Draft Review 2014 - Redo the 2014 AFL Draft

Langford being top 10 by this time next year isn't an outrageous proposition. Big bodied mids take time .
Especially ones that played their entire Junior footy and first couple AFL years as a forward.

Langford, while not there yet, is showing signs he could definitely be in the conversation for top 5 in this draft as early as next year. Anyone who says otherwise hasn't been watching his past 6 or so weeks.

I was lucky enough to be at an Adelaide Sydney game a couple of years ago that Heeney nearly won single handed for them. I would have it as one of the top ten best individual games I have ever seen from a player and I had no idea that he was that young at the time.
For me it's not even close, Heeney then daylight.
Think most people are seriously underestimating Miller as well. Put him in Richmonds side this year and he would be an absolute star.

I have to completely. I am enjoying JDG form this year but Heeney is miles and miles ahead of JDG. His class, tank and consistancy has been proven over the last couple season as well as this one.

A big reason why JDG only went at pick 5 is his running capacity. Even now He has only intermittently played in the midfield. Believe me if he had the ability to play mid more often he would definitly be in there.

Maybe fellow pies supporters need to chill their biased opinion a little.

Petracca is definitly not top 10 in the list. It’s just plain rude to have petracca ahead of McLean and others of the like. If you play 100 games your bound to have 5 really eye catching games. It’s the ones who contribute week in and week out that I put great value on.

1. Andrews
2. Heeney
3. De Goey
4. Lever
5. Mclean
6. Brayshaw
7. Mcgovern
8. Miller
9. Saad
10. Lambert
11. Mcdonald
12. Blakely
13. Petracca
14. Moore
15. Weller
16. Short
17. Langford
18. Steele
19. Mckenna
20. Ahern
21. Maynard
22. Finlayson
23. Preuss
24. Sinclair
25. Langdon
26. Daniel
27. Butler
28. Castagna
29. Cox
30. Newman
Lewis Melican

From a purely Bulldog perspective, Zaine Cordy should be above Caleb Daniel who has gone backwards the last 2 years. Cordy is developing nicely as a key back who can also provide a target and a presence up forward when needed.

How do Geelong fans in here feel about Nakai Cockatoo? Was his body dodgy pre-being drafted? Is there hope for him for the future?

I'm critical of Petracca, but its the hype around him that is damaging more than anything. He's actually put together some decent form after that much-publicised dry patch in June. People don't blink when he gets the ball 25 times and kicks one or two, because more is expected. I would have him outside the top five, but clearly in the top 10.
  1. Andrews
  2. Heeney
  3. Lever
  4. De Goey
  5. Brayshaw
  6. McLean
  7. Petracca
  8. McGovern
  9. Miller
  10. Lambert
Langford, Weller, Ahern look like movers too.

From a Melbourne perspective, this is the kind of draft haul that we failed to nail for so long. Three guys in the top 10, Oscar McDonald up and down this year but looking great for a beanpole pick 53 playing on the best forward every week, Neal-Bullen quietly turning into a gut running mid/forward, and even Stretch was finding his feet again before going down.

Ahern just tore the Eagles to shreds. 37 touches - more than 20 contested. He will be making a run at the top 10 shortly.
I remember being called out for rating Ahren in the other redo/revisit 2014 thread.

How do Geelong fans in here feel about Nakai Cockatoo? Was his body dodgy pre-being drafted? Is there hope for him for the future?
He was injured for much of his draft year iirc, with many saying Geelong reached for him at the time with his lack of exposed form.

I remember being called out for rating Ahren in the other redo/revisit 2014 thread.

He’s got the game to challenge Heeney in this draft imo.

OMac is a great lock down defender. Ben Brown kicked 4 on him, other than that he has stopped every other KPF.

Problem is he doesnt get enough possessions for people to notice what he is doing.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
forgotten what hawkins did to him already?

my melbourne mate absolutely hates him.

Hawkins was a monster that day. A handful of Melbourne fans are peanuts and hate him. He was drafted as a stick figure and, four seasons in, is holding the FB role down in his own. He has lost form, but was exceptional for the first half of the year. Got to be patient with talls, especially a pick 53 who needs more size.

that comment was months before the Hawkins game.

I still reckon he will be fine. Not many young KPD become tge number 1 man at an early age

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk