2013 DRAFT discussion thread: Rookie Draft complete

• Thread starter Thread starter RandB

He's got a big frame, very solid through the legs.

He's a powerful player already, he'll be a very strong lad in 5 years time.
Sounds brilliant then - love the kids that come in with strong core/lower body from the start.

Yeah that was the noted knock on his game but from what I saw I didn't think it was such a severe issue that he couldn't improve it enough to be competitive at AFL level. Agree with you on Salem v Freeman but again, I'll wait and see.

I probably have rose coloured glasses on here but the more I see of Tyson, the more impressed I am. Can't wait to see him play in the red and blue next year and I'll be very surprised if he doesn't live up to his potential. Has the skills, game sense and, very importantly for us, the size - great combination of height and build.
Tyson is a jet. Was traded this year before he walked next year.

Salem was the safe choice. He is wines in the Toumpas vs. Wines debate from 2012.

What I wouldn't give to have one more available spot on our list. With GWS having committed to taking Jed Lamb it would mean we'd have the first pick of what's left.

We have the 2nd pick in the rookie draft.

Yeah that was the noted knock on his game but from what I saw I didn't think it was such a severe issue that he couldn't improve it enough to be competitive at AFL level. Agree with you on Salem v Freeman but again, I'll wait and see.

I probably have rose coloured glasses on here but the more I see of Tyson, the more impressed I am. Can't wait to see him play in the red and blue next year and I'll be very surprised if he doesn't live up to his potential. Has the skills, game sense and, very importantly for us, the size - great combination of height and build.

The kids a star mate, this is coming from someone who is usually very coy about kids and draft picks. You know how early i can label a kid a dud.

I have not a bad word to say about Tyson. The 2011 State Championships was jaw dropping stuff. Jack Viney (who i know was a year younger than him at the time) wouldnt have been fit to shine his boots. He stood out that much. Labelled him Baby Matrix back then. If he gets over the injuries watch out.

He will be the best player at our club, thats right, you ****ing heard me, book it.

The kids a star mate, this is coming from someone who is usually very coy about kids and draft picks. You know how early i can label a kid a dud.

I have not a bad word to say about Tyson. The 2011 State Championships was jaw dropping stuff. Jack Viney (who i know was a year younger than him at the time) wouldnt have been fit to shine his boots. He stood out that much. Labelled him Baby Matrix back then. If he gets over the injuries watch out.

He will be the best player at our club, thats right, you ******* heard me, book it.
You heard it here first.

Is Salem a good mover? I realise he isn't the burst player like Freeman but he's still meant to be pretty quick isn't he?

Wouldnt say quick. Wont be seeing any burst away from the pack style stuff from him.

Kade Simpson, the best comparison to his style i would say.

Wouldnt say quick. Wont be seeing any burst away from the pack style stuff from him.

Kade Simpson, the best comparison to his style i would say.
Yeah fair enough. In his phantom Knightmare used the term "above average pace" but it is probably marginal.

I liked your Tyson comments, with a bit of height at 186cm too.

Yeah fair enough. In his phantom Knightmare used the term "above average pace" but it is probably marginal.

Yea, well you wouldnt call Simpson slow, but you wouldnt call him quick either, so yea, above average about right.

Looking back at some old posts i made about Tyson the other day, i said i would trade anyone (or any comboination of players) on our list not named Frawley or Clark for him a year and a half ago.

This isnt a love fest cause he is now wearing our jumper. I genuinely had a raging hard-on for him 2 years ago.

I've given up crystal ball gazing after the last decade, but I like the off season very much. The theme seems to be pick kids / trade for players that are hard at it and can use the ball. None of this 'one great attribute but a tonne of weaknesses that we can fix' rubbish. This is about getting 22 strong, capable players on the field that consider the footy MFC property. It won't make for an instant fix but at least the losses will be watchable, and if a couple of them step up a level then maybe September won't be something other teams do while we holiday.

I genuinely had a raging hard-on for him 2 years ago.

The Boner Recruitment Technique - employed by all good AFL recruiters.

Perhaps Prendergast was taking Viagra during his time at our club? Could explain a lot.

The Boner Recruitment Technique - employed by all good AFL recruiters.

Perhaps Prendergast was taking Viagra during his time at our club? Could explain a lot.

BP and i seem to have a different tastes in players. I get a stiffy over guys who can actually play.

Who do you like of who's left mate?

I can't find a list of psd available players - but Joel Tippet is one we might consider if he is still available in the second round of the rookie draft perhaps?

From what I've seen of Tyson, his height is an enormous plus. Allows him some great strength over the ball and in contests on the ground which I think is one of his greatest strengths. To repeat what I said a few pages ago, I honestly reckon he's our most talented midfielder. Freak and a half and a lot more impressive than Josh Kelly.

I absolute HATE when people say x player will play this amount of games, another x player will play THAT many games.

You just can't say that someone will be a 200 gamer, I have no doubt that people would've thought Cale Morton would've been a 200 gamer, 250 gamer if you want to push the boundaries, he went at a very high pick with the likes of Dangerfield, Cotchin, Rioli, etc... But we traded him to your mob for a bullshit pick, to play 3 games this year, then to be delisted on a whopping total of 76 games throughout his stellar career. Gee Cale, great 200+ game career you had!

Neale Daniher comes to my mind, only played 82 games in 11 seasons. Some say was the most talented Daniher, just couldn't get on the park :(

I believe it was pretty much consensus that Neil would have been the best of all the brothers if it hadn't been for his knee (I think it was a knee reco??)..

In today's time he would have barely missed 12 months and gone on to be a champion!

Tsitas, Battersby should be top of our list for rookie prospects.

Really smart and solid footballers, lack of athleticism is what hurt them - not effort.

Reckon Jetta will be our 4th round rookie pick.