• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

If Kruezer comes good it will be awesome:cool:
He played lots of games last year but was not at his best:oops:

As many have said - build leaves him in no man's land! Bit short for a modern-day centre bounce ruckman given he doesn't quite have the leap he once had. Would love to see him just used as an extra bullocking ruck-rover who moves forward for ruck duels and kicks a goal or two.

I'm really really warming to Taranto if he's there at 5, guy is pure class and a match winner. Those a harder to find than pure grunt midfielders.

I'd rather a player that can take an overhead mark when up forward with a good enough tank to run through the midfield that oozes class that basis his game on Luke Parker, then a player that's an inside bull. Take the class while its there and get a Brodie type next year.

We will still have Murph, E Curnow to help Crippa on the inside next year, even Gibbs, Palmer, Cunningham and maybe C Curnow will also be there to assist.

Take the class!!!!
100% spot on. The competition is loaded with 'Grunt' mids but there aren't many Bontempelli's. We absolutely HAVE to select Taranto if available, can't take a chance there'll be another chance next year.

Having said that, I reckon he'll go before pick 5.

As many have said - build leaves him in no man's land! Bit short for a modern-day centre bounce ruckman given he doesn't quite have the leap he once had. Would love to see him just used as an extra bullocking ruck-rover who moves forward for ruck duels and kicks a goal or two.
CCurnow would be better at that. Prefer another midfielder to generate more run. We must get faster somehow.

Taranto for me. Brodie will have an impact next year but Taranto in 3 years would be exciting. Composure in tight, clean, inside/outside player, finds space by standing still are the parts of his game that I love the most. Sounds familiar (Pendlebury, Bont).

CCurnow would be better at that. Prefer another midfielder to generate more run. We must get faster somehow.
I hope this makes sense but pure speed is overrated. It's all about speed of decision, speed of ball movement. Don't get me wrong you need players with genuine speed but to me they are the cherry on top. I look at the Hawks and as a group they really aren't overly quick. They have Smith, Hartung, Rioli and Duryea that offer them real pace but they are the last links in the chain. Without the smarts before that they are irrelevant.

The downside there is that we'll be comparing whoever we get with half a dozen other blokes for the remainder of their careers.

If Weitering regressed and never got above "OK" level play, while Schache went on to win a bunch of Coleman medals, at least we could look back and say that we made the logical choice at the time.

If we take Taranto, Carlton fans will expect him to outperform Brodie, SPS, Scrimshaw and Ainsworth - and if he doesn't there'll be hell to pay.
Not really, I think a lot of the decision will be made by who the other teams select, there will only be one or two of the guys left that we talking about for us to select. No point beating yourself up over players that were no chance of coming to you.

Yes! Love Olango's work...have been onto him as a project key position player for a while. Not sure where you take him in the draft though or whether the list mgmt crew think we need a ruck with Kreuze, Phillips, Gorringe and Korcheck at the club.
Not sure Gorringe should be counted amongst the rucks, especially with Everitt's departure. Better off counting Levi.

Korcheck is a project ruck who might come good at age 25, Kreuze and Phillips are signed to 2017, and I don't see both remaining. There's definitely a window for taking a young ruck to start developing for the longer term.

It'll be another Cripps or Boekhurst type pick where everyone will have different opinions. Hopefully it turns into a Cripps type result for us

Can't see that happening, both Cripps and Boekhorst were drafted under the old regime where Rogers rated players unconventionally, I believe recruiting 18 yr Olds isn't sos's strong point and therefore will be more conventional.

Taranto at pick 5 would be great.

Obvious replacement for Murph in terms of what he'll offer medium and long-term.

Great in combination with Crippa.

Like what I see / hear in relation to character too. Hard worker with big upside.

Taranto at pick 5 would be great.

Obvious replacement for Murph in terms of what he'll offer medium and long-term.

Great in combination with Crippa.

Like what I see / hear in relation to character too. Hard worker with big upside.

Agree Taranto certainly looks good , ilike the application and footy nous with a dash of brilliance.
My favorite is SPS thought , he's the most talented in this draft, but without support structure family& friends not sure how that will pan and we now have Pickett whom if all goes well has heaps of X factor and lighting speed.
Scrimshaw is my other faviorite all three lads have huge upsides, I'll be happy with either of them.

Can someone inform me on the "knocks" on Jordan Gallucci?
From my point of view he's and inside outside midfielder, good fitness, speed and athleticism, and can hit the score board. Coupled with co captaining Vic Metro I struggle to see why some have him rated high second rounder and into the third.

Also talking to those in the know they describe the kid as METHODICAL we need those types OB

Athlete, that has poor disposal skills by foot, especially over longer distances. I have others in front of him, 3rd rounder at best

Little scope to develop further imo.

To me he screams the great junior who developed mentally, physically and professionally by his U18 year. And by the end of that year, others were already screaming past him. And 18 months into his AFL career, he will be stranded in the magoo's.

Ill argue that his disposal is more average than poor, and get better once he gets into an AFL program.

Ok, I understand that comment. Take a look at his game against the Allies. His kick lacks penetration, often looping the ball, even with shorter kicks. His longer kicks are floaters. Missed 3 goals, one very easy set shot.

I wouldn't say Gallucci's disposal is overly poor. Can certainly shank the ball (particularly in front of goal going by the video above) but at other times he looks fairly neat with ball in hand.

Has speed, flexibility and leadership credentials so I'd say he'll be in the conversation for pick 25 but certainly gone by the time 48 comes around.

Little scope to develop further imo.

To me he screams the great junior who developed mentally, physically and professionally by his U18 year. And by the end of that year, others were already screaming past him. And 18 months into his AFL career, he will be stranded in the magoo's.

Agree to disagree, I think once he gets into a AFL Program he'll drift towards being a top 10 player in a AFL side rather than a decent magoos player

Ok, I understand that comment. Take a look at his game against the Allies. His kick lacks penetration, often looping the ball, even with shorter kicks. His longer kicks are floaters. Missed 3 goals, one very easy set shot.

Yes his kicks do loop, but once again I reckon that can be ironed out once he gets to the AFL. eg Dane Swan. Like Dane Swan his erratic disposal won't completely be gone but he will be decent more often than not

He didn't miss a lot of targets in this video, even the shots on goal yes one was horrible, but 2 were near misses. What I did like about this video was his decision making in almost all those possessions he made the correct choice.

I wouldn't say Gallucci's disposal is overly poor. Can certainly shank the ball (particularly in front of goal going by the video above) but at other times he looks fairly neat with ball in hand.

Has speed, flexibility and leadership credentials so I'd say he'll be in the conversation for pick 25 but certainly gone by the time 48 comes around.

I think the video shows that more than half his kicks over 35 metres are floaters, with poor penetration

Never questioned his athletic capabilities, even his strong overhead marking

The way I have it, 25 is too early and if he is gone at 48, I am not concerned

At 25 I would like to consider a tall, one of Sproule, Cox, Battle, Kerr.

If we are looking at a midfielder at this pick, there are a host of players with a better skill set, some of which my be sliders.

Drew, Clarke, Simpkin, Venables, Mutch, Witherden, Hayward, Romensky, Morrison, SPP, Villis, just to name a few

Not sure Gorringe should be counted amongst the rucks, especially with Everitt's departure. Better off counting Levi.

Korcheck is a project ruck who might come good at age 25, Kreuze and Phillips are signed to 2017, and I don't see both remaining. There's definitely a window for taking a young ruck to start developing for the longer term.
Believe it not I actually rate Phillips. He showed some promising signs last year. Tall, mobile, athletic and a fairly decent kick...which he demonstrated against Essendon earlier in the season. With more opportunities I can see him turning out alright. No doubt we need more ruck depth but I can see Phillips assuming the no. 1 role soon.