List Mgmt. 2016 Free Agency/Trades/Draft thread Part 3

That is bollocks. I know plenty of highly paid men and women that do very nicely. Don't fall that stupid media generalisation. People get paid well because they work hard, are smart and are good at what they do.

Yes but that is not a satisfying answer for someone who does not do nicely

It's can't be their fault so something else must be up

It's about viewing women as a commodity who's value is only measured by their appearance.

It's in poor taste, doesn't need to be a death sentence.
Agree.
As a side note I was always uncomfortable walking past the hill at AO at the cricket with the number games.
Our strategy was to wait til late arvo as we scored 9's and 10's :)

That is bollocks. I know plenty of highly paid men and women that do very nicely. Don't fall that stupid media generalisation. People get paid well because they work hard, are smart and are good at what they do.
I dont know about the short/tall stats, but that last sentence is just utter fantasy.

Just for context I was saying both C.Cameron AND C.Ellis-Yolmen for one of our early first rounders. No way would we ever consider giving up pick 8 for just Charlie alone.

Also, Gibbs AND Rockliff? Your salary cap is going to be bursting at the seams next year!

Honestly, what he said is not that unusual. Heaps of young men use similar language these days.

The blow-over shouldn't be about what he said so much, but where he said it (on a public forum such as Twitter, he should know that he's going to be in trouble when he says something like that in public).

If we are, in fact, interested in him, I think the over-reaction could work in our favour
Heaps of men have used this language for ever. It's time it stopped.

It's about viewing women as a commodity who's value is only measured by their appearance.

It's in poor taste, doesn't need to be a death sentence.

I think someone needs to tell the AFL that the Red Carpet thing before the Brownlow is sexist, because everyone rates the women by their appearance.

Unless it makes the AFL money, then it's okay.

EDIT: when someone says the bloke is punching above his weight, does that mean he's ugly? That's a no-no. Or does it mean she's attractive? That's also a no-no.

What sort of monster?

A Frankenstein?

A Werewolf?

or a FrankenWolf?

Actually, maybe it was a Dracula his better games this year were at night.
Monster wasn't the word I wanted to use, but the swear filter kept changing the one I wanted.

I think someone needs to tell the AFL that the Red Carpet thing before the Brownlow is sexist, because everyone rates the women by their appearance.

Unless it makes the AFL money, then it's okay.

EDIT: when someone says the bloke is punching above his weight, does that mean he's ugly? That's a no-no. Or does it mean she's attractive? That's also a no-no.
Gone are the days when you compliment a male or female on their appearance in the workplace.

Back to the footy.

Could have sworn he was at the end of his contract.

He had one year to run on his deal. Sando told Bernie that he wouldn't get offered a new contract so when presented the opportunity to play for Melbourne he did what was best for his future.

Ended up being a win/win for all parties.

Unless it makes the AFL money, then it's ok

Reference the Red Carpet. That " Everyone" is broken down into what the genders are looking at. As a woman I'm looking at the dresses, the hairstyles, shoes etc and men are possibly looking at everything else but !!

Lol..... nice one.
I just don't see how it couldn't be. The salary cap is only $10m and you'll have Tex, Sloane, Jenkins, Eddie, Gibbs and Rockliff all on decent coin. That's got to be like... at least $4-5m there. How do you fit another 35 blokes under the cap with $5m?

Heaps of men have used this language for ever. It's time it stopped.
I agree, but the thing is, it's not going to stop any time soon (unfortunately). The problem is where he said it, Rocky needs to be smarter than that. That said, it's not the worst thing someone has said about a woman, but it's still not good

Hypothetical, can two clubs trade a Free Agent if they choose to? Eg, Nth Melbourne want to keep the compensation pick they get for Wells, but if they take Hendo, they lose it. Could they then trade for Hendo instead and keep the compo pick? Just trying to think of scenarios as they appear to be holding off on Hendo and free agency?

Just a thought, not sure if they are allowed to do it anyway.