Strategy 2016 Forward Line

Imagine this forward line
HF: Bliscavs Vardy Stanly
FF: Kerstan Hawkins Clark
Should stretch the oppositions backline
We'd get murdered.

Because 28 goal assists and 42 goals aren't an excellent return from 24 games? Throw in 4 to 5 tackles as well.

I know we like to talk down Rioli on this board, mostly because of the Hawthorn connection and the constant Rioli/Ablett comparisons in days gone by (surely that one is now settled), but he is still the best small forward in the competition along with Eddie Betts (and, if he keeps it up for another year or two, Robbie Gray). At the end of the day, I'd absolutely love to have him in hoops and unlike much of the rest of the poo'n'wee brigade, he actually seems to be a classy member of humanity too.

Don't confuse the players with a minority of supporters.
The players are class acts on and off field. By and large.
Putting on that jumper does not lessen their quality.

Lincs and Gregson performance against freo was very promising , is the first time for a long time that we have looked potent from a different group of players and from smalls. The have probably given selectors a bit of a head ache , probably hard to leave them out now.

It did show how quickness and agility is just as relevant as height depending on who we are playing.

Did Kersten last quarter do enough..I doubt it. Cockatoo while he does add pace and aggression , he needs to finish his work better , till he does he may be better further up field

To me the forwardline looks to be something like :

Menzel , Vardy , *** resting mid
Gregson , Hawkins , McCarthy

Lincs and Gregson performance against freo was very promising , is the first time for a long time that we have looked potent from a different group of players and from smalls. The have probably given selectors a bit of a head ache , probably hard to leave them out now.

It did show how quickness and agility is just as relevant as height depending on who we are playing.

Did Kersten last quarter do enough..I doubt it. Cockatoo while he does add pace and aggression , he needs to finish his work better , till he does he may be better further up field

I liked the ability of the team to score goals across the playing group. The reliance of the Forwards only to win it on the scoreboard is changing - and in that sense its much more like the 07-11 teams that had scores from 10+ players. ( Im not saying this group is that group but you get the theory).

And yes, the under 180 cm club is making a massive presence felt - not just on the scoreboard but in keeping it down there with defensive pressure.

Its also due to the MF getting better use of the pill, more clearances and .. oh wow… look at that… a true #1 ruck that is allowing not only hit outs to be won, but also a presence around the ground. And Zac has provided a target from kick ins and taken marks, been the link up target in the middle and pushed forward to take marks in the F50.
Firm… very firm.

All those factors play nicely in to allowing the group to spread the goal kicking love. And the more it happens, the more defenders will have to honour the NON forwards in forward 1/2 of our end. And THAT bodes even better for the true forwards looking to get the ball one on one.

Go Catters

Agree - should keep Linc and Gregson in.

Kersten, for mine, goes out. Simply not getting involved enough.

Agree - should keep Linc and Gregson in.

Kersten, for mine, goes out. Simply not getting involved enough.
Agree with Kersten but I rewatched the Dons game and him specifically and saw some interesting things IMO.
He had 3m clear space in the FP with the defender off him and mots puts the ball to the boundary and away from Kersten. He's ooen in the right spot and gets missed.

He gets the Joe the goose soccer goal.

He leads to the wing only to being ignored and the ball is turned over.

He is one out in the square and caddy centers the ball across the 50 and the bombers clear it out.
Kersten is at ff and the ball is kicked over his head and he gets back and shepards it thru blocking out the defender.
That is all in the first 1/2.

The bad - guthrie on the burst out of the middle and Kersten ball watches him instead of leading either to him or back to the goal line. Poor play.

I'm not saying Kersten does not need to do more. He does. Much more and for more a bit more aggressively. But I also think the concept that he does nothing and is of no value is not accurate either. ( not saying you said that specifically)

Go Catters

Don't confuse the players with a minority of supporters.
The players are class acts on and off field. By and large.
Putting on that jumper does not lessen their quality.

You are correct, but I should clarify - don't confuse the playing group as a whole with Jordan Lewis, Sam Mitchell...
As in...
you just named 2 of their very best players, and they are very good blokes

Drink drivers and rapists. Classy bunch.
You just covered our team there. Most , if not all teams.
Whatever indiscretion a player has committed in the past, it clearly has zilch to do with the jumper. A reflection on young men in our society. Anybody here able to condemn while being faultless themselves?
Of course.
We are quick to label, and the label seems to stick.

I liked the ability of the team to score goals across the playing group. The reliance of the Forwards only to win it on the scoreboard is changing - and in that sense its much more like the 07-11 teams that had scores from 10+ players. ( Im not saying this group is that group but you get the theory).

And yes, the under 180 cm club is making a massive presence felt - not just on the scoreboard but in keeping it down there with defensive pressure.

Its also due to the MF getting better use of the pill, more clearances and .. oh wow… look at that… a true #1 ruck that is allowing not only hit outs to be won, but also a presence around the ground. And Zac has provided a target from kick ins and taken marks, been the link up target in the middle and pushed forward to take marks in the F50.
Firm… very firm.

All those factors play nicely in to allowing the group to spread the goal kicking love. And the more it happens, the more defenders will have to honour the NON forwards in forward 1/2 of our end. And THAT bodes even better for the true forwards looking to get the ball one on one.

Go Catters

One of THE BEST things that I saw yesterday were the big guys taking contested, get out of jail marks when the ball was kicked in from the goal square. Zac, Vardy, Hawk, Blitz and Stanley.

Last year, we used to dream about doing that. It was always kicked to Harry or if for some chance it was kicked at Dawson, it came right back pinged at the goals.

Also, remember our round 2 (3?) game against Freo last year? They were winning the midfield battle and hitting targets at the 40-50m space in their forward line right in front of the goals. It was so annoying. Yet, they could only do that three or four times yesterday.

They really had no rhythm against us all game. We let them have the win yesterday through tactical experimentation. When we had our Plan A going at the start, we were creaming them. Now imagine Enright in the backline directing traffic - instead of Cowan?

Selwood in the middle with Danger instead of Cockatoo? Menzel instead of Bartel?

Duncan and Danger unleashed properly?

Fremantle would have been dispatched fairly comfortably.

Yes, their giant didn't play and he makes a big difference, but our mobile rucks would force him to be defensive around the ground too. Something he hasn't had to do with us for a while.

Adding to this, Fyfe had such a huge lack of impact. Blitz was all over him, as was Guthrie and Caddy. It was really good team defence. It also shows what life will be like for Fyfe without Sandi. A lot of his plays and dominance is directly related to getting first hands on it, straight from a dominant tap ruckman. To me, Danger is a lot better. He works with normal ruckman and is just a beast with speed.

Fyfe just has a good connection with Sandi and is a big strong mid who can jump. He was shown up big time by Hawthorn last year, whereas Danger tears games apart with no assistance.

Agree with Kersten but I rewatched the Dons game and him specifically and saw some interesting things IMO.
He had 3m clear space in the FP with the defender off him and mots puts the ball to the boundary and away from Kersten. He's ooen in the right spot and gets missed.

He is one out in the square and caddy centers the ball across the 50 and the bombers clear it out.
Kersten is at ff and the ball is kicked over his head and he gets back and shepards it thru blocking out the defender.

The bad - guthrie on the burst out of the middle and Kersten ball watches him instead of leading either to him or back to the goal line. Poor play.

I'm not saying Kersten does not need to do more. He does. Much more and for more a bit more aggressively. But I also think the concept that he does nothing and is of no value is not accurate either. ( not saying you said that specifically)

Go Catters
Daz 24 disposals 7 marks 4 tackles and 3 goals sounds like a good day out for Kersten,problem there is that was his combined 3 NAB games,He's not up to it not even against what that pathetic mob Essendon put up and the only reason he will get a few games this year is because we don't bat deep at all and that is a concern.

Fyfe just has a good connection with Sandi and is a big strong mid who can jump. He was shown up big time by Hawthorn last year, whereas Danger tears games apart with no assistance.

To be fair, Fyfe was fairly lame in the PF - in fact, probably from the previous time they played Hawthorn in Tassie and Mitchell went the deliberate cork and took him out. You don't remember seeing him struggling with a massive limp? If he had've been fit in that game it's likely Freo would've made the GF.

But yes it is great watching Danger go at it, isn't it? (Yes Bruce, it is.:D)

To be fair, Fyfe was fairly lame in the PF - in fact, probably from the previous time they played Hawthorn in Tassie and Mitchell went the deliberate cork and took him out. You don't remember seeing him struggling with a massive limp? If he had've been fit in that game it's likely Freo would've made the GF.

But yes it is great watching Danger go at it, isn't it? (Yes Bruce, it is.:D)
Fyfe was lame in Preliminary Final because he had been playing with a hairline stress fracture in his fibula. It had nothing to do with cork thigh he'd received 11 weeks earlier. Him and Brian Lake collided into each other in the opening minute or two of the game (clash of legs) and this appeared to make Fyfe's leg-fracture worse. He was rooted after that. He had a brief spell after half time where he somehow won 5 or 6 contests & clearances. Probably got another jab. It was a courageous effort. He tried really hard, the mind was willing, but the body failed him and he struggled.

The scores would've certainly been closer had Fyfe been fit, but the Hawks won the game 15.4 to 10.7 so I'm not sure one player would've made up that difference.

I rate Freo as a strong chance for this year's flag - one the favourites - so it was great signs for Geelong to lead for most of the game over there and go down by just one goal. Good hit out for Round 1 v Hawthorn. I have a feeling it's going to be a much tougher game than last year's round 1 blowout.

Go Catters

Agree with all you've said, and believe the key is in the bolded.

He has to DEMAND the ball.....demand players look for him, get to him - if he doesn't, and doesn't quickly, he might be tossed aside.

Not shy of committing the odd dirty act on-field though, particularly Elbows Mitchell.

Do you know them personally?
They do play on the edge, but Mitchell is as good as any mid playing today.
Mitchell, Yes.

Fair enough then, I'll go shoosh. Sorry mate
You are not saying anything that is offensive.
He has an Eastern Ranges heritage, so it is not a friendship or anything like that.
But in general, always safer to comment on footy stuff than off-field

The scores would've certainly been closer had Fyfe been fit, but the Hawks won the game 15.4 to 10.7 so I'm not sure one player would've made up that difference.

Key moments if I recall; Freo 2 goals up miss a sitter.

Crozier? soft as butter turnover in defensive 50.

Fair enough then, I'll go shoosh. Sorry mate

Mitchell is the ONE Hawk I can confidently pot for his off-field stuff. Heard a horror story (from a Hawthorn fan who had to deal with him and was horrified). Roughy, meanwhile, is an absolute champ who does unheralded and unpublicised charity work for sick kids. Can't say enough good words about the guy.

Mitchell is still a tremendous footballer, obviously.

Mitchell is the ONE Hawk I can confidently pot for his off-field stuff. Heard a horror story (from a Hawthorn fan who had to deal with him and was horrified). Roughy, meanwhile, is an absolute champ who does unheralded and unpublicised charity work for sick kids. Can't say enough good words about the guy.

Mitchell is still a tremendous footballer, obviously.
Fair enough; I am not aware of his recent life.
Maybe I'll go shoosh.