2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

Can any of you guys give me a bit of a rundown as to what this comp is like. How would it compere to MacKay or Cairns comps?

Not sure, what is the Mackay or Cairns comp like ??

One thing I do know, is that we don't drink as much VB on Mad Monday as you blokes !!

Cairns saints would not play finals in qafl. Cairns has been belted the last two times the stockman have played them!

Agree, these comps would be a class below the QAFL comp. More likely would be competitive with the division below,and that is against the bottom 5 clubs in this comp.....

So when Nth QLD beat Sth QLD the south side must have been made up of bottom 5 teams only.

Maroochydore Australian Football Club - QFA (North) Competition
The Maroochydore Roos are currently seeking expressions of interest for the following coaching positions:
  • Senior Assistant / Development Coaches 2015
  • Reserve Grade Coach 2015
  • Reserve Grade Assistant Coach 2015
  • Colts/U19 Coach 2015
  • Colts/U19 Assistant Coach 2015
All interested applicants should forward a letter of "Expression of Interest" accompanied by your coaching credentials to Brendan Mason, Football Manager, Maroochydore AFC (coach@maroochydoreroos.com)

For any further information please contact Brendan directly on 0439 434 223.

All Expression of interest must be received no later than 10/10/2014

Panthers just to good, but we all pretty well knew that 6 months ago.! Well done to them, one had to appreciate the way they played the game today being very good in all facets.
Seddon for Labrador bags 10 goals , all in the second half,,,, amazing effort for a midfielder.
Crowd looked like it was going to be a little poor, but a lot of spectators rolled up just before game start, and I would predict a crowd of some 1600 to 1700. The Yeronga ground has a fantastic surface, but geez it lacks atmosphere, runs east to west where 90% of grounds run north to south which avoids the sun in the eyes and finding a park is a battle.The idea of the brass band playing a short tune every time a goal was kicked was something new.They certainly earned their money in the last quarter where some 16 goals were kicked.!! haha.
Anyway, another season gone, now we will have silly season to talk about.!!!!

Must say, that 10 goal second half performance by Seddon, is a incredible feat.Yes, the game was won by Morningside at half time, but the things Seddon did against still a tough Morningside defence, was something out of the bag.He just rose above the occasion, a exceptional effort.Will become folklaw in QAFL Grand Final history.

Big Wins from both the Morningside Teams.

Next season the QAFL need to set a clear indication of which is their Premium League in Queensland. It's either the QAFL or the QWAFL.

Can not believe the QAFL officials where rushing Morningside players off the field after presentation, because the women where coming onto the field. (All due to poor time tabling) Absolute disgraceful sending the security guards out to usher off the Grand Final Winners. No time for a Victory Lap, No time to go over and thank their supporters. Get off the field!!!

Big Wins from both the Morningside Teams.

Next season the QAFL need to set a clear indication of which is their Premium League in Queensland. It's either the QAFL or the QWAFL.

Can not believe the QAFL officials where rushing Morningside players off the field after presentation, because the women where coming onto the field. (All due to poor time tabling) Absolute disgraceful sending the security guards out to usher off the Grand Final Winners. No time for a Victory Lap, No time to go over and thank their supporters. Get off the field!!!

Totally agree. The leagues obsession with the promotion of QWAFL is one thing however the actions and influence it is having on QAFL is becoming embarrassing. Finals fixturing, Grogan Medal night and security ushering off the Panthers. Even heard that a drawn GF would be replayed the next day so QWAFL time would not be affected. Shameful if true.. Time for a rethink .

There are more participants in 9 a side football. What next. Play their grand final between reserves and seniors?

So when Nth QLD beat Sth QLD the south side must have been made up of bottom 5 teams only.

Not quite. The South QLD side was made up of players from Division 3 and Division 4.

If it were the bottom 5 teams from the QAFL, it would have been a bloodbath..

I've been talking about this for a while, and you could see where they decided to rank them when the AFLQ Fixture List rates QWAFL the 2nd most important comp.

Sorry, but in terms of quality and watchability - it ranks below U/16 Div 2.

Just another stuff0up in a long list of them from AFLQ this year. The relentless pursuit of interest in QWAFL is admirable, but it should not come at the expense of the the mens game.

If its any good as a product, it will stand on its own two feet.

I've been talking about this for a while, and you could see where they decided to rank them when the AFLQ Fixture List rates QWAFL the 2nd most important comp.

Sorry, but in terms of quality and watchability - it ranks below U/16 Div 2.

Just another stuff0up in a long list of them from AFLQ this year. The relentless pursuit of interest in QWAFL is admirable, but it should not come at the expense of the the mens game.

If its any good as a product, it will stand on its own two feet.

QAFWL quality and watchability ranking below U/16 Div 2 is unfair to Junior footy. A fairer comparison would be Auskick, and their officials and umpires could run out at half-time of the seniors with temporary goal posts and play for 10 minutes.
Umpires for women entering ground before set-up post GF for Joe Grant Medal and presentation of premiership possibly the most disrespectful act I have seen at footy - so wrong on many levels !

That was bad !! Extremely bad in fact. The umpire holding the ball aloft demanding for the siren to be blown as a time warning siren. Surely the umpire could see what was going on and should have waited. Time schedules should have gone out the window in regards to game start times, it was Grand Final day. Also, not allowing spectators on to the ground, not even to get around the team they are supporting at 1/4 and 3/4 time huddles, ridiculous. There was no problem the week before in the NEAFL grand final. AFLQ trying to bring in more and more rules to footy at a state league level, when it should be open and welcoming, as QLD has a long way to go in developing the game. Do these guys running it really understand where the game is at in QLD, cos I get the feeling they think they are running the AFL.

And what was with the running of the "Grand Final Sprint" ?? That just made AFLQ look more farcical than they already did. Could no-one organise a starter's gun in the lead up to the grand final ?? The men's race looked like they were using staggered start times ?? The guy in the morningside jersey gave everyone 30 metres head start and still nearly won. No way the Sherwood player should have won, he took off so much earlier than everyone else. Womens race was just as bad, with no one knowing what was going on, and runners just taking off when they felt like it.

That was bad !! Extremely bad in fact. The umpire holding the ball aloft demanding for the siren to be blown as a time warning siren. Surely the umpire could see what was going on and should have waited. Time schedules should have gone out the window in regards to game start times, it was Grand Final day. Also, not allowing spectators on to the ground, not even to get around the team they are supporting at 1/4 and 3/4 time huddles, ridiculous. There was no problem the week before in the NEAFL grand final. AFLQ trying to bring in more and more rules to footy at a state league level, when it should be open and welcoming, as QLD has a long way to go in developing the game. Do these guys running it really understand where the game is at in QLD, cos I get the feeling they think they are running the AFL.

And what was with the running of the "Grand Final Sprint" ?? That just made AFLQ look more farcical than they already did. Could no-one organise a starter's gun in the lead up to the grand final ?? The men's race looked like they were using staggered start times ?? The guy in the morningside jersey gave everyone 30 metres head start and still nearly won. No way the Sherwood player should have won, he took off so much earlier than everyone else. Womens race was just as bad, with no one knowing what was going on, and runners just taking off when they felt like it.
agree with all points wasnt great! good on the Panthers though

Not sure why they don't play the Womens GF as the curtain raiser to the NEAFL GF (when played in SEQ of course). The Colts comp has very little to do with NEAFL footy and far more to do with QAFL footy. A day of Colts, 2's and senior QAFL footy would make a ripper day and the girls could showcase their stuff before a sizeable crowd as well.
Reckon the AFLQ have to be really really careful they don't get their core supporter base off side at the expense of trying to find a new one. The AFL are only just realising this and starting to revert a few decisions back at the top level. No issues with girls footy being played and promoted in line with the guys footy, but don't make it the main show unless one day data shows you that it actually is!
Agree - few decisions they mucked up badly this year, this sounds like one of them. Saying this they are kow towing to a lot of different interests as well.

As for the GF sprint - there is a saying in business isn't there - if you are going to do something then make sure you do it well...

Lastly and on this point pretty passionate - wtf is wrong with letting supporters onto the ground? Agree that you shouldn't be allowed to take alcohol on, glass etc but this is local footy, lets not pretend it is anything more. Players love it, coaches love it, supporters love it, yep it can knock around time lines trying to get ppl off each break but too bad, too sad. I think the AFLQ need a marketing man to come and tell them that it is about the experience which is made up of a whole heap of different things like toilet faciltities, access to food/drink, kicking a footy on the oval at breaks, listening to huddles, watching good quality footy.
I went to a SANFL match Norwood v Pt Adelaide 2 yrs ago and you could go out to the huddles!! Lets not get ahead of ourselves too much AFLQ.

Totally agree SMY. Look at the crowd numbers at the SANFL games as well. QLD footy as a whole has a very unhealthy fascination with trying to protect their grounds, cancelling or moving games if it rains, and yesterday stopping fans going on the ground. Really do not understand that one. It's grass, it will grow back.

As for the women's game, I hung around to watch the first quarter. Got a surprise with how most of them attacked the footy, certainly went at it. Kicking skills were non-existent and not many read the flight of the ball real well, but overall was better than I expected. Certainly a couple of standouts for both teams. Was good to see they had a bit of a crowd sticking around to watch their game as well.

I'm surprised they didn't lock you in and make you watch the WHOLE DAMN GAME!

You WILL watch it, and you WILL enjoy it damn you!

Well done to the Panthers on winning AFLQ's 2nd tier Flag, and congrats to Coorparoo for winning the top tier :)

Not sure why they don't play the Womens GF as the curtain raiser to the NEAFL GF (when played in SEQ of course). The Colts comp has very little to do with NEAFL footy and far more to do with QAFL footy. A day of Colts, 2's and senior QAFL footy would make a ripper day and the girls could showcase their stuff before a sizeable crowd as well.
Reckon the AFLQ have to be really really careful they don't get their core supporter base off side at the expense of trying to find a new one. The AFL are only just realising this and starting to revert a few decisions back at the top level. No issues with girls footy being played and promoted in line with the guys footy, but don't make it the main show unless one day data shows you that it actually is!
Agree - few decisions they mucked up badly this year, this sounds like one of them. Saying this they are kow towing to a lot of different interests as well.

As for the GF sprint - there is a saying in business isn't there - if you are going to do something then make sure you do it well...

Lastly and on this point pretty passionate - wtf is wrong with letting supporters onto the ground? Agree that you shouldn't be allowed to take alcohol on, glass etc but this is local footy, lets not pretend it is anything more. Players love it, coaches love it, supporters love it, yep it can knock around time lines trying to get ppl off each break but too bad, too sad. I think the AFLQ need a marketing man to come and tell them that it is about the experience which is made up of a whole heap of different things like toilet faciltities, access to food/drink, kicking a footy on the oval at breaks, listening to huddles, watching good quality footy.
I went to a SANFL match Norwood v Pt Adelaide 2 yrs ago and you could go out to the huddles!! Lets not get ahead of ourselves too much AFLQ.
Couldn't agree more on this last point (agree with the others too but not as passionately). Listening to the coaches at the breaks, encouraging the players, kids out kicking the footy around, that's what grassroots footy is all about. The QFA GF was a great example at Coorparoo, crowds were allowed on. 3/4 time of the ressies game with scores locked up the huddles were the place to be, listening to the how the coaches were going to get them over the line, great stuff and that should always be allowed to happen. Sure there will be an occasion when you get someone with too much mid strength on board and a bee in his bonnet that will disrupt things but geez that's one in a hundred. C'mon AFLQ listen to the people.

yeah i was dissapointed that i couldnt get out for a listen and post game was worse!!

They could have played the Womens game on Oval 2, so as to not interrupt the Siders well deserved celebrations.

But that would be too much common sense. After all, other leagues GF's and Prelims were pushed onto the little oval - and they can actually kick the ball more than 30m!

I went to the Nepean football league gf on Saturday. There would have been 2k there. They allowed the crowd out onto the ground at qtr time 3/4 time and for the presentation for all 3 grades. Aflq are towing some line

But I think it would have to come back to when craig obrien a dad went and abused the umpires at qtr of the 2011 pic gf