List Mgmt. 2013 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

2013 draft prospect: Nick Bourke

Highlights

Bourke proves he has what it takes at combine
The highly-rated Geelong Falcons onballer was equal-fifth in the repeat sprints test, clocking 24.31 seconds for six 30-metre sprints.

He placed second in the Nathan Buckley kicking test, scoring 28 out of 30, one point behind the winner, his Falcons teammate James Tsitas.

He recorded 14.4 for the beep test, 10 minutes, 40 seconds for the three-kilometre run and 8.6 seconds for the agility test.

Bourke also completed interviews with five AFL clubs, giving him the first indication of where he could find himself come December.
Bourke proves he has what it takes at combine

Nick ready for Tassie footy challenge
Vic Country coach Mark Ellis said Bourke was a versatile player who made good decisions.

“He is a terrific young fella who has a lot of football ability and potential and works really hard on his game. He doesn’t just expect things to happen,” Ellis told The Standard.

“He’s certainly got all the qualities you would want of a young bloke who has a desire to play at a higher level.

Bourke’s top-age TAC Cup season was thrown into doubt when he dislocated his left shoulder twice during the AIS-AFL Academy’s showcase match against Collingwood’s VFL side at the MCG in March.

He was restricted to the role of supporter during the academy’s European trip which followed.

He had to let the injury heal naturally.
Nick ready for Tassie footy challenge

Tom's blog: AIS alpine adventure
Spotlight on: Nick Bourke. Unfortunately Nick dislocated his shoulder twice in our game against Collingwood last week, which has meant he hasn't done a lot of training while here. But that hasn't stopped him from being a real positive influence. He's one of my favourite blokes to hang with as he's always got a smile on his face and is up for a laugh.
Tom's blog: AIS alpine adventure

Who are the KPP's spruiked for next years draft?? if they are soo good, we should start looking at ways we can trade into the draft early.

I am looking at Collingwood and becoming really jealous with their 2 picks in the top 10.
I know. Jesuz they have good list management.

All the phantoms have Sheed slipping through to West Coast at 11, I just think that West Coast future midfield of Shuey & Gaff is a bit one paced so they might let him slide and opt for some pace, so is a small chance he gets to us.
But we don't need another extractor, we need some pacey outside mids (preferably with footskills) just like the weagles

I know. Jesuz they have good list management.
They're currently without a quality second tall forward after Cloke and are trying their best with Jesse White and Karnezis after Quinten Lynch failed. They also brought in Russell and Young which is sure to fail them too.

It's nothing to be envious of, of course they'd get draft picks if they lost premiership players like Dawes/Wellingham/Thomas/Shaw too...nothing any of us couldn't manufacture really. We'd have a good draft position if we sold off Gibbs, Simpson, Walker.

Pies have pick ten because they lost to Port. Plus the Crows and Essendon lost their picks due to their cheating*.

*Waits for Essendon's lawyers.

They'd rather have Thomas than pick six who to a degree, is still an unknown commodity and no guarantee to be an AA player.

WC didn't give up pick six because 11 is a mile away from being a best 22 player.

Hope we use all our picks in the national draft to rule out Carlton taking Thorp in the PSD. People will still spin it and push for the player the Dogs have ruled out taking. Happens every year with supporters thinking talent and/or needs are more important than attitude. Dogs overlooked Garlett last year in spite of the fact they could do with this type of player.

Since when did the Dogs become any sort of benchmark. But yeah hope we stay clear of Garlett & Thorpe, clearly they have the capability to tear our club apart...

Joel Tippett's highlights clip is now on AFL.com.au...pretty damn impressive. Any SANFL watchers want to bring me back to reality though?

If we were to go with a midfielder with our first round selection, and maybe second round too, I reckon Tippett is worth a look at our third/fourth round pick. For a bloke at 197cm, he is quite quick, has a pretty good leap on him and decent kicking. More than happy to take him on with a late pick

They're good but things did fall well for them last year and again with WC this year.

You have to work hard to get lucky for sure, but you won't get 19 & 20 for Wellingham and Dawes again. Even the Saints and Melbourne have got smarter now.
Nor will you get a high draft pick for a free agent, that will be out the window soon enough after the Buddy/Sylvia/Thomas debacle. Amazing that anyone thought it was a good idea, especially tying it to ladder position. But it was Vlad's bright idea, so it figures.

Given we just traded out an amigo I can't see us getting another in. Would be shocked if we drafted Garlett.

Think he would be worth the risk if your best small forward was Alwyn Davies though.

Well then he's a couple of years late for the drug party that went down at windy hill.
Oh wait sorry, they were taken off site for that :rolleyes:

Joel Tippett's highlights clip is now on AFL.com.au...pretty damn impressive. Any SANFL watchers want to bring me back to reality though?

#13 Crouch/Freeman/Dunstan

#39 - anyones guess

#51 is where id pull the trigger on Tippett.

#69 Conlon

# after that meh.

Yes its a bit early for Tippett, but we have added a 194cm Fwd/wing utility.

A great up and coming hbf with pace, composure and a laser boot.

A midfielder who not 2 years ago was touted as being in the top half dozen players in the league.

As i've stated before our problem isnt forward, its our backline where our best forward is being wasted there, Tippett down back..... Hendo >>>>>>>>>> Thorp.

we've had a corka of a trade period, apart from the first 2 picks lets reach to ensure we get what we need.

no need Zee he'll be a great get if we get him, had a fantastic year.

If Freeman falls to our pick I'd find it hard to read out his name quick enough. Lightening speed, incredible acceleration, and good decision making. Kicking lets him down, however is exactly what we could do with.

Freeman/Acres/Dunstan are the three I would love. I just don't feel Crouch is the best fit for us.