Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Not a chance any club will give up a top 10 pick. These days too valuable. Only happens for top end talent who are driven and are quality individuals. Way too risky

Stringer is talented but apparently lazy and doesn't do things anywhere near afl standard.. Combined with Hamstring injuries it's way too risky especially for a medium forward who Beveridge has had enough of

Club may risk a pick 15-20 but no way will a top 10 happen.

I have a theory Soapy!!

I.e. that "injury prone" players are often lazy buggers.

They don't embrace their training program properly, don't do their rehab properly - I.e. they do not prepare their body as professional footballer should.

Waite and Stringer are the poster boys for this club.

Unless he pulls his finger out Stringer will continue to be injury prone (just like Waite) and will average 13 games a year on big $.

Beveridge is no fool - if he wants him out of the Dogs there is a very good reason why.

Do not need another Waite at Carlton.

Luke Dahlhaus apparently up for trade. Interesting one.

25 year old mid/forward who generally has a real go. I rate him highly and can kick goals. Had poor year this year but so have most of the Bulldogs

Is he what we need, fit age bracket and would we chase him at 25 and if so what would he cost?

Love this lad.

Can play, goes hard.

"Fair Trade" is only relevant for coffee.
Would you buy chocolate off this man?
400743B500000578-4481248-image-a-17_1494127263034.jpg

I agree with that, but not 2 x 1st round draft picks.

Rather than say pick 10 on its own, I would be happy with a latish 1st & 2nd, gives us the opportunity to draft 2 quality kids. Unless of course it is a pick and a player

I'd be happy with that. Just don't think SOS will be

I have a theory Soapy!!

I.e. that "injury prone" players are often lazy buggers.

They don't embrace their training program properly, don't do their rehab properly - I.e. they do not prepare their body as professional footballer should.

Waite and Stringer are the poster boys for this club.

Unless he pulls his finger out Stringer will continue to be injury prone (just like Waite) and will average 13 games a year on big $.

Beveridge is no fool - if he wants him out of the Dogs there is a very good reason why.

Do not need another Waite at Carlton.

Very good points [emoji106]

I get what you're saying, but it doesn't fit the bill when a player is under contract.

They need to pay a premium / overs / whatever you want to call it, or SOS won't trade him..........

That's what we'd like them to pay, but there's more to it than that.

How many suitors does Gibbs have? One, Adelaide.

So there's two options - we keep him or we trade him for what Adelaide are prepared to pay. We can want two first rounders, but if Adelaide set the bar at a mid-late first rounder and a late second or early third (which is, honestly, a reasonable price) then the deal simply doesn't get done.

Who wins and who loses if Gibbs isn't traded?

Adelaide are looking for an edge to carry them to a flag. If they don't get Gibbs they can still recruit other players (ie. Rockliff), develop further internally (ie. Gallucci and Greenwood) and still take their picks to the draft. He's not their only avenue to success, just a convenient one.

Carlton get two more years out of Gibbs, then he probably goes to Adelaide anyway and we get Pick 19 at best, more likely a mid second rounder. During that time we're hoping he has a profound effect on our developing youth. Do we need that extra senior player, or does an extra year of experience into our young leaders have them ready to take the next step, with Docherty in particular spending more time on the ball.

Where am I going with this? Not entirely sure, but i'm starting to think that cashing in on a fair and reasonable return for Gibbs this year might be the right move for us.

It's not about whether we can force Adelaide to pay overs, because given the circumstances I can't see how they get sucked into that.

It's about what benefits Carlton the most. And I don't think it's necessarily the same situation this year as it was last year.

25 year old mid/forward who generally has a real go. I rate him highly and can kick goals. Had poor year this year but so have most of the Bulldogs

Is he what we need, fit age bracket and would we chase him at 25 and if so what would he cost?

Rate him, would rather we chase him than Stringer

I'm not saying being a former pick 16 means he's AFL standard, but it does typically indicate he has talent since he was rated that highly by recruiters in his junior career.
A players draft position is a snap shot in time that could be based on as little a one recruiting teams view. Jarrad Grants was rated by Clayton as a top 5 pick in his draft. Other clubs had him in the 20s.

Lang has shown very little in 3 years and redo the draft again he probably isn't in the top 30 now.

A players draft position is a snap shot in time that could be based on as little a one recruiting teams view. Jarrad Grants was rated by Clayton as a top 5 pick in his draft. Other clubs had him in the 20s.

Lang has shown very little in 3 years and redo the draft again he probably isn't in the top 30 now.

No he wouldn't.

But i'd still be interested in picking him up basically for free...clearly SOS is a fan after going after him last year and apparently again this year and he'd had very good judgement with us so far.

Others on here are saying 'no' to Lang which i think is pretty silly.

**** me and **** this flakey, fringe thinking..........

I reckon the Port player with the most potential is Ah Chee. can kick a goal and likes to win the hard ball.

Probably too old at 24 years old but would be very cheap and only doesn't get a regular AFL gig due to playing a similar role to both Grey's.

In a nutshell: isn't a spud.

TA

24is young mate

Would be a very good fit for us, I think he would cost a pick 15-20 but surely the dogs would want a player.

Gibbs & 2018 3rd rd pick to Adelaide for #10 (Lever pick) #17
Graham & Boekhorst + #17 to WCE for L.Partington, #30 + #85
#30 to Port for J.Atley
#56 to Freo for H.Balic

Thoughts?

I had a long chat with my Blues supporting mate down in Tassie yesterday and I made the suggestion that after this first week of finals, I'm expecting most clubs to trade harder this year than they ever have.

The rationale behind that belief is that the losing finals teams got really belted and therefore will be looking to adjust their list accordingly. Even though Port lost narrowly, they still have some areas that need improving, their midfield would certainly benefit from a Gibbs type of player.

I'm certain this won't necessarily affect the overall value of any of our players (ie. radically increase) who will be leaving but it does make me think that SOS will be pushing hard to find homes for few of the fringe players instead of purely delisting them. I can see a club or two prepared to give Buckley, Graham & Boekhorst a second chance in the belief that they can get more out of them than we did.

The mooted limitation on this upcoming draft pool may also have a direct influence on this line of thinking.
Gibbs at Port makes more sense than at the Crows. They could certainly use a goalkicking mid and improved delivery inside 50. Problem is what can Port offer to satisfy SOS?