AE 2012 Armchair Endzone - Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Woodson

Sorry for late response... internet down for much of the day... watched bits n' pieces of another Romo / Cowboy meltdown. 3XKO Showdown finalists already paid out! Will update rest over next 12-24 hours. Congrats to SUPERFREAK!! Expect a cyber ticket-parade soon..:thumbsu:
Gotta head out to pick up relo's from airport shortly who decided today is a good day to be in Oz.. :rolleyes: I'm exhausted as it is.

CRFinalTop10_zps3b188750.jpg

NFC South pride :D:thumbsu:
But this gives me more passion now, can't let a rival beat me out too often.

I must say Tones, huge thankyou to yourself and JD, and anyone else who contributes to running this comp and the AE website. Thoroughly enjoyed it, possibly because the Skins finally got to the playoffs again? :confused::D

Thanks again

I reckon you did - congrats
As soon as Atlanta and Houston lost ND was yours.
Cheers mate. Congrats on making it to the final. I changed from TB to ATL at the last minute and was kicking myself for doing so!

Just wanted to post a thankyou - primarily to Woodson, but also all of the others that have assisted/run the other competitions this year.

It certainly wasnt an easy year, and you guys collectively copped a lot of grief, but I can only thank you for all your hard work. I can honestly say I didnt have one software issue or similar, which unfortunately means my empty pockets are all due to my own poor efforts!

Thanks again, see you in 9 months!

Thanks for another great year to all. Some folk here need to realise that everyone that organises this from the commish, the board mod and the whole AE committee, as well as JD with the software, all work on this in their own time and with the other pressures of life getting in the way. These guys are long time BF American Football board contributors, not students with all the time in the world to do nothing and dependant on mummy and daddy for their next meal ticket.

Despite disappointing DUEL, LCS & CR campaigns, I still went deep in 3X and DROPZONE and was a chance right until the final weeks of both. That's the beauty of these comps. You can have an awful start to CR tipping year and still be rewarded with different competition concepts or get on a run later which still keep you in the hunt for something.

I missed last season due to other priorities, but already looking forward to 2013 and my 6th campaign. Best tipping comp of any sport or league and wouldnt be half as fun without the enthusiasm of the organisers.

Cheers.

The sad moment when it's all over and you've got nothing to show for it. On the bright side work is going to be delighted as I won't be looking at the scores every five minutes to see whether I'm going to win or not in ND. Such a roller coaster season from first eliminated in DZE to beating #1 and #2 overall CR in ND to just missing out on the money in HRS. I'm excited for 2013 to show I did deserve to win the division in ND.

On top of McGarnacle's post it's all the things we don't see that actually make this competition great. From all the PMs, spreadsheets, write ups, charts, pictures and website design - it just makes the season a lot more enjoyable.

Thanx for the positive feedback everyone. :thumbsu: Don't be too harsh on JD. He knows too well that he went 'AWOL' during the season and stated he feels 'BAD' about it in this mornings email. :eek: Which hopefully will be the 'TURN KEY MOMENT' for he has suggested access to the AE website.. for the AE Admin group (@PeterBuch74, GG and myself). Also got an offer from one of the Top Ten that he'll be willing to chip in with write ups which I'm quite grateful that others can step up and add something to the comp next season.

HARD LUCK STORY NOMINATIONS: To be posted to my PM Box and I'll sort them for a AE Group 'snap Vote' on a poll that will remain open until the Division week of the play-offs. Winner will get a copy of the 2013 NFL Bible and a choice two to four opponents to be in their division next season. Excluded from the HARD LUCK story are all 2012 prize money recipients.

And without further ado.. here's the last graphic/s for the 2012 campaign. Congrats to the WINNERS. Final Wrap on ae12clubhouse.com to follow.
AE12ChampAC83_zpse6632442.jpg
AE12PennantParade_zps1f177685.jpg

Cheers,
Tones

Thanks Woodson and everyone who assisted in the running of this great comp. To AC83, congratulations on the fairytale run I could only dream of. Fantastic campaign! Congratulations to all the other winners too, well deserved.

I got my moneys worth and can't wait for it all to begin next season but for now I can fully concentrate on my Seahawks winning the SB!

5th in overall CR - missing the money by 1 spot.
Final 8 in ND - missing the money by 1 round.
Knocked out in 3XKO the week before the final showdown.
Quarter finals in Last Man Standing.

C%2527Mon%2BMan.jpg

5th in overall CR - missing the money by 1 spot.
Final 8 in ND - missing the money by 1 round.
Knocked out in 3XKO the week before the final showdown.
Quarter finals in Last Man Standing.

C%2527Mon%2BMan.jpg

Fremantle Fan
Cleveland Browns Fan
Lives in Adelaide

Ever thought you chose to bring this hard luck upon yourself?

What's that? I couldn't hear you from way down there at 48th.
Sweet I'm 48th? Considering how much trouble I had getting about 60 I'm delighted.

Great comp, Woody! I used to do fantasy football and still play in a couple of confidence pools and one where you pick all games against the point spread. But THIS comp was my favorite...mainly because of it's uniqueness, but also the enthusiasm for it.....from dudes on the other side of the world! You boys have as much or more passion for this stuff than fans over here. Bravo! Will be in for next year (may even run a similar thing here).

In all honesty, NFL games are my least favorite to attend (drunks, fights, overpriced, commercial breaks)....but dig it on TV, and is the best in a low stakes gambling aspect like this (or high stakes....I hate Las Vegas, but if you ever go there during football season, spend a Sunday at one of the bigger hotels' sports book.....pretty fun). And the NFL playoffs is the only post season competition where everyone will watch, regardless of who's playing. Can't say that for the other sports. But games are dwindling.....and soon it'll be "Relationship Season." Oh, wait......AFL <2 months away! Bring it on! You boys run any similar competition on that?

Great comp, Woody! I used to do fantasy football and still play in a couple of confidence pools and one where you pick all games against the point spread. But THIS comp was my favorite...mainly because of it's uniqueness, but also the enthusiasm for it.....from dudes on the other side of the world! You boys have as much or more passion for this stuff than fans over here. Bravo! Will be in for next year (may even run a similar thing here).

In all honesty, NFL games are my least favorite to attend (drunks, fights, overpriced, commercial breaks).........and soon it'll be "Relationship Season." Oh, wait......AFL <2 months away! Bring it on! You boys run any similar competition on that?

Much appreciated Riggo and I'm glad you enjoyed the comp.
I agree with 'overpriced factor' regards attending live games... but only been to the season opener in 2010 which was an experience in itself. Who scalps their own ticket/s just with two hours remaining for an upgrade?

As for AFL tipping... Bucketss asked the same question last year and after getting some advice and doing his research ...to compete with the BF board head honchos comp... amongst other things would be too overwhelming with mass volume.

I certainly won't be running it but funnily enough that's how I started the 'in house tipping comps' back in the day in the early '80's with the VFL. Wrote up my weekly wrap on a homework like sheet of paper where 20 odd other guys would circulate the same piece of paper between themselves, fill in weekly picks (only 6 games) and have returned back to me Friday arvo. Never had any issues. Then after leaving High School did it by phone / drop in. That got abit too much at times.

Then fast fwd to mid '90's the AE was born under the name 'Endzone Sunday' which commenced with nine of us then expanded to 22 in the '96 season. Maybe one day I'll expand on this and do a multimedia piece with bits n' pieces of getting interviews from the original cast members and some of the fans I met at the ol' Crown Casino early in the morning. Great times and a bunch of laughs!!

Stoked to have won something, had no idea! Been in Thailand for about 2 weeks so haven't been able to use much net. So pumped for the game this week, praying that some of the sports bars here will be showing the game. A big thanks to those running AE and go hawks!