Strategy 2016 Draft Needs

• Thread starter Thread starter Cleric

Witherden screams Brodie Smith without the pace and with better defensive ability. I like him, but don't think he's a pressing need.

Gallucci is an interesting one, part of me thinks he's got Aker-like poise that will translate really well at AFL level, the other part of me thinks he disappears in and out of games too much and will be a disappointment.

Really want Taranto though
Witherden at 189cm is one that could push into midfield or allow Brodie smith to push into midfield

Galluci - I get what you're saying - to me he's a bit of an upgrade on Mackay in that you could play him inside and he will provide a bit of run out of congestion and his short/ medium kicking is solid , just needs to work on his longer stuff but I reckon the kicking ability will be fine with some more training and it is a potential strength . He could also play in multiple positions like half back . He's not blue chip by any means but a solid skill set and a skill set we lack quality in

Taranto probably the classiest of that bunch - mid and forward with good agility as you say and his contested ball stuff is solid . A better forward than mid st this stage but his midfield stuff could develop

Love McGrath venables and scrimshaw but think they will all be gone

Would love a 2nd round pick in this draft

Shai Bolton is an interesting one - enigmatic and poor kicking technique but X factor and speed ... Maybe wouldn't use a 1st rounder on him but interesting upside potentially

Zac fisher and Powell - pepper also interesting in 2nd round as are the SA boys graham and Vilis

Am I missing anyone ?

Witherden at 189cm is one that could push into midfield or allow Brodie smith to push into midfield

Galluci - I get what you're saying - to me he's a bit of an upgrade on Mackay in that you could play him inside and he will provide a bit of run out of congestion and his short/ medium kicking is solid , just needs to work on his longer stuff but I reckon the kicking ability will be fine with some more training and it is a potential strength . He could also play in multiple positions like half back . He's not blue chip by any means but a solid skill set and a skill set we lack quality in

Taranto probably the classiest of that bunch - mid and forward with good agility as you say and his contested ball stuff is solid . A better forward than mid st this stage but his midfield stuff could develop

Love McGrath venables and scrimshaw but think they will all be gone

Would love a 2nd round pick in this draft

Shai Bolton is an interesting one - enigmatic and poor kicking technique but X factor and speed ... Maybe wouldn't use a 1st rounder on him but interesting upside potentially

Zac fisher and Powell - pepper also interesting in 2nd round as are the SA boys graham and Vilis

Am I missing anyone ?
Fair enough on Witherden. Reckon Doedee could allow Smith to push into the midfield, though? Don't quite see midfield potential with Doedee just yet

Gallucci has very good burst pace out of stoppages, some of the best in the draft IMO. His short/medium kicking IMO is more than solid, he's quite accurate IMO, but as you say, he lacks 2014 Smith-like penetration. I see him working really well as a half-forward eventually in the early stages of his career, kicked five goals a few weeks back in a TAC game. But yep, has the potential to develop into a quality outside-leaning mid, and a game breaker at that

Yep agree with Taranto. Needs to work on the defensive side of his game, but he's just so clean and classy - both he and Venables are too good to be HFF's.

Don't love Bolton at this stage, really shies away from the contest, don't see him becoming anything near a Cyril type. See him as a permanent forward, and we shouldn't be spending firsts and seconds on those types. Tyson Stengle should be our man, either late draft or in the rookie draft.

Like Fisher a lot, has a good all-round package for a midfielder. Would also be keen on Matt Guelfi, overager from WA - clearance machine. Also Oliver Florent if we can get an early 2nd - has goal sense, is evasive and has good disposal. Could be a better value pick than Gallucci a bit later in the draft?

Not sold on Graham yet - iffy kicking, marking isn't brilliant in contested situations, yet is still considered a relatively early pick. Villis one of the most outside players in the first two rounds, but I like his cleanness and run and carry. SPP is explosive as hell, but I'm still a little worried about his disposal, both under pressure and normally.

Fair enough on Witherden. Reckon Doedee could allow Smith to push into the midfield, though? Don't quite see midfield potential with Doedee just yet

Gallucci has very good burst pace out of stoppages, some of the best in the draft IMO. His short/medium kicking IMO is more than solid, he's quite accurate IMO, but as you say, he lacks 2014 Smith-like penetration. I see him working really well as a half-forward eventually in the early stages of his career, kicked five goals a few weeks back in a TAC game. But yep, has the potential to develop into a quality outside-leaning mid, and a game breaker at that

Yep agree with Taranto. Needs to work on the defensive side of his game, but he's just so clean and classy - both he and Venables are too good to be HFF's.

Don't love Bolton at this stage, really shies away from the contest, don't see him becoming anything near a Cyril type. See him as a permanent forward, and we shouldn't be spending firsts and seconds on those types. Tyson Stengle should be our man, either late draft or in the rookie draft.

Like Fisher a lot, has a good all-round package for a midfielder. Would also be keen on Matt Guelfi, overager from WA - clearance machine. Also Oliver Florent if we can get an early 2nd - has goal sense, is evasive and has good disposal. Could be a better value pick than Gallucci a bit later in the draft?

Not sold on Graham yet - iffy kicking, marking isn't brilliant in contested situations, yet is still considered a relatively early pick. Villis one of the most outside players in the first two rounds, but I like his cleanness and run and carry. SPP is explosive as hell, but I'm still a little worried about his disposal, both under pressure and normally.
Fan of Guelphi 3rd round onward and like Florent as potential outside mid and a bit of a project

Graham's work rate to push from contest to contest is almost Ben cousins like without the natural talent or running ability

Don't know but they live at alberton and follow the swampies.
Ray was the uncle? of Chris Ladhams who was on Essendons and Adelaides list in the early 2000s. Came from North Adelaide I think. Chris was 179cm so 5'10

Jeffcrowe Bicks what's your thoughts on Brodie Romensky? Really starting to like him as a mid-late pick, good height, decent disposal, good overhead and defensively, versatile. Reckon there's a fair bit of development in him.

Haven't seen enough but will do some research ... Warming to Willem Drew if he's still there in 3rd round but figure he may go top 25

Quality young man...

Getting ahead of himself won't be an issue for the quietly-spoken but assured McCluggage. However, his growing self-belief on the field has made for more of a presence off it.

McCluggage admits the Rebels couldn't get a word out of him when he first arrived at the club. He still isn't the most vociferous prospect, but he runs the club's 'fines' night after its Thursday training sessions and has a dry sense of humour that is creeping out more and more.

"I take a bit to come out of my shell, but the academy helped me grow not only as a footballer but also as a person. I've had to really work on that ability to open up to people," he said.

"But living in the boarding house and being involved in the footy club has really helped me develop and come out a bit and make new mates, but not just that, also build good relationships with other people in footy."

One of those has been with Rebels talent manager Phil Partington, who has seen McCluggage work through the growing spotlight that has come throughout this season.

"We had a conversation one night on the way back from footy about the farm, but I don't know whether he was interested or just taking the p*** out of me," McCluggage said.

"He asked how many cows I've got and whether I've got a favourite one. I said there's 600 and they all look the same, so probably not."

Getting along to the Rebels vs Knights game saturday, quite a few draft prospects going around that could eventually be on the Crow's radar...For the Ballarat Rebels Hugh McCluggage Mid, Jarrod Berry Mid/Utility, Willem Drew Mid, James Gow Mid, Callan Wellings Def, Cedric Cox Outside Mid, Jarrod Korewha Running Def, Tom Williamson Mid/Def, Shannon Beks KPF, Lloyd Meek Ruckman and for the Northern Knights Luke Bunker Mid, Matt Signorello Mid/Def, Patrick Lipinski OutsideMid/Forward, Lachlan Murphy Small Def.

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=SELECT&fixture=124571077&c=0-3020-0-392810-0&pool=1

Getting along to the Rebels vs Knights game saturday, quite a few draft prospects going around that could eventually be on the Crow's radar...For the Ballarat Rebels Hugh McCluggage Mid, Jarrod Berry Mid/Utility, Willem Drew Mid, James Gow Mid, Callan Wellings Def, Cedric Cox Outside Mid, Jarrod Korewha Running Def, Tom Williamson Mid/Def, Shannon Beks KPF, Lloyd Meek Ruckman and for the Northern Knights Luke Bunker Mid, Matt Signorello Mid/Def, Patrick Lipinski OutsideMid/Forward, Lachlan Murphy Small Def.

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=SELECT&fixture=124571077&c=0-3020-0-392810-0&pool=1
Bicks would love a detailed report on Drew, Cox ( both could be top 25 IMO) and Meek

And berry of course

Including weaknesses !!

Berry and Drew are of interest to me if you are taking orders mate ;)

Particularly interested in Cedric Cox - indigenous , come from WA to vic country footy to turning heads in tac cup

Outside class and speed and very 2 sided

Bicks - I've heard he drops in and out of games , please check this out

So are we interested in signing up Kyle Chalmers like we picked up Alex Keath. I forget the name of the convert recruiting scheme.

Son of a former Crow, Olympic Gold medallist. Country SA boy (Port Lincoln is a Port Magpies area though not sure of his allegiances ).

Personally I think we need him as a swimmer. He does SA proud and we dont have enough of them. But if he wants to play footy better us than anybody else.

So are we interested in signing up Kyle Chalmers like we picked up Alex Keath. I forget the name of the convert recruiting scheme.

Son of a former Crow, Olympic Gold medallist. Country SA boy (Port Lincoln is a Port Magpies area though not sure of his allegiances ).

Personally I think we need him as a swimmer. He does SA proud and we dont have enough of them. But if he wants to play footy better us than anybody else.
He's a mad Port barracker and has been doing work experience or something similar there I read somewhere.

Good article on some of the TAC "smokeys" in this year's draft...

http://www.foxsportspulse.com/assoc...20-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=46544003

Those of particular interest...

JOSH BEGLEY
Eastern Ranges / Upper Ferntree Gully
187cm, 87kg

- 12 TAC Cup games in 2016
- 23 goals
- Ave. 17 disposals, four marks, four tackles per game

Anton Grbac says: “Josh is a really good story. He came out of local footy this year. His talent was obvious when I saw his first game against Tasmania (six goals in Round 4). Now he’s playing in the midfield and he’s lost a lot of weight, so the kid’s prepared to work, but he probably started playing well a bit too late for Vic Metro consideration. I watched him again recently playing through the midfield and he was really exciting. He’s like a really strong, powerful Christian Petracca-type of midfielder, but as a forward, he’s also really clever with good hands and a beautiful kick.”

SEAN DARCY
Geelong Falcons / Cobden
201cm, 113kg

- Four TAC Cup games in 2016
- Ave. 11 disposals, two marks, four tackles, 33 hitouts per game

Leon Harris says: “Sean played Vic Country U16s as a ruckman. He’s been restricted in pre-seasons the last couple of years with back and hamstring issues, but is a big solid ruckman. He played for Country this year – he was overlooked in game one, played an outstanding TAC Cup game to gain selection and was a very good player. He’s got top-end talent, but he’s just got to lose about 10kg. Does he become a Shane Mumford-type? That’s what we’re hoping. His rucking ability is probably as good as I’ve seen come through Country, it’s just getting from contest to contest.”

WILLEM DREW (pictured, centre)
North Ballarat Rebels / Koroit
188cm, 78kg

- 11 TAC Cup games in 2016
- Nine goals
- Ave. 22 disposals, seven tackles per game

Leon Harris says: “Willem didn’t play for Vic Country at U16 level but he played games last year at North Ballarat. His early form this year was fantastic as a midfielder. He’s had a consistent year – he played for Country at the U18 Championships, was just an honest, very good player and has been invited to the national Draft Combine. He’s a great kid, and was over the moon when he was selected. He’s a cousin of Adrian Gleeson from the Koroit region, and has moved into Ballarat to study and finish his schooling.”

LUKE BUNKER
Northern Knights / St Mary’s
185cm, 78kg

- Five TAC Cup games in 2016
- Ave. 26 disposals, five marks, six tackles per game

Anton Grbac says: “Luke was one of our most valuable players in the U18 Championships but because he doesn’t look like he runs fast, people aren’t excited about him. He was one of our best midfielders at Vic Metro and he won our Coaches Award – in a year when you’ve got a stellar group of kids and you’ve won the nationals, the coach thought he was our best player. With these sorts of kids, you don’t walk away thinking much of them but you’ve got to watch the tape. No one gave Tom Liberatore credit in his 18th year until you watched his tape and saw how powerful he was at stoppages.”

JORDAN RIDLEY (pictured, right)
Oakleigh Chargers / Knox
192cm, 79kg

- 12 TAC Cup games in 2016
- Eight goals
- Ave. 19 disposals, five marks per game

Anton Grbac says: “Jordan’s your prototypical hybrid forward/back; he’s suited for the athleticism of the modern game. His break-out game with Vic Metro (18 disposals and seven marks against the Allies) while playing in defence was one out of the box. He let all his inhibitions go and just played a really good game. He’s getting used to playing on the half-back line because he was playing half-forward last year. He found it a little bit difficult playing forward early doors, but when he was moved to a half-back flank this year, he’s been able to show a different side of his footy.”

Nice Bicks. Hearing its a strong draft and they all look like quality players who will go late. Thats why I am happy to forget about trading and go into the draft. If we can a couple of extra picks via trade like Mackay or Douglas (who are both on contracts that are too long for my liking - 2018) I will be happy as well.

We need to win next year, not in three years. I'm happy to trade the early pick, at least.