List Mgmt. 2016 Trade Thread

The Lewis deal has been nearly done for so long it must be charcoal by now.

Makes me laugh when the news outlets use language like 'deal all but done'.
Like, the only thing that makes a trade a trade is the actual trade, yeah? So, if there's no trade, how can it have been a trade?
Time for bed.

Like, the only thing that makes a trade a trade is the actual trade, yeah? So, if there's no trade, how can it have been a trade?
Time for bed.

Fyfe to Melbourne is all but done except for all of it.

Time for bed.

If there was a drinking game for every time the word "trade" gets mentioned, your liver would wave the white flag in record time.

Fyfe to Melbourne is all but done except for all of it.

Or if you sacrificed a goat the lord Imhotep and circumcised your first born and said 23 Hail Marys and your next door neighbour sung " I am an Oscar Meyer Weiner" then I could be done.

Time for bed.
Yes I've noticed this as well, they seem to use it way too often these days. May as well use replace it with 'like totally' at least that would be more definite.

Well, that was another 8 pages.

It's all an absolute certainty other than the required absolute certainty.

Everything that hasn't happened yet is almost happening.

Happening-poster.jpg

Actually, I honestly reckon they'll be more of a joke if they don't land him. They have no defence as is.
To be honest I agree. They have 2 KPD total.

Actually, I honestly reckon they'll be more of a joke if they don't land him. They have no defence as is.

But the fact that they're in this situation in the first place is an indictment on Their past 5 years. If next year is Finals or bust for Collingwood then Buckley is better looking at other opportunities now.

Dunn makes for a good get at a rebuilding team, but he is not the kind of bloke you hire to take the next step, he's the guy you get to stem the tide.

they have Howe :cool:
JH: "I want to play forward Bucks"
NB: "No worries, like Jack Gunston? .....If Jack Gunston was to play as a permanent defender and never play forward again?" (faster than a tv ad legal disclaimer)
JH: "Yeah, I want to be like Jack Gunston!"
NB: done! :tearsofjoy:

But the fact that they're in this situation in the first place is an indictment on Their past 5 years. If next year is Finals or bust for Collingwood then Buckley is better looking at other opportunities now.

Dunn makes for a good get at a rebuilding team, but he is not the kind of bloke you hire to take the next step, he's the guy you get to stem the tide.
Oh no doubt, also good chance their newly poached administrator Gubby Allan gets a multi-year suspension courtesy of ASADA due to the Whitfield scandal.

Time for bed.
Because the 'journos' actually have 0 idea of what is happening. They just try and make us think they do.

I actually want to keep Dunn, and play him in the side. I know I'm one-out but I still think Dunn is best 22. After every game we lost, the coaches criticised themselves for picking such a young, tired-looking side. Then fast forward to nek week, Dunn and Garland (less so him) named in the Casey side..

He's way better than OMac at this stage, in every facet of the game. Harsh, but true I think.

Because the 'journos' actually have 0 idea of what is happening. They just try and make us think they do.

The modern journalist is basically a dodgy marketing and promotions tool.

All they are good at is generating clicks on websites by spreading lies and making bold/outrageous statements that are nothing more than opinion.

Unfortunately, we are the sheep that let them get away with it.. Im definitely guilty of being fooled by their behaviour when it comes to AFL media.

The modern journalist is basically a dodgy marketing and promotions tool.

All they are good at is generating clicks on websites by spreading lies and making bold/outrageous statements that are nothing more than opinion.

Unfortunately, we are the sheep that let them get away with it.. Im definitely guilty of being fooled by their behaviour when it comes to AFL media.
Pretty much. I've not believed a word out of any of them since the $cully thing, where they were all 'certain' but half of them were wrong. Proved to me the other half were probably just lucky.

And Robbo. I turned on SEN yesterday after about a year of swearing off it only to hear him stuttering and stammering his way to 'believing' something to be true and then disagreed with the other guys for putting their opinion forward even though that's precisely what he did. No reasons behind anything, just a gut feel essentially. What's the point of listening to him? We all know more about footy than he does, so we are all more likely to formulate a better opinion than him. Hats off to him though. He obviously works hard and managed to convince the right people that he was the man for the job very successfully. It just staggers me though

Harsh on the journalists, actually. Most of them have pretty good connections with the industry, and often you'll find they do know more than the average punter - much more, in fact.

The pressure comes from the business side of the newspaper; the imperative to be 'first' with the news (getting more clicks, = more attractive to advertisers) is what leads to ridiculous situations like yesterday where you have the Age and Hun confirming the unconfirmed Lewis trade.

Harsh on the journalists, actually. Most of them have pretty good connections with the industry, and often you'll find they do know more than the average punter - much more, in fact.

The pressure comes from the business side of the newspaper; the imperative to be 'first' with the news (getting more clicks, = more attractive to advertisers) is what leads to ridiculous situations like yesterday where you have the Age and Hun confirming the unconfirmed Lewis trade.

Is that you Damian?