2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

So the question is what is to be done to fix the enormous problems that plague Qld footy? No good pointing out the problems we need solutions and quickly.

LAB, true,,,, but we cant make the decisions can we. Obviously as you and all of us know, the problem is with the employees of the NEAFL/QAFL ,,,, just have the wrong people there.I think the heirachy(AFL) needs to appoint 2 or 3 people that are or have been in CEO/General Manager positions in major comps down south, eg The O&M,GVFL, EDFL, GFL . These guys know grass roots footy backwards and would get the house in order in QLD without doubt.Yes, easier said then done,,,, that is the issue.
Currently, Conlan and his crew have put QLD footy into a huge mess, its all over the place,from NEAFL level down to QAFL and the lower divisions.

Stuyd1 all the leagues can reinvent themselves and become democratic leagues run by themselves again, it will take courage but is possible.
Maybe the presidents of all clubs should get together and identify what changes to current league policies should be made and put their proposals to Conlan & Co. Maybe if the league saw a united front from the clubs, they would be more inclined to act as a matter of urgency.

Twinkle toes, you are correct in your proposal, but in the end whatever is put forward will be dismissed by the appointed public servant for his reason without any accountability.A larger show of force is needed to change the culture at Yeronga.These are not men of integrity they are people using their influence to create desired outcomes.

There is plenty to talk about over the off season...the saving grace is the football that gets played for 2 hrs on a Saturday, Morningside, lab, PBC lions, Aspley, Redlands, sharks and co keep us going to the footy, and the lower divs aswell. The end review at Yeronga would be interesting. You surely would think they will acknowledge the set backs of this yr, headlined by State footy at senior level, the Grogan medal and the debacle QAFL GF at Yeronga. The positive definitely was the Neafl Gf and the QldU15's (Team of the Yr)
Solutions are hard to come up with, forget the Neafl, that's run by the AFL, but I think it's future is questionable in its current format. The Box Hill debacle in the VFL GF will ensure something is done to second tier footy.
The QAFL is another thing, the clubs must stick fat, it's almost like back in the day when Griffiths ran the comp and a lot of the the decisions were made in conjunction with the clubs.
State footy IMO should be the weekend when development is shelved, HQ should research the clubs player lists from the previous yr and early on in the current yr and then put a state game program together that gives us every chance of competing, not showing total disregard for the maroon jumper and the people wearing it by playing the Vic Amos at Burpengary just because of a ground agreement. The state game should be a chance to give back to the clubs and that includes the neafl clubs. Outside of Aspley this yr, Redlands put on the best gf in recent memory nt v panthers. A day at Redlands footy is great, reward those type of clubs for there efforts, not to mention the game against Vic Amos had to be played on the smallest ground we had access too to allow us to compete.
I'd have no doubt the Grogan Medal next yr will revert back to the old format, it's the Grogan yet there were 25 awards presented. Am all for women's footy but they will have there own night next yr and rightly so. It's the biggest part of the AFL business currently and it's only going north. Problem is that if the girls weren't at the Grogan it would have struggled to fill the room which would be a worry.
The QAFL if promoted as a community comp got it horribly wrong at the GF. No QAFL team even plays at Yeronga. Time to take the GF back to the Clubs. Clearly Broadbeach on the Coast is club of choice to host, with numerous Bris clubs capable of putting on a great day. The O&M GF should be the template as mentioned above I think.
Just my thoughts.

There is plenty to talk about over the off season...the saving grace is the football that gets played for 2 hrs on a Saturday, Morningside, lab, PBC lions, Aspley, Redlands, sharks and co keep us going to the footy, and the lower divs aswell. The end review at Yeronga would be interesting. You surely would think they will acknowledge the set backs of this yr, headlined by State footy at senior level, the Grogan medal and the debacle QAFL GF at Yeronga. The positive definitely was the Neafl Gf and the QldU15's (Team of the Yr)
Solutions are hard to come up with, forget the Neafl, that's run by the AFL, but I think it's future is questionable in its current format. The Box Hill debacle in the VFL GF will ensure something is done to second tier footy.
The QAFL is another thing, the clubs must stick fat, it's almost like back in the day when Griffiths ran the comp and a lot of the the decisions were made in conjunction with the clubs.
State footy IMO should be the weekend when development is shelved, HQ should research the clubs player lists from the previous yr and early on in the current yr and then put a state game program together that gives us every chance of competing, not showing total disregard for the maroon jumper and the people wearing it by playing the Vic Amos at Burpengary just because of a ground agreement. The state game should be a chance to give back to the clubs and that includes the neafl clubs. Outside of Aspley this yr, Redlands put on the best gf in recent memory nt v panthers. A day at Redlands footy is great, reward those type of clubs for there efforts, not to mention the game against Vic Amos had to be played on the smallest ground we had access too to allow us to compete.
I'd have no doubt the Grogan Medal next yr will revert back to the old format, it's the Grogan yet there were 25 awards presented. Am all for women's footy but they will have there own night next yr and rightly so. It's the biggest part of the AFL business currently and it's only going north. Problem is that if the girls weren't at the Grogan it would have struggled to fill the room which would be a worry.
The QAFL if promoted as a community comp got it horribly wrong at the GF. No QAFL team even plays at Yeronga. Time to take the GF back to the Clubs. Clearly Broadbeach on the Coast is club of choice to host, with numerous Bris clubs capable of putting on a great day. The O&M GF should be the template as mentioned above I think.
Just my thoughts.

Nice get Dog! This result doesn't get splashed around on the AFLQ site bc it is not aligned with the AFL per se but is the real start of rep footy for these boys. Being involved with that side, I can tell you the boys were an absolute ripper bunch, some kids who if you had a draft for 15's this year would pick themselves in the top 20 (in fact 1 boy, Tom Fullarton, I could near guarantee would go #1, best player in the country right now for this age group) and just a great group. To finish 2nd to a combined Vic side by 2 kicks and to smash WA and SA were real highlights for the lads.
The real tester though is their improvement from 2014 to 2017. This is always Qlds big let down imo. A few years back we had a State 15's side that rolled Vic Metro in the National champs, a side that consisted of half a doz boys that are now drafted including Lachie Whitfield- our contribution is 1, Clay Cameron I think. Can't say that i agree with LAB and Stuy that Qld footy is all bad atm - there are good things happening but unfortunately there are some really stupid decisions that put ppls noses out of join (and rightly so re the QAFL GF balls up and the Grogan). The conference footy was fine, good GF days, seemed that there were a few clubs below this winning games if not premierships for the 1st time. It wasn't going to be sorted in a year. The O&M may be the model for GF day but its a shit comp when only a couple of sides know they can win the thing - is this a good option??

Nice get Dog! This result doesn't get splashed around on the AFLQ site bc it is not aligned with the AFL per se but is the real start of rep footy for these boys. Being involved with that side, I can tell you the boys were an absolute ripper bunch, some kids who if you had a draft for 15's this year would pick themselves in the top 20 (in fact 1 boy, Tom Fullarton, I could near guarantee would go #1, best player in the country right now for this age group) and just a great group. To finish 2nd to a combined Vic side by 2 kicks and to smash WA and SA were real highlights for the lads.
The real tester though is their improvement from 2014 to 2017. This is always Qlds big let down imo. A few years back we had a State 15's side that rolled Vic Metro in the National champs, a side that consisted of half a doz boys that are now drafted including Lachie Whitfield- our contribution is 1, Clay Cameron I think. Can't say that i agree with LAB and Stuy that Qld footy is all bad atm - there are good things happening but unfortunately there are some really stupid decisions that put ppls noses out of join (and rightly so re the QAFL GF balls up and the Grogan). The conference footy was fine, good GF days, seemed that there were a few clubs below this winning games if not premierships for the 1st time. It wasn't going to be sorted in a year. The O&M may be the model for GF day but its a shit comp when only a couple of sides know they can win the thing - is this a good option??

Not being let on the field after a GF win is rough, and not a good decision. But I still don't get what the gripes are that people have with the Grogan night? I thought it was a great night.

From what I'm reading, it's not just the qafl gf and the grogan medal that has caused concern this year. As for the statement re conference footy, reckon many would disagree, everyone knew very early in the season who would be premiers in those two comps. Might take a while to sort itself out, as you said, but that's no consolation to the rest of the clubs in those 2 competitions and this seems to be the point you don't understand. It makes it incredibly hard to keep the faith, recruit, encourage your juniors and sponsors and supporters when you know that there is one club in your division that are invincible. Easy to say, ah well, hang on for a couple of seasons and things will even out, but some clubs are going to suffer enormously in the meantime. Clubs need to maintain some level of opportunity to their players/ members of achieving the ultimate but you can't do that when you're playing against a side that is a class or two above the rest. And don't tell me about choice! One specific club didn't have the choice of divisions, the leagues regulations ( pillars ) dictated what division they had to play in.
The bottom line is, all everyone wants to see is a fair crack at things and to be able to enjoy their footy at all levels.

From what I'm reading, it's not just the qafl gf and the grogan medal that has caused concern this year. As for the statement re conference footy, reckon many would disagree, everyone knew very early in the season who would be premiers in those two comps. Might take a while to sort itself out, as you said, but that's no consolation to the rest of the clubs in those 2 competitions and this seems to be the point you don't understand. It makes it incredibly hard to keep the faith, recruit, encourage your juniors and sponsors and supporters when you know that there is one club in your division that are invincible. Easy to say, ah well, hang on for a couple of seasons and things will even out, but some clubs are going to suffer enormously in the meantime. Clubs need to maintain some level of opportunity to their players/ members of achieving the ultimate but you can't do that when you're playing against a side that is a class or two above the rest. And don't tell me about choice! One specific club didn't have the choice of divisions, the leagues regulations ( pillars ) dictated what division they had to play in.
The bottom line is, all everyone wants to see is a fair crack at things and to be able to enjoy their footy at all levels.

Would argue TT that EVERY year, no matter what the comp structure is, there are always only 2-3 sides that can legitimately win it. 2013 in the QAFL was no different - everyone knew Springwood and PBC would play off pretty early, in the NEAFL everyone knew Labrador, Mt Gravatt etc were going to be terrible. The thing is that this year there have been some different sides win a GF - Pumas and Mayne, Roosters, etc - whats so bad about that?? If we kept the same structure as last year then PBC would have demolished everyone again (most coin). What I think many of you guys don't get at all is that what you are wishing for is not possible - a comp that has 10 sides vying for a finals spot - just doesn't happen. The QAFL was really competitive footy this year from my understanding - blokes wrote on this forum each week just how much fun it was compared to years gone by. Who cares if the Panthers are a fair bit better right now. Happens in comps all around Aust that you will have a team that has won 6 of the last 8 premierships.

Ironically a comp like the O&M is put up as a model of how to go about it!!!! Crap "competition" in reality - everyone knows who is going to be at the pointy end in january in this part of the woods. Just bc they run a good GF day doesn't make it a well run comp. Blokes playing bs "fill in" games here and there as "fundraisers", clubs spending $300K + on players whilst others would spend a fraction of this. Think there are issues in that comp as well.
Are you really telling me TT that both Mayne and Springwood are that far in front of everyone else??? Think there would be Noosa ppl telling you right now that they feel they were 1 decent footballer away from beating them (2x) this year incl the GF. Mayne were losing at 3/4 time. The issue the AFLQ has is they put everyone from competing clubs into a room and everyone is a brain surgeon when telling ppl what the problems are, not too many want to come up with a solution that is for all! Might fix their little problem in their little part of the world. Maybe a Gold Coast comp, like LAB said, would be a good idea but not sure how you "sell" this to Cooly who would get demolished every week so certainly 1 club might not be on board. Up our way we still struggle for a pathway for our best kids / players unless they want to make a 2hr round trip to Brisbane 3x / wk. Tough ask. Jed Turner did it this year at Aspley - had an outstanding year too but pressure on work no doubt and must have been draining for him. Not something you can do for 5+ years imo.

Anyway just think that we have to be careful not to throw the baby out with the bath water. If the QAFL GF had been done better then this discussion probably wouldn't have been raised but as any good coach knows, finish on a positive (which the AFLQ did not..)

Not being let on the field after a GF win is rough, and not a good decision. But I still don't get what the gripes are that people have with the Grogan night? I thought it was a great night.

And there in lies the problem Spooner - put a whole lot of club reps in a room and some will say fantastic, others will say ordinary - where do you go as an AFLQ person? Whose opinion holds more sway?? As a person involved with girls footy do you think it would hold more substance to have the womens count held separately? (or with the other womens comp?) I thought the conference B&F was pretty good except for the lack of time allocated to the winners - would have been nice to hear from all the winners of the A grade comps I reckon rather than just 2.

Would argue TT that EVERY year, no matter what the comp structure is, there are always only 2-3 sides that can legitimately win it. 2013 in the QAFL was no different - everyone knew Springwood and PBC would play off pretty early, in the NEAFL everyone knew Labrador, Mt Gravatt etc were going to be terrible. The thing is that this year there have been some different sides win a GF - Pumas and Mayne, Roosters, etc - whats so bad about that?? If we kept the same structure as last year then PBC would have demolished everyone again (most coin). What I think many of you guys don't get at all is that what you are wishing for is not possible - a comp that has 10 sides vying for a finals spot - just doesn't happen. The QAFL was really competitive footy this year from my understanding - blokes wrote on this forum each week just how much fun it was compared to years gone by. Who cares if the Panthers are a fair bit better right now. Happens in comps all around Aust that you will have a team that has won 6 of the last 8 premierships.

Ironically a comp like the O&M is put up as a model of how to go about it!!!! Crap "competition" in reality - everyone knows who is going to be at the pointy end in january in this part of the woods. Just bc they run a good GF day doesn't make it a well run comp. Blokes playing bs "fill in" games here and there as "fundraisers", clubs spending $300K + on players whilst others would spend a fraction of this. Think there are issues in that comp as well.
Are you really telling me TT that both Mayne and Springwood are that far in front of everyone else??? Think there would be Noosa ppl telling you right now that they feel they were 1 decent footballer away from beating them (2x) this year incl the GF. Mayne were losing at 3/4 time. The issue the AFLQ has is they put everyone from competing clubs into a room and everyone is a brain surgeon when telling ppl what the problems are, not too many want to come up with a solution that is for all! Might fix their little problem in their little part of the world. Maybe a Gold Coast comp, like LAB said, would be a good idea but not sure how you "sell" this to Cooly who would get demolished every week so certainly 1 club might not be on board. Up our way we still struggle for a pathway for our best kids / players unless they want to make a 2hr round trip to Brisbane 3x / wk. Tough ask. Jed Turner did it this year at Aspley - had an outstanding year too but pressure on work no doubt and must have been draining for him. Not something you can do for 5+ years imo.

Anyway just think that we have to be careful not to throw the baby out with the bath water. If the QAFL GF had been done better then this discussion probably wouldn't have been raised but as any good coach knows, finish on a positive (which the AFLQ did not..)
Agree with everything you said except for wanting a fairy tale comp where all 10 sides are vying for finals, credit me with enough intelligence to know that's impossible. I just can't fathom why anyone in their right mind would think that allowing a grand finalist from the previous years div 1 comp to play the next year in a lower comp, and think that any side from that lower comp would have a realistic chance, is kidding themselves. Anyway, here's hoping that things turn out better for all involved next year ( there's my positive spin ).

:)

Springwood didn't apply to go up to the QAFL TT - can't force them to. Obviously felt financially they had to consolidate a bit. They might in due course but at the expense of who I'm not sure. Anyway I'm sure next year will be better in a variety of ways. Actually think 2014 was a step in the right direction, albeit a few crooked ones at the end.

See ex Morningside player in Peter Yagmoor has been delisted by Collingwood.
Geez, hope Morningside don't get him back.!!!!!

0% chance. He'll be kicking around the VFL and if he does come back to Brisbane he'll go to the NEAFL.

I see Surfers have appointed a new coach in Peter Young. Zorko obviously a bit stiff, but things never end well when clubs tell coaches they are looking to "see what's out there" and you are strongly encouraged to apply for your job!

Don't know why everyone keeps quoting the O&M League as a model to aspire to?

I've followd that league since the 70's and its current format has become a joke.

2 clubs have shared the last 6 Premierships and both happen to have the most coin and spend the most on recruiting.

Albury Tigers have won 19 Premierships, but back in the day they really did do it with local home grown talent. The side they had this year had 15 blokes on it who have AFL experience... I doubt any of them are from the Riverina!

Yarrawonga have recruited well too, and while Fevola is a genuine ring-in, he has really embraced the league and culture - so good on him. But the league is an arms race at the moment. Now the Raiders have thrown huge coin at Creswell and a big cheque book for recruting and its just going to get worse.

Don't know why everyone keeps quoting the O&M League as a model to aspire to?

I've followd that league since the 70's and its current format has become a joke.

2 clubs have shared the last 6 Premierships and both happen to have the most coin and spend the most on recruiting.

Albury Tigers have won 19 Premierships, but back in the day they really did do it with local home grown talent. The side they had this year had 15 blokes on it who have AFL experience... I doubt any of them are from the Riverina!

Yarrawonga have recruited well too, and while Fevola is a genuine ring-in, he has really embraced the league and culture - so good on him. But the league is an arms race at the moment. Now the Raiders have thrown huge coin at Creswell and a big cheque book for recruting and its just going to get worse.
I agree with this. the GVFL have gone down the same road unfortunatley also. it seems that if you don't somehow entice AFL players then your league needs to aspire to one who does. The Murray FL has a few former player at some clubs (J.Murphy @ Numurkah, D.Cupido and N.Lovett-Murray @ Rumbalara) and have been fairly stable over the past decade and seems a "better" league to model, Rumba struggled in 2007-10 but won this yr's GF.

I like that Kosi went back to play for Lav, because thats where he came from - not because he chased huge coin.

However, I am a realist too. If you're a talented footballer, its a commodity worth money and you are entitled to trade off it as long as you can!

The O&M is reportedly introducing a points system instead of a salary cap (impossible to enforce at this level) and I think it will be a godsend.

Essentially there will be so salary cap, but previously AFL listed players who are not local will be worth 5 points, top players recruited from other top leagues worth 3 and 4 points and so on.

You can never field a team worth more than 50 points.

I don't think that will work. Would that system be using points for ex-AFL players who are coaches (Aker being the "main" one), either playing or otherwise. I see loopholes in this idea, but generally the idea won't work.

If you have AFL experience, you are a 5 pointer. Whether you are coach or not.

If you have been rookie listed, but never played you are a 4 pointer. If you have been recruited from SANFL VFL or WAFL, you could be a 3 or 4 pointer - depending on your playing history. If you are actively recruited from another club in your own competition or a nearby competition, you are worth 1, 2 or potentially 3 points depending on pedigree. Club and League B&F votes and representative honours will play a role in this formula.

If you are a local player who played juniors or have been at the club more than 5 seasons, you are worth 0. If you have AFL experience, but return to your junior club, you are worth 0. If you are AFL experienced, but return to your home town and play for a different club, you will be worth 3.

A club can have as many or as few 5 pointers on their list at any one time, but a team worth more than 50 points isn't permitted to take the field on a given day.

Still details to be worked out, but I think its a great idea!

Now I know a little bit more, it seems ok. I'm still not totally convinced but if anyone can the O&M will make it work. O&M are still the standout admin of North East Victoria, the GVFL have noticeably slipped down the ladder and a few of the "lower" minor leagues have overtaken them in the past 3-5 years

Reckon its a top idea QAFL - no fan of it up here though where we would love to have a few more ex AFL players to raise the standards etc but in that comp for sure. Some may argue that if a local bloke is any good he will get a game in these teams and if not then head to another club in the same league (or a minor league) but I think that misses the whole point of community footy and esp in country towns. You want to see your young fellas growing up thru the juniors and then playing in the A grade if possible. At worst you could limit the number of 4 and 5 pointers to say 4-5 per team. It may even spread the love a little thru country footy rather than have a posse drive up every Friday night! I suppose, unlike yesteryear pre TAC, where the best kids were playing senior footy, now they gravitate to TAC footy. If Tim Watson was starting up again, 1 he wouldn't be playing at 15yrs of age for the Essendon seniors or Dimboola's A grade and 2, he would be playing for the Geelong Falcons or whoever picks up Dimboola.