2015 Non-Crows AFL Discussion - Pt. 1

That's all well and good but how often do you think this sort of thing happens? If your daughter was a similar victim, but the perp was just a nobody who works at Bunnings, would you expect the same level of police interest?

Hell yes. I would expect the same level of police interest regardless of the standing of the person involved. Crime is not based on social 'class'. Anyone can break the law and I expect the police to investigate a crime possibly being broken.

The reason things like this happen all the time is because of attitudes like you are displaying. Recent research has shown that our casual dismissal of behavioural attitudes and acceptance of things like 'boys will be boys' are assisting a lot of DV cases being perpetrated and ignored in our society.

http://www.ourwatch.org.au/News-media/Latest-news/Ken-Lay-address-on-International-Day-for-the-Elimi This speech from Ken Lay says it so much more eloquently than I can.

Hell yes. I would expect the same level of police interest regardless of the standing of the person involved. Crime is not based on social 'class'. Anyone can break the law and I expect the police to investigate a crime possibly being broken.

The reason things like this happen all the time is because of attitudes like you are displaying. Recent research has shown that our casual dismissal of behavioural attitudes and acceptance of things like 'boys will be boys' are assisting a lot of DV cases being perpetrated and ignored in our society.

http://www.ourwatch.org.au/News-media/Latest-news/Ken-Lay-address-on-International-Day-for-the-Elimi This speech from Ken Lay says it so much more eloquently than I can.
Don't play the man Nikki. My comments are about the level of police interest here and you are in fact agreeing with me here because sadly if this case just involved Joe Nobody from Bunnings and not an AFL footballer, then the police would not be giving it the same attention. Especially since no police report was made by the lady.

Sorry how do you know they don't? The only reason we know about his is because the media have reported upon it that it is being looked at. I didn't know you knew for a fact about every police report that goes on so could advise if it does happen or not.

I'm not going to go into detail about my experiences except to say I have a lot of respect for the tough job the police do on limited resources. I'm sure they would love to investigate every instance of threatened violence to this extent but it doesn't happen.

Don't know if it's been reported over there yet but I was over at the Snake Valley General Store this morning and heard that local lad Nick O'Brien will be suiting up for the Woodville-West Torrens Eagles in the Snaffle next season, should be a really nice pick up for them. Apparently he's looking to further his chances of getting back on an AFL list if he can dominate over there after being recently delisted by Essendon after 14 AFL appearances...played some really good footy late in this season and I was a bit surprised when they let him go. Had an outstanding junior career in Ballarat captaining the St. Pats footy team and skippering the Ballarat Rebels footy team in the TAC Comp. He's a big bodied inside mid with good skills so should really make his presence felt in the SANFL and if you can get a bet on I reckon he'd be a big chance for the Magarey Medal next year.:)

I expect he'll be bunking up with his best mate Brad Crouch and Matty Crouch over there.

This is why you don't GIFT players games, no matter how talented or whether you may lose them ........it's cancerous to your culture

Suns' sacking 'a blessing in disguise', says Weller
Michael Whiting December 12, 2015 8:00 AM

I was always going to ask for a trade anyway and get out of there because I didn't believe in the club, didn't believe in the coach and just wanted to get out of there to further my footy
But the 23-year-old says his time with the Suns was anything but memorable.

"I don't believe they do things properly, to be honest with you.

"I was on edge up there. I don't feel as though a lot of the players played with fear their spot was (in danger), and that's the way I played.

This is why you don't GIFT players games, no matter how talented or whether you may lose them ........it's cancerous to your culture
Surely if you're faced with gifting an under-performing veteran, or a not-quite-there-yet but talented youngster, it's option B every day of the week?

Not every day of the week

In ANY team game all the players know the pecking order ......what you're saying maybe the direction taken for a team on the rebuild if the output of both players is similar .....but not likely in a top side where experience is critical and probably holds sway

What Weller was saying was players were being gifted games ....given players know the pecking order this grinds in a team list that is no-where near developed

How many GWS / GC players have left or been delisted ....only to play well for their new club ...that's not just talent, that's motivation and correct development .....just look at the Melbourne travesty for more proof

Not every day of the week

In ANY team game all the players know the pecking order ......what you're saying maybe the direction taken for a team on the rebuild if the output of both players is similar .....but not likely in a top side where experience is critical and probably holds sway
If the output is similar experience means nothing, and an inherent "pecking order" is just as cancerous to culture as anything else.

Have always felt that players not earning their spots means they are not learning enough to be good AFL players. Just need to look at Carlton and Melbourne and the plethora of young talent going to their clubs via high draft picks and his few of them turn into great AFL players.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

Have always felt that players not earning their spots means they are not learning enough to be good AFL players. Just need to look at Carlton and Melbourne and the plethora of young talent going to their clubs via high draft picks and his few of them turn into great AFL players.

Absolutely correct .....the clubs with a high influx of high draft picks seem to have a high failure rate .....GWS, GC, Melbourne & even Richmond of previous seasons

Crows generally get only one high draft pick each year .....and % wise has a high success rate .....why is this so, other than having the individualised development, experienced players around you to learn from, and having to earn your spot

Yep. Melbourne have had 4 number one picks! :rolleyes:

Rumor as fact .......the lady at the heart of Dustin Martin "hiccup" has been coerced by the AFL & Richmond to paint a less serious picture of the event

This from both organizations that purport to support violence against women ....well to the public anyway, but apparently not behind closed doors when it impacts their core business :rolleyes::mad:

I am sick of double standards .....double speak ....and politics in football

Greg Williams got 10 weeks for pushing an umpire

Phil Carman got 16 weeks for headbutting the Umpire .....albeit the umpire got in his face and i would have done same

The AFL invented the term "bringing the game into disrepute" ..........pity it only applies under a previous administration

Dustin Martin should be suspended for the season .......he won't though and i am betting he gets less than Williams and Carman :rolleyes::mad: ........how the f..k he he still allowed to train ?????
What's surprising is that we still expect the AFL to show integrity.