Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

We took exception to your use of the word 'guarantee' and lack of explanation. Anyway, as you said, let's leave it at that.
I can 'guarantee' that there's more to it than that. Perhaps you guys are a little nervous pre-draft and are trying to fortify opinion. :cool:

Then again, on paper Jesse Glass-McCasker had decent DE and no one believes that on face value.

I'd still suggest Brodie had more than 1 efficient kick, paper or otherwise. The situation may vary and the length of kick may vary and they may count a long kick to a contest as efficient but they don't dodgy up the stats.

I'd say people are just as likely to see what they want to see as stats are to deceive.

TODN, is that from the so called official stats or from watching the game?

Does watching a game give you a 360 degree view of everything or a sense?

You know as well as I do, it doesn't.

But I don't count a kick effective, if you slam it on your boot from a stoppage and your teammate takes a contested mark

Also not say that Taranto has to be the guy selected at 5, he is in a group of guys that, I believe, should be considered

Not as yet Terry, but happy to share it with you when it's done.

In the meantime, happy for you to pick apart my ill informed effort last year

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/first-bigfooty-mock-draft-2015.1118031/

Not a bad effort. Pretty similar to everyone else's on Nov 24th last year.;)

Doesn't look like you took a set against any Top 12 Pick last year like you seem to have taken against Brodie this year. Not bemoaning you the right to have that opinion at all. I would just be interested to see your actual Top 20 atm.

It's not sheepstations here, whack up your list for interest's sake. You/we can always adjust it as the days/weeks go by.

Just watched some highlights of Brodie and if he is available we must take him.. His inside work is impressive, but so is his ability to get loose and become a linc up player, excellent speed, appears to have a great set of hands on him and his skills by foot are no where near as bad as some are making out.. People need to remember when looking at footage from Kardinia Park that is blows a gale there so foot skills are always going to be poor... Put him in an ethiad stadium and his foot skills will be fine.

Yeah, Brodie had an interesting game in the TAC Cup GF, I think he actually had one effective kick for the game, when he took a mark on the HBF and short passed backwards to Garthwaite in the back pocket, great kicking style
I think mail is he played a lot of footy and tired by seasons end?

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-13/callum-twomeys-phantom-form-guide-october-edition

"After a long year and lots of big performances, the load got on top of Brodie and he battled an ankle injury for the last month of the season."

I'll take him at pick 5.

I'd still suggest Brodie had more than 1 efficient kick, paper or otherwise. The situation may vary and the length of kick may vary and they may count a long kick to a contest as efficient but they don't dodgy up the stats.

I'd say people are just as likely to see what they want to see as stats are to deceive.

I am happy for you to find the other occasions, as I have it taped so viewing the game for the 7th time wouldn't faze me.

Agreed, situations are varied, but it seems that people here take exception to my black and white views on Brodie. I make no apologises, as grey is not part of my vernacular

Would be silly if the best available player with our second pick was a backman. I'm not liking our chances of getting a standout 'pure' midfielder with our second round pick.

I think you'd be right should a gun present, but if it's left to a say 55/45......we may lean towards the 45 mid.

Not a bad effort. Pretty similar to everyone else's on Nov 24th last year.;)

Doesn't look like you took a set against any Top 12 Pick last year like you seem to have taken against Brodie this year. Not bemoaning you the right to have that opinion at all. I would just be interested to see your actual Top 20 atm.

It's not sheepstations here, whack up your list for interest's sake. You/we can always adjust it as the days/weeks go by.

Everyone else's? So everyone had Mathieson outside the top 28 picks? And did everyone have Rioli at 30 like me despite media rumours? Sounds like you are questioning my integrity Terry?

Ok, if you are questioning my integrity, happy to post it this weekend. Will give you what I think will happen and what i think should happen

Look forward to seeing everyone else's too

There is a huge difference offering up a Phantom a day or two before the draft, than to put up ones own ranking.
Huge difference :)

Anyway, We'll all be wiser in a few weeks time.

That's ok, you guys don't know me from a bar of soap, so understand you questioning my ethics. Like I post to Terry, will post it this weekend

Show me where I have degraded/insulted one person on this site?

Lol mate take a chill pill...people were genuinely asking you how could 'guarantee' we wouldn't take Brodie at 5 and then you proceed to give them all attitude.

You also initially stated like you had inside knowledge, when it turns out it was nothing but just your personal opinion.

Here are some of your first few responses to people who had genuine questions:

I bet half you you have never watched Brodie play, only read what so called experts are guessing where he will be selected.
NO WAY WE WILL SELECT BRODIE AT 5 AND DUMAN AT 25
Awwww so you have never watched him play either, figures

Dont give people attitude then have a sook when people answer you back.

That's ok, you guys don't know me from a bar of soap, so understand you questioning my ethics. Like I post to Terry, will post it this weekend

I can't speak for others but I haven't questioned your ethics.

You guaranteed that Brodie won't be taken at 5 and that piqued interest, which is good.
Unfortunately though, you wouldn't back things up by putting forward who should be taken and why.

No-one cares for Phantom Drafts really. They're only a little fun that largely amount to little.
People that care are somewhat more invested in what people that go to games, think of the players, without prejudice. Much more interesting.

Wishlists are fine. Have to wonder about concerted and repetitive efforts to dissuade though. I guess I'd be inclined to look at a body of published work with pros and cons attached such as the stuff Knightmare does which is also fallible. If someone working at a club in recruiting gave an opinion, I'd have to concede ground as well.

Plenty of scope to express opinions and leave them for digestion. Less scope to drive for a consensus.

Lol mate take a chill pill...people were genuinely asking you how could 'guarantee' we wouldn't take Brodie at 5 and then you proceed to give them all attitude.

You also initially stated like you had inside knowledge, when it turns out it was nothing but just your personal opinion.

Here are some of your first few responses to people who had genuine questions:

Dont give people attitude then have a sook when people answer you back.

Ok we are going back to this are we?

Ok lets put it to rest once and fore-all then

I said the taboo word "Guarantee" we won't take Brodie at 5 and duman at 25

If the statement above, is so out of the question.

Tell me who here thinks we will pick up both of these guys

100% ?
90% ?
80% ?

Would love to know what you all think