AE 2012 Armchair Endzone - Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Woodson

Thank crap I have no life and browse these forums. Almost forgot my tips.
i must say, im not a fan of thursday night football at all. one thing I enjoy about the NFL is the compressed 1 day nature of the weekly schedule. it takes me back to when i was a kid up here in sydney when all but one of the 6 or 7 NSW rugby league matches were scheduled at 3pm on Sunday. Im sure the guys who are old enough down in Melbourne remember the same thing with VFL of a saturday. I'd religiously listen to the match of the round on the radio of a sunday arvo with the around the ground score updates and halftime and fulltime reports for a couple of hours. The move to a fragmented schedule of both the NRL and AFL across the entire weekend has made it difficult for to maintain interest in those leagues for me. Obviously the same thing won't completely happen in NFL due to HS & NCAA football on fridays and saturdays respectively, but i just cant get into these mid-week games at all yet.................as well as Fri being a shit diay for me to watch anything anyway.

and it is a farking bitch with regards to tips.

btw, nice job with the tipping page of the website JD. i was away last season so not sure if it was the same format, but it looks great and is simple to use.

cheers.

Just tried to select my 3xko and is only allowing me to do 2. Trying to take my 16, 15 and 14 but swaps when I select the 3rd one, leaving one blank?? Woodson or JeffDunne
Anyway, top 3 are my picks.

i must say, im not a fan of thursday night football at all. one thing I enjoy about the NFL is the compressed 1 day nature of the weekly schedule. it takes me back to when i was a kid up here in sydney when all but one of the 6 or 7 NSW rugby league matches were scheduled at 3pm on Sunday. Im sure the guys who are old enough down in Melbourne remember the same thing with VFL of a saturday. I'd religiously listen to the match of the round on the radio of a sunday arvo with the around the ground score updates and halftime and fulltime reports for a couple of hours. The move to a fragmented schedule of both the NRL and AFL across the entire weekend has made it difficult for to maintain interest in those leagues for me. Obviously the same thing won't completely happen in NFL due to HS & NCAA football on fridays and saturdays respectively, but i just cant get into these mid-week games at all yet.................as well as Fri being a shit diay for me to watch anything anyway.

and it is a farking bitch with regards to tips.

btw, nice job with the tipping page of the website JD. i was away last season so not sure if it was the same format, but it looks great and is simple to use.

cheers.

I reckon it's a sign of things to come too. In the past Fridays were the domain of high school football, Saturdays College and Sundays was for the Pros... We're now seeing College games being played on weekdays and Pro Football had it's first Wednesday night game in sixty odd years last week.

I predict that the NFL will follow the example set by other codes around the world and spread their games across more days of the week to increase the potential TV exposure and thus increase advertising and TV rights revenue.

Come at me JeffDunne.

Come out and play.......

tumblr_ljmnhhE5Ee1qd9yxso1_400.gif

I've given up trying to work out how to enter my 3XO tips. My 16 and 15 CR tips are my 3XO tips(already down 1).

Post #238 in this thread explains it. Following on from post #236 which shows you the complete CR list. Last week you didn't have your 3XKO submitted so we gave you the highest CR 16-15-14 defaults. NOrl dropped your first X. Still await for JD to gimme the check list for all on default Team rankings.

Just tried to select my 3xko and is only allowing me to do 2. Trying to take my 16, 15 and 14 but swaps when I select the 3rd one, leaving one blank?? Woodson or JeffDunne

Duly noted Manureid. JD says he'll be working on displaying the 3XKO selections on that '3XKO' tab which isn't activated yet. Hopefully that'll allow GG to follow up sooner than later.

I reckon it's a sign of things to come too. In the past Fridays were the domain of high school football, Saturdays College and Sundays was for the Pros... We're now seeing College games being played on weekdays and Pro Football had it's first Wednesday night game in sixty odd years last week.

I predict that the NFL will follow the example set by other codes around the world and spread their games across more days of the week to increase the potential TV exposure and thus increase advertising and TV rights revenue.

Gonna be a dumb move for if they dare go in that senile 'money grabbing' direction.:thumbsdown: It's an adjustment to adapt to TNF all season already, on the brink of 'losing interest'. Is the American NFL audience that F****** bored and impatient to be craving TNF all season long?
evilshake.gif

I can see the rationale for the defending champs to kick off the season on the opening Thursday (wednesday for the sake of f*** up political scheduling).. but persisting with the concept of weekday NFL is just loaded with logistical/ scheduling nightmares.

Huzzah my last sec change to GB worked !

It's funny how people see things differently, while you were flip flopping, I was making GB my KO!

Haha yeah i scored a whole 1 point from my flip flop, but better than none.

Post #238 in this thread explains it. Following on from post #236 which shows you the complete CR list. Last week you didn't have your 3XKO submitted so we gave you the highest CR 16-15-14 defaults. NOrl dropped your first X. Still await for JD to gimme the check list for all on default Team rankings.

Cheers. I've worked it out now. I've put a x on my 16 CR team, New England. I had Green Bay as my 15 CR. This will be counted as my other x right?

I've been in contact with Woodson and we'll have those default scores for missed tips sorted later today (around 4-5pm).

When it's been updated I'll get in touch with those effected. By tomorrow I'll have all the other updates done including ND matchups.

Gonna be a dumb move for if they dare go in that senile 'money grabbing' direction.:thumbsdown: It's an adjustment to adapt to TNF all season already, on the brink of 'losing interest'. Is the American NFL audience that F****** bored and impatient to be craving TNF all season long?
evilshake.gif

I can see the rationale for the defending champs to kick off the season on the opening Thursday (wednesday for the sake of f*** up political scheduling).. but persisting with the concept of weekday NFL is just loaded with logistical/ scheduling nightmares.

Agree completely Tones. The players find it hard enough to get up for games that are a week apart as it is and those doing the scheduling would surely have to take recovery time in to account when preparing fixtures?

Same for me. My picks are 15, 14 & 12.

It didn't happen earlier in the week, but only now when I decided to change my order around a bit. Has something changed between last night and earlier in the week when the 3XKO picks were first made available?

Don't forget that there's a Thursday Night Football game on tomorrow morning our time and be sure to have your tips in!

Looking at the "results" page for this week, there are a few that don't have any "dashes" hiding their selections which I assume are those that haven't selected anything yet... I think this because mine was blank, and now that I've done my selections I now have the dashes there...

So... it looks like albertonrob, applaps, Eagleoz83, matt_897, Reacher, statsman74, superfreak and swannies haven't made their selections yet...

I hope you're wrong on this, I definitely put my tips in and saved them. Will go and check...

All this stuff needs to be in the one spot on one site. Having 3 different sites is kind of annoying, especially for people who have been asked to join that don't even post on bigfooty.

In the perfect world where communication/ being on the same page, systematic processes are a HIGH priority, I agree wholeheartedly with one stop shop. But reality.. there are bits n' pieces that need to be stitched together. I think I'm providing the next best thing for everyone's convenience >> read: ongoing queries of WHERE to find the appropriate detail for comps.. no more scrolling thru the AE thread required.

I've received an email from JD today with some info regards the list of AE12 participants who have bothered/ remembered to submit their DEFAULT Team lists.
All 53 of them. Of the following who have NOT... they'll be subjective to the indicative 32-1 list of worst to best starting with the original draft order for first four weeks then the W-L order takes shape from Week 5.

On October 10-11th AEDST, these remaining 23 will be given a 48 hour window to submit their 1-32 list (if they choose to do so), whilst the other 53 who have already submitted can re-tweak their list thru the 'DEPTH chart' on the AE Tipping website.

The following are without a preference default team rankings list: (think of this list as a 'Thursday Night Football' saviour if you forget)

Arakaan
Bjtoby
Bloods 33
Burningleviathan
Camsmith
Dirty Bird
Eagleoz83
Manureid
Matt 897
McGarnacle
Megalomaniac
Mr E
NDG
pedge7
Quesara
Rasolnikov
Rory
Sodapop
Sergio Realm
Sven
TCol
Tannehill17
WADW

I'll be sending JD the list of 'adjustments' to be made to the week 2 picks.. i.e.: Moo GB 15CR << he had GB #1 and Chic #16, xHoskox GB 7CR he had GB #1 and Chic #8, Tannehill17 gets CHIC 1CR as a first time miss without DTR submitted, whilst Quesara gets CHI 6CR for forgetting TNF for the second time based on 32-1 draft order.

JD is looking to update the ND scores tab which like last season, will allow everyone updated to the second of the in-play scores as results are determined. Also the 3XKO adjustments like Sodapop & Manureid getting their third pick activated.

The XKO problem should now be fixed. Let me know if there's still problems.

I'll be working on the other issues today/tomorrow so let me know HERE if anyone's having issues (PM or thread).

On the issue of everything in the one place . . . it's coming . . . soon.

Everyone should notice a big difference by the time week 2 is over.

The XKO problem should now be fixed. Let me know if there's still problems.

I'll be working on the other issues today/tomorrow so let me know HERE if anyone's having issues (PM or thread).

On the issue of everything in the one place . . . it's coming . . . soon.

Everyone should notice a big difference by the time week 2 is over.

Mate, one place, three places, whatever, I'm grateful that you give up your time and skills for us - it's part of why AE is so damn good... Now if you could use your administration rights to change my points last week and restore my 3XKO that would be much appreciated.