldn't let get goal side of you. Maric is similar but is actually a good mark for his size and clever however doesn't insert enough defensive pressure for mine. This inability has hurt his brother at afl level.

Would you like to see Davey played as a small forward for another season?

What would you think are our greatest needs based on your opinion?

Some people think a small forward is just as pressing as more midfielders.

I think it just gives us a better chance of grabbing kerridge with our second rather than our first, other than that I'm liking markworth cos from all reports he can play forward and mid ala nat fyfe

ive had multiple looks at most of the players in this draft but is there something about Ross that makes him stand out to other people, he looks ok but not nearly good enough to go at pick 19 where i see alot better players available imo, can any experts like ant or any others give me more on ross and why we should pick him so early? cheers

Having a look through some of the draft profiles on the AFL website, one kid certainly caught my eye: Matthew Haynes. Looks like he can be compared to Polec in many ways from last year; tall, line-breaking midfielder who can push forward and kick a goal or two.

Thoughts HFF/Ant/foj/etc? Is he a realistic possibility of being available at our first pick?