2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Mature aged prospect Tim Kelly who is turning 23 in July has started to gain a bit of attention in the media after a 35 disposal 7 goal performance over the weekend playing for South Fremantle in the WAFL. In his 10 games this season he has averaged 29 disposals and kicked 14 goals. I think we should seriously be looking at ready to go, mature agers from the state leagues who can come in and have a positive impact from day 1. It'd be handy finding another star mature ager type to add to our list like we did back in 2012 with Zorko.

His stats for those interested: http://www.wafl.com.au/players/view/4203

This article has some highlights of his 7 goal performance. He has sublime kicking skills. https://thewest.com.au/sport/ball-m...fremantle-star-tim-kellys-poise-ng-b88500514z

Elite stoppage player as well, so clean. Questions marks on him regarding AFL level would be fitness and defensive work.

Thanks mate was hoping someone on here had seen him live.

No worries, I follow South Freo in the WAFL so have seen him a bit. For mine, when he is on there isn't a better stoppage player in the WAFL. Can go cold at times though.

Last weekends effort against East Freo should be put in context ...East Freo haven't won a game this year and South got up by 145pts.

No worries, I follow South Freo in the WAFL so have seen him a bit. For mine, when he is on there isn't a better stoppage player in the WAFL. Can go cold at times though.

Last weekends effort against East Freo should be put in context ...East Freo haven't won a game this year and South got up by 145pts.
Yeah I've heard of a few players tearing East Freo apart. It isn't his only big game stats wise of the season though. He's had games of 38 disposals 1 goal, 39 disposals 1 goal and 28 disposals 3 goals.

Do you think he could transition successfully into the AFL bearing in mind that his weaknesses should improve once he is in a full time, professional environment?

Yeah I've heard of a few players tearing East Freo apart. It isn't his only big game stats wise of the season though. He's had games of 38 disposals 1 goal, 39 disposals 1 goal and 28 disposals 3 goals.

Do you think he could transition successfully into the AFL bearing in mind that his weaknesses should improve once he is in a full time, professional environment?

Yeah I'm 50/50 on whether he can impact at AFL level. I wouldn't mind giving him a crack at it though, very nice bloke from all reports as well.

You putting on the nibblies and lemonade briz? Who will be the keynote speaker?:)
I'd be hoping the club would be putting something on up here.

Not a chance I'd put a do on at my place.

If the club did something up here, how many would be interested?

I'd be happy to pay if it was a sit dinner event.

The club usually has a function in Melbs because the recruiters seem to be based there?

Fogarty is lining up at Centre for the game against WA. It'll be interesting to see if he plays the majority of his minutes there. Even with Schache re-signing if he was able to really push that midfield element of his game I would still be interested as a No1 pick.

I have mentioned a similar idea to a friend that works at the club, following along the lines of what some cities do for their American draft nights. I even suggested I would volunteer to organise a venue and function. He liked the idea but mentioned that it would be hard to get the Qld supporters turn up to a function like this. I believe that there is enough interest for it to work..

Might have to email the club.

Surely they could at least ask on FB or twitter.

At worst they could hold something at Springwood or even at the Gabba.

Count me in, reckon my wife would be the happiest out of us two. Get all giddy like a little school girl. Friday night this year as well!

For those who have Fox footy these games will be supposedly televised;
SA v Allies Rd 2 + Rd 4 (2xGames) & Rd 5 (2xGames) = 5 games. Possibility of Vic derby on afl.com.au Rd 3

Well I have tweeted the Lions asking for a Brisbane draft night. They could just open a bar/lounge at the Gabba for all I care. Drinks and nibblies would be enough. Big screen coverage and I'd be happy talking live with other Lions fans.

Wouldn't need any of the Lions recruiters or anything to give a run down. Just some where for Lions and draft fans to meet up.

So apparently Swann said in an interview today that the Lions will be applying for a Priority Pick at the end of the season.
If that's from the SEN interview that's taken a bit out of context.. Basically he said as of right now the club is focusing on winning games, only halfway through the season etc and will look into it later in the season if necessary. We would rather win games than be in a position to ask for a priority pick

Watching the Fox Footy postgame show in the background. John Ralph on the post game shows' news segment just said that Swann said he will talk to the AFL about a Priority Pick later in the year. No in the studio batted an eye lid at the comment.

So how does Schache's re-signing and Ballenden being an almost certain draftee impact on the clubs view of potential draftees?

You'd have to think pure mids would be the focus, which might put Fogarty out of the running. Though if Fogarty could play the majority of his minutes in the midfield, having Berry and Fogarty as midfield bookends would be a scary proposition.

I can see us not drafting Ballenden.

I wouldn't mind Fogarty, Stephensen and Worpel.

I'm not opposed to drafting a Gray, Martin, Petracca type who can play forward and midfield. A guy who can make an immediate impact up forward whilst building midfield capability seems ideal.

Jack Higgins. And won't require our first pick.

I can see us not drafting Ballenden.

I wouldn't mind Fogarty, Stephensen and Worpel.

I'd be surprised if we didn't take Ballenden for a few reasons:
  • he does actually seem to have a handy set of skills for a big guy, even if he hasn't had the year people would've liked. I'm not sure he has to be kicking 3 goals per game to add a lot of value if he can chip in with some contested marking and quality hit-outs.
  • he would spread the age profile of tall forwards (Close, Freeman and Hammelmann a bit too close together)
  • a legitimate ruck-forward or marking ruck is a huge asset. McInerney might become that too, but I think we'd be reluctant to pass up on a local like that.
  • it would hurt our campaign for longer draftee contracts if we weren't doing everything possible to get promising locals onto the list.
Passing on someone like Declan Watson is one thing, but passing on a kid with Ballenden's profile seems unlikely to me.

I'd be surprised if we didn't take Ballenden for a few reasons:
  • he does actually seem to have a handy set of skills for a big guy, even if he hasn't had the year people would've liked. I'm not sure he has to be kicking 3 goals per game to add a lot of value if he can chip in with some contested marking and quality hit-outs.
  • he would spread the age profile of tall forwards (Close, Freeman and Hammelmann a bit too close together)
  • a legitimate ruck-forward or marking ruck is a huge asset. McInerney might become that too, but I think we'd be reluctant to pass up on a local like that.
  • it would hurt our campaign for longer draftee contracts if we weren't doing everything possible to get promising locals onto the list.
Passing on someone like Declan Watson is one thing, but passing on a kid with Ballenden's profile seems unlikely to me.

I'm not sure he helps the age profile given Schache and Hipwood are only 2 years older. Those other three probably won't last if Ballenden are any good.
A ruck-forward is probably the main reason why we'd draft him but with our current list I don't think we'd draft him if he wasn't part of our academy.

I think passing on Watson was more surprising given we only had 3 key backs and we currently have at least 7 key forwards on our list.

Completely agree. I think we really need some immediate impact from our first round picks.