Analysis 2017 Non-Crows Discussion Thread - Part V for Vendetta

Slightly off-topic... but why the **** doesn't Outlook display gifs in motion?

What a stupid ******* idea. I'm trying to send a gif to my boss to display how God-awful dumb something is, and it will only do static images.

Grrr.
Seeing as though this wasn't answered, you definitely can send gifs in outlook. Save the gif to your computer. Open Outlook. Click New Email. Click on Insert tab. Click on pictures. Select gif that you want to send. Will take a second to load. As mentioned, it will show as a static picture but the gif will be animated when the receiver gets it. Job done. Send it to yourself first if you want proof.

Probably going to say something that is obvious but Im going to say it.

This forum has been a life saver for me at some times in my life, I have had some horrendous dark moments and if not for the banter, the lols, the memes and the Janus with his bs, Im not sure where I would be. I have had endured some scary moments and its comforting to hear arguments about which player to choose or what jumper we should wear. Its the silly arguments that makes this forum sometimes a peaceful place to be.

Actually I do where I would be if not for BF, but thats a darker place.

Anyways those that post on here over this time of the year are in some part of need of companionship, not all, maybe very very few. Sometimes I am one of them.

Thank you to all that have made me smile this year. Even if it is once.

I apologize if I have pissed some people off on here, yes at times I have done it deliberately. Sometimes I should know better that maybe those people are like me that are in need of a friendly chat or banter.

To those that I have hurled hurtful comments at, I am sorry.

Most of us have all been there and I battle with the after effects from my former profession. You are not alone. My door is always open.

Almost into test match duration. I’ll need to book in my holidays to coincide.

I've said before, they were serving two masters and recruiting for their SANFL side. Same as if they take Lindsay Thomas

Excuse me, folks. I know it is not my house, but I would like to say that MRB37 is right on this. The DFA signings were primarily to serve the Magpies. If they end up to be good enough to play for the Power, that's a plus. They will be busts only if they cannot contribute for our SANFL side, either by playing well or mentoring the kids (for Trengove and Thomas).

It's interesting how some people call these players depth but deny they're list cloggers because they can delist them next year and load up on draftees.

If these players are that valuable, why do they already have plans for getting rid of them?

They are depth because they are proven AFL assets that most probably can play well against SANFL opposition. They are depth because they are replacements, i.e. worse than the players on our First-XXII. That's all.

The plan, however, is not to get rid of them. The point is that we are allowed to get rid of them with no costs if we think they won't be able to contribute in 2019. On the other hand, if they prove to be valuable for the team, and if they want to stay, then we could still re-sign them.

McKenzie, Trengove, and (possibly) Thomas are low-risk/high-reward moves. They are not supposed to make us AFL Premiership favorites or anything remotely like that.

They are depth because they are proven AFL assets that most probably can play well against SANFL opposition. They are depth because they are replacements, i.e. worse than the players on our First-XXII. That's all.

The plan, however, is not to get rid of them. The point is that we are allowed to get rid of them with no costs if we think they won't be able to contribute in 2019. On the other hand, if they prove to be valuable for the team, and if they want to stay, then we could still re-sign them.

McKenzie, Trengove, and (possibly) Thomas are low-risk/high-reward moves. They are not supposed to make us AFL Premiership favorites or anything remotely like that.

They might have previously been "proven AFL assets", but in the last year or two it's been painfully obvious that none of the 3 players you've named are AFL standard players anymore (hence why all 3 were delisted by their former clubs). Therefore, they don't provide good depth because if you get injuries to players in your best 22 you'll be forced to play these players who clearly aren't good enough to play AFL anymore.

There is no potential for "high reward". If you watched any of the 3 play last year, you would know that.

They might have previously been "proven AFL assets", but in the last year or two it's been painfully obvious that none of the 3 players you've named are AFL standard players anymore (hence why all 3 were delisted by their former clubs). Therefore, they don't provide good depth because if you get injuries to players in your best 22 you'll be forced to play these players who clearly aren't good enough to play AFL anymore.

There is no potential for "high reward". If you watched any of the 3 play last year, you would know that.

Proven in the sense we know who they are and what they can do. McKenzie is our biggest bet in that regard.

They don't need to be "good depth," but only "good enough" (i.e. "not bad;" players that can allow others to rest in games against bottom-dwellers without risking a win). We think they can be that. Let's see...

Proven in the sense we know who they are and what they can do. McKenzie is our biggest bet in that regard.

They don't need to be "good depth," but only "good enough" (i.e. "not bad;" players that can allow others to rest in games against bottom-dwellers without risking a win). We think they can be that. Let's see...
What if you get injuries?

So let's get this straight. You voluntarily play a sport in which your head gets hit from time to time.

The league changes the rules in order to reduce the incidence of concussion, but it remains one of the most contact-heavy sports in the world.

You continue to play it voluntarily. You get concussed. So what do you do? Sue the league for holding the competition you willingly and gladly participated in.

So let's get this straight. You voluntarily play a sport in which your head gets hit from time to time.

The league changes the rules in order to reduce the incidence of concussion, but it remains one of the most contact-heavy sports in the world.

You continue to play it voluntarily. You get concussed. So what do you do? Sue the league for holding the competition you willingly and gladly participated in.

Depends when you found out that repeated concussions causes CTE later in life

The reason no one is that interested in thr draft compared to NFL is because the wider football public don't know the players. They're not publicy recognised high school and college stars like the US.

Any tinkering with the format will change nothing.

Probably going to say something that is obvious but Im going to say it.

This forum has been a life saver for me at some times in my life, I have had some horrendous dark moments and if not for the banter, the lols, the memes and the Janus with his bs, Im not sure where I would be. I have had endured some scary moments and its comforting to hear arguments about which player to choose or what jumper we should wear. Its the silly arguments that makes this forum sometimes a peaceful place to be.

Actually I do where I would be if not for BF, but thats a darker place.

Anyways those that post on here over this time of the year are in some part of need of companionship, not all, maybe very very few. Sometimes I am one of them.

Thank you to all that have made me smile this year. Even if it is once.

I apologize if I have pissed some people off on here, yes at times I have done it deliberately. Sometimes I should know better that maybe those people are like me that are in need of a friendly chat or banter.

To those that I have hurled hurtful comments at, I am sorry.

We all need an out at sometime in life & BF can provide that out, never found your posting style offensive at all maybe a little wacky at times though.

Did I ever say that I was old & I mean really old.

Scott Thompson has played a lot more quality AFL games over the last two seasons than Trengove, McKenzie and Thomas.

Just because someone has played good AFL footy in the past doesn’t alter the fact that once a player is cooked, it’s over. We have suffered in the past by retaining players who are well beyond their used by date. Every game they play is one less played by a KID with potential to develop into an AFL player.

IMHO, Gibson is in our best 22 so if he is playing SANFL then some of our KIDS have overtaken him (which I hope will happen). If Trengove, McKenzie and Thomas are playing AFL then it will either be a miracle or Port Power will be in a world of pain.

No Probs. There's the media, the VFL, the MCG and there is umpiring. Problem solved.
Was going to post the same.
Not sure why a club that has had an assistant die from cancer and head coach get murdered can't get fairytale status. Oh wait, we're not from Vic.

We all need an out at sometime in life & BF can provide that out, never found your posting style offensive at all maybe a little wacky at times though.

Did I ever say that I was old & I mean really old.
I’d be interested to know just how old noddy. Reason being, I’m rapidly chalking up the years (seemingly they disappear faster each year) and politeness and tolerance seem to be a trademark of your posting, especially when dealing with idiot Port flogs. Me on the other hand...well, I’m just wondering if I’m turning into that grumpy old campaigner youths and my wife say we turn into as the years tick by. (Yeah, I’m not so old, doesn’t mean my ticker agrees with that though)

Scott Thompson has played a lot more quality AFL games over the last two seasons than Trengove, McKenzie and Thomas.

Just because someone has played good AFL footy in the past doesn’t alter the fact that once a player is cooked, it’s over. We have suffered in the past by retaining players who are well beyond their used by date. Every game they play is one less played by a KID with potential to develop into an AFL player.

IMHO, Gibson is in our best 22 so if he is playing SANFL then some of our KIDS have overtaken him (which I hope will happen). If Trengove, McKenzie and Thomas are playing AFL then it will either be a miracle or Port Power will be in a world of pain.

But that is precisely it.

I’d be interested to know just how old noddy. Reason being, I’m rapidly chalking up the years (seemingly they disappear faster each year) and politeness and tolerance seem to be a trademark of your posting, especially when dealing with idiot Port flogs. Me on the other hand...well, I’m just wondering if I’m turning into that grumpy old campaigner youths and my wife say we turn into as the years tick by. (Yeah, I’m not so old, doesn’t mean my ticker agrees with that though)

Growing older is not correlated with grumpiness nor reason, compassion or wisdom any more than being young is related to any of these things. My take on it is that people are arseholes or not whatever age they be.

Put it this mate very few own teeth, osteoarthritis, always in the shit with her who thinks she knows best.

Thank the lord for BF

The reason no one is that interested in thr draft compared to NFL is because the wider football public don't know the players. They're not publicy recognised high school and college stars like the US.

Any tinkering with the format will change nothing.

Correct, if they want to make the AFL Draft more popular they need to start nationally televising U18 games. Otherwise the draft is never going to hold the same interest here as the NBA and NFL drafts do in the US.

Put it this mate very few own teeth, osteoarthritis, always in the shit with her who thinks she knows best.

Thank the lord for BF

Osteo? Use Gotu Kola--also known as Pennywort. I have it growing in my yard. Two to three small leaves a day will change your life. Can also get pills from health shops.