2016 Draft discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I definitely think there's something there. It looked to me like he plays a bit in fits and spurts at the moment which is probably something to do with his physical maturity and fitness. I worry about skinny outside guys with only ok engines - where do they end up playing at senior level? Maybe that side of his game improves with a professional environment but I don't think you can ignore the risk that you might be drafting a wingman who can't cover the ground as senior footy demands.

I'm nowhere near informed enough to make a call in terms of a draft position but he strikes me as the kind of guy that a side like ours probably can't afford to take a risk with too early. If I was a side with most of the component parts in place, I reckon I'd consider him around a pick 35 because the risk/reward stacks up. For a side like ours though, I reckon you probably would take him as a speculative pick a bit later once you've taken a few surer things with your early picks.

That's purely an assessment from a very limited knowledge base though. It is a bit like my viewing of Bowes - I'm hardly qualified to counter the prevailing view that he's close to a top 5 talent.
Agree with a lot of what you said. It's his potential which I think is attractive, and his skill set is the sort which is becoming a high commodity. I think the team that picks him up tries to develop him at half back to get his run from behind the footy. The fact he's come from the clouds a bit to be in draft contention, and shown a lot of improvement this season would be attractive to clubs. I can't comment on him in the context of the draft pool as a whole though

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-draft-2016-clubbyclub-guide-part-one-20161116-gsqckj.html

BRISBANE LIONS

In: Jack Frost, Archie Smith (rookie upgrade), Matt Eagles (rookie, The Recruit).

Out: Hugh Beasley, Justin Clarke, Billy Evans, Josh Green, Pearce Hanley, Josh McGuinness, Daniel Merrett, Jackson Paine, Josh Watts, Trent West, Jaden McGrath.

Draft picks: 3, 16, 21, 22, 75, 76.

DEPTH CHARTS

TALL FORWARDS: Josh Schache, Eric Hipwood, Josh Walker, Jonathan Freeman, Daniel McStay, Marco Paparone, Michael Close.

TALL DEFENDERS: Harris Andrews, Darcy Gardiner, Jack Frost, Matthew Hammelmann (rookie), Sam Skinner.

SMALL/MEDIUM FORWARDS: Sam Mayes, Rohan Bewick.

SMALL/MEDIUM DEFENDERS: Liam Dawson, Tom Cutler, Ryan Harwood, Reuben William, Cian Hanley (rookie).

MIDFIELDERS: Dayne Beams, Dayne Zorko, Daniel Rich, Tom Rockliff, Mitch Robinson, Allen Christensen, Lewis Taylor, Ryan Bastinac, Tom Bell, Ben Keays, Rhys Mathieson, Nick Robertson, Claye Beams, Ryan Lester, Jarrad Jansen, Josh Clayton.

RUCKS: Stefan Martin, Archie Smith (rookie), Matt Eagles (rookie).

The Lions have a strong hand to play again this year, and many areas that still need attention. The most likely outcome for them at No.3 appears to be Ben Ainsworth, though they could end up with a choice of him and midfielder Hugh McCluggage. Ainsworth would be a perfect fit: he belongs in the top rung on talent, and would fill a glaring need as a super-smart small forward who could also run on the ball. McCluggage would add to an on-ball group that the Lions need to keep growing, and they have three selections at the end of the first round to work with, too. Alex Witherden, Josh Rotham, Jarrod Berry and Jordan Ridley would make sense for them, as rebounding defenders, and so could Declan Watson, a Lions Academy player who could attract a bid in the middle part of the draft. Willem Drew would bring his all, Joe Atley is worth a look and while they are well off for developing forwards Josh Battle and Elliott Himmelberg could be considered. The club may have some big decisions to make on the Academy front, with Jacob Allison likely to be bid on after their first three picks. They should be able to get both if they want them. They will be heavily reliant on Stefan Martin in the ruck and could look to add depth in that area, though no young ruckman they looked to draft could be expected to step in immediately.

Honestly couldn't care less who we draft. I just want good players who end up 200 gamers for our club. I miss our club meaning something. I want to be proud of my team again.

I would seriously consider a bid on Scheer.
Thre is absolutely no reason or excuse , to make speculative or so called , surprise picks in this draft. The talent and character in the top 30 to 40 is sitting there to be selected.The phantom draft experts, so called, are desperately trying to justify their existence . File them under W, for w***ers.Self important , self appointed gossips . If we cant get 4 future stars out of this draft, we never will.Sit back and enjoy the ride.

What about Kobe Mutch? I'm a huge fan of the kid and I think we have the picks to potentially outbid GWS for him. I think he can bring true ball winning to our midfield an despite him being view as having no hurt factor (which I think is over played a bit) as long as he is hitting up the beams & richs regularly I am fine with that. I also think he will suit fagans kicking game style very well and wont turn the ball over a lot which is a huge tick for me

I feel a bit the same way about Mutch as I do about us grabbing Graham although his disposal skills are a fair bit better than Graham's.

I actually like Mutch quite a lot but his lack of athleticism I think would further compound our issues in that regard.

Thre is absolutely no reason or excuse , to make speculative or so called , surprise picks in this draft. The talent and character in the top 30 to 40 is sitting there to be selected.The phantom draft experts, so called, are desperately trying to justify their existence . File them under W, for ******s.Self important , self appointed gossips . If we cant get 4 future stars out of this draft, we never will.Sit back and enjoy the ride.

Yeah I agree with you.

Said as much in the "Mock draft" thread.

Nevertheless, as Cockliff38 pointed out in that thread, the club has made some noises about "surprises" in our drafting so who knows what the hell that means??

Suffice to say though, I am going to be pretty pissed if we bypass a quality pick to reach for a high risk kid on a "just because" basis.

I just don't think we are in a position as a club to be punting in this manner.

I feel a bit the same way about Mutch as I do about us grabbing Graham although his disposal skills are a fair bit better than Graham's.

I actually like Mutch quite a lot but his lack of athleticism I think would further compound our issues in that regard.

Fair point, but considering we have 4 good picks and likely pick up allison late I dont mind the idea to get at least 1 ball winner in the team.

Yeah I agree with you.

Nevertheless, as Cockliff38 pointed out in that thread, the club has made some noises about "surprises" in our drafting so who knows what the hell that means??

Suffice to say though, I am going to be pretty pissed if we bypass a quality pick to reach for a high risk kid on a "just because" basis.

Could be that "surprises" are just mind games for other team scouts? Who knows what will happen draft day anyway with matho talent types potentially sliding. Plus how do we actually judge such surpises? Most mock drafts have a huge variety and differences around the 20s picks

Could be that "surprises" are just mind games for other team scouts?

Yep, there's always that I suppose.

For example, I have the feeling that Essendon are trying to screw with us and GWS by allowing the "Mcgrath at No.1 " speculation to fester unchecked. The Bummers do have a reputation for being unsociable traders and drafters.

When all is said and done though, I'd be pretty surprised if they don't take Suitcase and both GWS and us both get our men in McGrath and Ainsworth respectively

Yeah I agree with you.

Conole and co. have had an excellent record (even if some are playing with other clubs :cool:) and know how to play the game come draft night - I'm pretty sure we'll be backing in our own rankings of players, but obviously taking into account certain factors that could come and bite us on the bum down the track. Eg. Potential go home factor, family issues etc.

Otherwise, what's the point in them spending the year reviewing these players all over the country, may as well just start looking at mock media drafts as soon as the grand final is over :huh:

Emma Quayle starting to ramp up her draft articles. Has Ainsworth ranked at 6 which is about right. Taranto has surprised me with his late season performances had him around the 15 mark but now pushing the top 3-5. I think he has a higher ceiling than Ainsworth and I want him ahead of Ainsworth if it comes down to it. The perfect fit for our midfield IMO.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...kings-20161113-gso7vw.html?platform=hootsuite

I've got a feeling we will take English at 16 if he is available there and it is a possibility IMO. We need a ruck and he is the best available with a unique skill set for such a big man. Maybe too good to pass up?

Can he actually ruck though? Or is he Zac Clarke mkII?

he is okay without being great. It's always hard to tell with youngsters as ruck work takes years to master so I guess it's really hit and miss? Not sure though but he is far ahead in terms of footskill than nearly all AFL ruckman already so he has that going for him. I think if he is at 16 and blokes like Berry, Simpkin and Witherden for example are gone than we would be stupid not to select him as a ruck is a major list need with only Smith at the club in 2 years time.

Thre is absolutely no reason or excuse , to make speculative or so called , surprise picks in this draft. The talent and character in the top 30 to 40 is sitting there to be selected.The phantom draft experts, so called, are desperately trying to justify their existence . File them under W, for ******s.Self important , self appointed gossips . If we cant get 4 future stars out of this draft, we never will.Sit back and enjoy the ride.
These so called W*****s make the effort to bring the names and information about these prospective draftees to our attention. Mainstream media are crap at it and watch the AFL butcher this years draft again as a viewing perspective. They can rank players wherever they like but it comes down the clubs recruiters who make the real call. Without them we wouldn't know as much and we would be lesser for it and I thank them for their efforts.

Sorry mate, but you really are a opinionated cantankerous old fart.

Who defines the "top 30 or 40"?

Emma Quayle starting to ramp up her draft articles. Has Ainsworth ranked at 6 which is about right. Taranto has surprised me with his late season performances had him around the 15 mark but now pushing the top 3-5. I think he has a higher ceiling than Ainsworth and I want him ahead of Ainsworth if it comes down to it. The perfect fit for our midfield IMO.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...kings-20161113-gso7vw.html?platform=hootsuite
I think Venables is , after McLuggage , more what we need in a prime mover midfielder , a bit of Vossy about his game.Can't see us passing on Ainsworth if McLuggage is gone though , nor should we.We need matchwinners .

Professionals in the business could tell you,you should hang out with some of us...back to your Phantom drafts.
Professionals have differing points of view too. Every club ranks players differently. To suggest there's a consensus is completely wrong and therefore to suggest that someone with a differing point of view doesn't know what they are talking about us also wrong.

What's your beef anyway? Is there not enough Victorians being rated highly? Did someone suggest Ainsworth isn't the second coming of Christ? For ****s sake, if anyone needs to have a look at their own biases when it comes to football, it is you.

Time after time, the so called "phantom drafters" reach a collective position that gets pretty close to the "professionals" and relatively close to where things end up on draft day. That's nothing to sneeze at.

Hey guys, sorry for the intrusion. I was wondering how many selections you guys have to make on Friday night, based on list spots, etc. I'm doing a phantom draft and need this info.

For example North has to make 4 selections because we have 4 primary list spots open. Appreciate the help!

Hey guys, sorry for the intrusion. I was wondering how many selections you guys have to make on Friday night, based on list spots, etc. I'm doing a phantom draft and need this info.

For example North has to make 4 selections because we have 4 primary list spots open. Appreciate the help!
Brisbane has 6 spots open as we' have elevated Archie Smith to the Senior list