2014 Non Eagles Discussions Thread

Not Selwood's biggest fan, he seems to be a bit of a sore loser (not entirely his fault, he holds some sore of record for games won as a player - really hasn't had to learn how to lose). But Geelong - man, you don't remember the 90's? Loving Geelong is un-Eagle like behaviour. Next you'll be all over Essendon or something!
Of course I hate them when we play them! We beat them twice in GF's in the 90's, I think they would hate us more!
As a neutral though I usually find myself barracking for Geelong. Selwood is a great captain, just wills himself to win and drags the team with him. I don't think a captain who hates losing is a bad thing.

Essendon and all their Hirdashian supporters can die for all I care. Same with Carlton, Freo and Sydney.

The Nose is cooked. He should re-think his commitment to next year, he's only going to hold Freo back.

Problem is who do they play as their key forward then? Their options are
Michael Apeness - kid
Griffin - Rumours he wants a trade
Gumbleton - Perma-injured
Taberner -kid
Tanner Smith - kid
Mayne - Is a medium forward
Alex Pearce - kid
Kepler Bradley - LOL
Zac Clarke - Will be replacing Sandilands soon
Hannath - Is a ruck
Moller - Also a ruck

Freo are going to have to pull a rabbit out of a hat or hope one of their kids suddenly becomes good

Of course I hate them when we play them! We beat them twice in GF's in the 90's, I think they would hate us more!

They don't have the right to hate anything anymore - they've had more than enough sunshine in their lives :straining:

Selwood is a great captain, just wills himself to win and drags the team with him. I don't think a captain who hates losing is a bad thing.

Heh, fair call, at some level, I suspect I'm just jealous we didn't get that Selwood. Still can't bring myself to like him though, what with the media constantly pumping his tyres up (and studiously ignoring his ducking while turning around to call Shuey a cheat), and his little hissy fits every time something doesn't go his way.

Problem is who do they play as their key forward then? Their options are
Freo are going to have to pull a rabbit out of a hat or hope one of their kids suddenly becomes good

You're not wrong - they don't really have options, but the problem with Pav is his lack of defensive work, which until now he's compensated for with attacking ability, but as that drops off he becomes a liability.

I think they need to go backwards to go forward.

You're not wrong - they don't really have options, but the problem with Pav is his lack of defensive work, which until now he's compensated for with attacking ability, but as that drops off he becomes a liability.

I think they need to go backwards to go forward.

Problem is they are in premiership mode now, with the age of their list they can't afford to go back as they will be needing a rebuild in the very near future anyway.

Massive lols at facebook friends melting down on facebook over the freo game.

Such joy.

It's glorious, I had one Freo flog try to tell me they had been the better side for the last 7 years, only for me to point out we'd finished ahead of them in 4 of those years.

At least a few :D

On a side note it's becoming quite noticeable he's in rapid decline. His last year and a half he's been a shadow of the player he once was bar the odd good game. Wouldn't surprise me if he pulled the pin before the end of next year.
Do you reckon it is because of Ross' game style?

It tends to take its toll on players and Pavlich appears to be one.

I like pav, just played for the wrong team!

I think Roughead will get off.

Hawthorn are a far better side than Freo, who I don't give much of a chance. Geelong aren't playing that great either and Collingwood shouldn't trouble them.

64.06 carryover points. He's cooked unless the charge is deemed 'insufficient force' or however they term it.

As much as I enjoyed Purpleshite losing, with the Pavnose poster the cherry on top, I'm worried that they are now back at the level of intensity they had 12 months ago. I think Lyon may have put a heavy training load on them around the time of their bye and in the last week tapered it off. Also, even I would acknowledge that in the first half the umps really did a number on them.

They'll be a real chance against a Hawks side with no Roughead/Gunston. It means the likely loss of McPharlin won't be such a factor. Hawks will probably resort to Schoenmakers in the forwardline and that won't frighten anyone.

Brian Lake will be available. Hope he plays and snots Ballantyne.

Freo did have the intensity up today , but they always play well against Geelong. I think they knew this was the big one to try and get top 2.

They should still finish top 4 regardless, so long as they beat Port in the last round.

Intensity was up but still th same crap game plan. They honestly believe they will win the flag with that foward line lol

And massive amount of ducking by Freo last nite...Where are all the hypocrites now ???

Intensity was up but still th same crap game plan. They honestly believe they will win the flag with that foward line lol

And massive amount of ducking by Freo last nite...Where are all the hypocrites now ???

Suban, Ballantyne, Crowley and Walters are known stagers and looks like Crozier has learned those same tricks

Yep they sure aren't :( ^ . Hope they improve in the second quarter to limit the damage , and that Richmond , North or both do us a favour in the next couple of weeks

It's glorious, I had one Freo flog try to tell me they had been the better side for the last 7 years, only for me to point out we'd finished ahead of them in 4 of those years.

I love how they stopped at 7 years, the year after we won the flag.

Nope, don't like their % booster, could come down to percentage at the end!
Brisbane have been woeful ... even more so since the crows are reduced by two on the bench.
I do hope that Brissie knock some of that percentage boost back.

Brisbane have been woeful ... even more so since the crows are reduced by two on the bench.
I do hope that Brissie knock some of that percentage boost back.
105 points, Brissie deserve the spoon, they earned it.

No Brissie won't get the spoon , they've been too good /won too many games
Glad we limited the impact of Adelaide's % boost by boosting our own % whilst reducing Collingwood's :)

No Brissie won't get the spoon , they've been too good /won too many games
Glad we limited the impact of Adelaide's % boost by boosting our own % whilst reducing Collingwood's :)
St Kilda would have to be odds on for it now. Melb and GWS play each other so one of them will notch up another win. Saints get Sydney, Richmond and Adelaide.

I'm certainly a Richmond fan next week. Seems like the one doable result that could make things slightly easier for us.

Whether we make finals or not I'm not too fussed, but if we can keep the door open going into Rnd 23 (where we face an easier opponent, also in contention, compared to the likes of Collingwood & Richmond), that would be thrilling. My worst fear is the likes of Hawthorn and Sydney resting a bunch of players in Rnd 23.