2015 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Part 2

Can excuse missing out on 1 top-10 pick, but stuffing up 2 top-10 picks is an almighty stuff up in anyone's language as there was talent to be had.

This is the top 20 from that year. The best player came at 20. Talia, Martin and Cunnington are the only ones of the rest you'd consider above B+ players. Moribito, Trengove and Menzel have all been cut down with persistent injury and will never reach their potential. Scully, Rohan, Melksham, Jetta and Pittard will all have okay but not memorable 100 plus game careers. As I said, not a particularly strong draft. A few good players came later like Carlisle and Gunston, but overall pretty thin. yes Port didn't do too well out of it and if Gunston actually stayed you could have probably said Adelaide won the draft.

1 Tom Scully Dandenong Stingrays TAC Cup Melbourne
2 Jack Trengove Sturt SANFL Melbourne
3 Dustin Martin Bendigo Pioneers TAC Cup Richmond
4 Anthony Morabito Peel WAFL Fremantle
5 Ben Cunnington Geelong Falcons TAC Cup North Melbourne
6 Gary Rohan Geelong Falcons TAC Cup Sydney
7 Brad Sheppard East Fremantle WAFL West Coast
8 John Butcher Gippsland Power TAC Cup Port Adelaide
9 Andrew Moore Eastern Ranges TAC Cup Port Adelaide
10 Jake Melksham Calder Cannons TAC Cup Essendon
11 Jordan Gysberts Eastern Ranges TAC Cup Melbourne
12 Kane Lucas East Fremantle WAFL Carlton
13 Daniel Talia Calder Cannons TAC Cup Adelaide
14 Lewis Jetta Swan Districts WAFL Sydney
15 Christian Howard Glenelg SANFL Western Bulldogs
16 Jasper McMillan-Pittard Geelong Falcons TAC Cup Port Adelaide
17 Daniel Menzel Central District SANFL Geelong
18 Luke Tapscott North Adelaide SANFL Melbourne
19 Benjamin Griffiths Eastern Ranges TAC Cup Richmond
20 Nathan Fyfe Claremont WAFL Fremantle

This is the top 20 from that year. The best player came at 20. Talia, Martin and Cunnington are the only ones of the rest you'd consider above B+ players. Moribito, Trengove and Menzel have all been cut down with persistent injury and will never reach their potential. Scully, Rohan, Melksham, Jetta and Pittard will all have okay but not memorable 100 plus game careers. As I said, not a particularly strong draft. A few good players came later like Carlisle and Gunston, but overall pretty thin. yes Port didn't do too well out of it and if Gunston actually stayed you could have probably said Adelaide won the draft.

Copy and paste function use is strong. Must be the WEA course doing good things for the natives [emoji106]

And to be honest, Gunston got a lot better once he moved to Hawthorn. The Hawks know how to get the best out of their players, a lot better than any other club in the league.
I call bullshit!

Shows how much you truly know about AFC players, Gunston's trajectory at the AFC considering he was only in his 2nd year and bodywise still had a power of improvement to come was spiralling upwards at an amazing rate, so much so that he was awarded the Mark Bickley Medal as the best young player thay year, you must have missed his 5 goal performance in round 23 against Richmond that year?

So to be honest you are spouting total crap!!

I call bullshit!

Shows how much you truly know about AFC players, Gunston's trajectory at the AFC considering he was only in his 2nd year and bodywise still had a power of improvement to come was spiralling upwards at an amazing rate, so much so that he was awarded the Mark Bickley Medal as the best young player thay year, you must have missed his 5 goal performance in round 23 against Richmond that year?

He does wear a mask. I can't trust people trying to conceal parts of their face.

I call bullshit!

Perhaps you should read what one of your own drakescoffeecake wrote then

Classy. Always a pleasure.

By the way, he went from 1.6 to 2.1 goals per game after he moved to Hawthorn. You assume that he would've also improved at your club. But that is only speculation as we'll never know, will we?

Too bloody right I assume he would have improved FURTHER at the AFC given his impressive last half of his 2nd season at the club as would most other FAIR minded people that know anything about AFL football.

Classy. Always a pleasure.

By the way, he went from 1.6 to 2.1 goals per game after he moved to Hawthorn. You assume that he would've also improved at your club. But that is only speculation as we'll never know, will we?
I mean, isn't it a bit of a stretch to assume the increase in his third year was due to the side and not because he was... a good player?

That he left is irrelevant. It was still a good selection and it shouldn't be a regret. We should have done more to keep him, like not making him play in Elizabeth every other week.

I still dislike Tippet profoundly. And to be honest, Gunston got a lot better once he moved to Hawthorn. The Hawks know how to get the best out of their players, a lot better than any other club in the league.

Also, a lot of AFC supporters do not rate Dangerfield as highly as when he played for you. It's normal, all supporters are biased.
I remember being absolutely shattered when gunston walked out on crows, way more shattered than when tippet left who I thought we could replace easier than others ..especially since his 2012 was a concussion riddled year other than his performance in the prelim

with gunston you could sense he was on an upward trajectory and it seemed obvious he would only get better and better ..I was shattered

interestingly enough- I'm looking forward how we go without Dangerfield , I feel there was an over reliance on 1 player to carry the side on his back. I'm looking forward to other players taking more responsibility and think it will be one short step back before moving forward briskly again

I remember being absolutely shattered when gunston walked out on crows, way more shattered than when tippet left who I thought we could replace easier than others ..especially since his 2012 was a concussion riddled year other than his performance in the prelim

with gunston you could sense he was on an upward trajectory and it seemed obvious he would only get better and better ..I was shattered

interestingly enough- I'm looking forward how we go without Dangerfield , I feel there was an over reliance on 1 player to carry the side on his back. I'm looking forward to other players taking more responsibility and think it will be one short step back before moving forward briskly again

Wouldn't worry too much about what a Powa troll has to say about an AFC player, he clearly has NFI....

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2011&rt=RA&st=M5

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2011&rt=RA&st=GO

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2011&rt=RT&st=M5

Would you like me to PM you my address so you can come a have a chat in person or are you a 12 year old keyboard warrior?

latest

What players that have moved from Adelaide have gone better?

Gunston has, though we all knew that was going to be pretty likely, though like others are claiming, his trajectory was well on its way upward and I like them will also argue a case that if he'd have stayed he may have gone better.

Tippett hasn't yet.

Bit early to tell for Danger, Kedge and Wright! I've long suspected there's a fairly good player inside Kedge, may see it this year.

Vince went better, just, hard to say if lots of possies and standing out in a poor team is better than mediocre results in a mediocre team. I suspected that was going to look like he'd be better. Our gameplan in his last few years and the role he had to play didn't suit him. Melb had him in a role that suited him much better and he had a chance for more disposals as he went from fringe to key midfielder.

Bock didn't, tho to be fair injuries had a fair bit to do with that.

Phil Davis...borderline. Played some good footy but I reckon he'd have played some better if he'd have stayed.

Aiden Riley hasnt

Tony Armstrong hasn't

trying to think of other departees

Stenglien didn't

Fergus Watts def didnt.

Ben Hudson went about the same.

Sellar worse or same, meh either way.

There's a reasonable case that our player development is similar or a bit better compared to others.

Yes, and I still wish we had managed to keep Burgoyne. Guerra was finished with us by then.

ps: you don't know me so the name calling is unnecessary.
Guerra had to get out of Adelaide to improve his professionalism.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

So half the player were reasonable & half were duds.

My point stands - you can excuse stuffing up 1 top 10 pick but stuffing up 2 is inexcusable!

We managed talia & gunston with later picks. Note marty36 & Cleric you whinging barstards!

Our drafting team have been A standard despite what some supporters think & far better than port for their respective picks.

What players that have moved from Adelaide have gone better?

Gunston has, though we all knew that was going to be pretty likely, though like others are claiming, his trajectory was well on its way upward and I like them will also argue a case that if he'd have stayed he may have gone better.

Tippett hasn't yet.

Bit early to tell for Danger, Kedge and Wright! I've long suspected there's a fairly good player inside Kedge, may see it this year.

Vince went better, just, hard to say if lots of possies and standing out in a poor team is better than mediocre results in a mediocre team. I suspected that was going to look like he'd be better. Our gameplan in his last few years and the role he had to play didn't suit him. Melb had him in a role that suited him much better and he had a chance for more disposals as he went from fringe to key midfielder.

Bock didn't, tho to be fair injuries had a fair bit to do with that.

Phil Davis...borderline. Played some good footy but I reckon he'd have played some better if he'd have stayed.

Aiden Riley hasnt

Tony Armstrong hasn't

trying to think of other departees

Stenglien didn't

Fergus Watts def didnt.

Ben Hudson went about the same.

Sellar worse or same, meh either way.

There's a reasonable case that our player development is similar or a bit better compared to others.
Vince similar.

Mattner improved under a better coach.

Gunston improved but would have at the crows on age too.

Most players have gone backwards when leaving the crows.

Vince similar.

Mattner improved under a better coach.

Gunston improved but would have at the crows on age too.

Most players have gone backwards when leaving the crows.

O yer, forgot about Mattner.

Yep, that's my view too pretty much, the majority don't go better once they leave us.

"Port didn't too well", bit of an understatement don't you think?

And you want Port to be excused because they didn't pick the available better players because in your mind it was a weak draft? Stop being a flog