Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Stratton should be suspended by the MRP

Votes: 50 89.3%

In January 2018, they were meant to know 2018 was a s**t season? o_O
It was the off season, not in the middle of having a s**t season.
As I said, when there was NO pressure to extend him, why do it? Why not wait? Do you think he wouldn't have signed that 3yr deal had he been offered in say June?

Both of us blinked. Both coaches took us to the cleaners.

'Pyke wasn't due to come out of contract until the end of this season, but the Crows hierarchy have moved swiftly to assure the two-time premiership West Coast player's long-term future is tied to West Lakes. '

Cmon Geoffa, atleast acknowledge you extended him during a s**t season too. Open your other eye.... Don't pretend Adelaide and it's fans are demanding change any different to Port. Clearly 2018 wasn't JUST down to the pre-season and injuries, it should have served as a bigger warning.
Fair call.

I thought it was after 2017.

Still, no way our club extends a coach after three seasons of no Finals. And it was a year after making the GF.

Even Triggy wouldn't have done that.

Could you imagine Bucky Cunningham giving Ken an extension, with Ken using Gold Coast as leverage after those three years. He would push Ken out of bus office then throw a bottle of sunscreen at him for him to use in his new home city.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I know, I'm well aware, but like with Hinkley, both got extended EARLIER than they needed to be.

There was zero reason at the time. He wasn't going anywere, he wasn't using it to his advantage (like Hinkley with the GC threat).
Hinkley was extended mid season when your senior management shit their pants that he'd leave to take a role with GCS. Not only that he was given a healthy pay rise. Yet he hadn't taken the team to a winning final in 3 years. Massive difference

Have to agree with you here. PWC are a legit company.
Now whether the agreement is an actual sponsorship and what $$$ it includes is a different discussion. But they are a very real and quite sizeable company.

Saw something from Koch over the weekend, mentioned it's an actual mid-tier partner (same level as RAA and BankSA), a one-year sponsorship.

Probably not something that would get a mention over here, but good for them.

Fair call.

I thought it was after 2017.

Still, no way our club extends a coach after three seasons of no Finals. And it was a year after making the GF.

Even Triggy wouldn't have done that.

Could you imagine Bucky Cunningham given Ken an extension, with Ken using Gold Coast as leverage after those three years. He would push Ken out of bus office then throw a bottle of sunscreen at him for him to use in his new home city.

Won't argue that at all, as above, both Coaches played us well, however Pyke could have easily been negotiated months later, I don't see the threat/risk otherwise.

More so, after a disappointing GF loss, you just never know how the team will perform again.

Atleast Port had the threat of GC poaching him.... though I'd have taken Dew every day of the week over Hinkley if that was the case....

I know I’m biased but am I reading this correctly that it’s the supporters fault?
Keefy :
“I think we have a bigger problem, and I am to blame not the footy department.

Back in 2014, the Port Adelaide Football Club was lauded.

We had arrived at Adelaide Oval playing an exciting brand of football, and we were winning consistently.

But that wasn’t all.

We were also independently recognised as having the some of the most engaged supporters in world sport.

We were operating in this glorious sweet spot where our on field performances were mirroring the values our community expected of its football Club.

Fast, aggressive, Never Ever Give Up footy…and a Club mindset that always put our community first.

I remember our team putting 30,000 T Shirts on the seats of Adelaide Oval, the local vibe of the Game Day Village, and pounding our way through the railway station on the March from the Mall”

Hinkley was extended mid season when your senior management s**t their pants that he'd leave to take a role with GCS. Not only that he was given a healthy pay rise. Yet he hadn't taken the team to a winning final in 3 years. Massive difference
No argument, both of us blinked too early.

Port obviously felt they didn't wanna risk losing him, maybe things like Ollie's contract extension played into that, who knows. I don't think many were happy when we did either, but I can see why they did, obviously that doesn't make it the right decision. Obviously a very conservative decision.

Doesn't surprise me the least.

You just look really really stupid right now.

They aren't some ******* nobody.

Never ever heard of them!

How much they giving you?

Is it $$$$ in the bank or more airy fairy business contact in China stuff ?

Oh- and it’s neither here nor there whether I know who they are.

You want to have a crack perhaps you could explain who and what they’re going to do for your club - maybe they got a 20,000 workforce they can send to your game.
Jamie Briggs might have a few friends he can bring !🤣🍷🍷🍷🍷

No argument, both of us blinked too early.

Port obviously felt they didn't wanna risk losing him, maybe things like Ollie's contract extension played into that, who knows. I don't think many were happy when we did either, but I can see why they did, obviously that doesn't make it the right decision. Obviously a very conservative decision.
It funny, most people genuinely believe that the Power got played by Hinkley and his manager. I have never read any definitive articles that Hinkley was ever genuinely being considered or even interviewed for the senior coaches role at the Suns.

At least with Longmire this year, North confirmed that they did approach him and offer a contract

Never ever heard of them!
Keep looking stupid, I knew it was you, the only one I have blocked who was wondering who one of the worlds biggest companies are.... LOL

Don't waste your time quoting me, you made an absolute idiot out of yourself and now you are still going along....

Maybe read my post next time where I said you extended him in a s**t season.... unless you think 2018 wasn't?

Than get back to me, how I undermined my post...

What reason was there to extend him so early? We both extended our coaches early. Both were monumental mistakes.

But ours had got us into finals

Mmm now who looks stupid

Won't argue that at all, as above, both Coaches played us well, however Pyke could have easily been negotiated months later, I don't see the threat/risk otherwise.

More so, after a disappointing GF loss, you just never know how the team will perform again.

Atleast Port had the threat of GC poaching him.... though I'd have taken Dew every day of the week over Hinkley if that was the case....
"Threat" or opportunity by his managment and spruiked by Kane Cornes in the media.

It was only a few weeks after Bolton got sacked that Kano was spruiking Ken for the Carlton job.

From what I hear Dew was the AFL preferred candidate given he was cheap and top of the class in the coaching courses.

On Pyke I am undecided about his quality. I look at our assistants and see a lack of quality. I watch us play and I see guys who cant tackle and key forwards who cant take a contested mark. Is that on Pyke. Maybe I am unsure. But we need someone at the club who can teach tackle technique. Along with recruiting guys who have the want to hit a body hard and stop their opponent. A similar attitude needed to demand the ball in a contested mark position.

Mmm now who looks stupid
SA Football 2019

My dumb **** club is better than your dumb **** club....
My shit coach is better than your shit coach?

Is that how this story goes?

We are setting some really high standards in this state... seems like you don't mind accepting them.

From what I hear Dew was the AFL preferred candidate given he was cheap and top of the class in the coaching courses.
Wouldn't be anyone else I would have wanted more, success follows him.

He'll either go down as a hero if he rescues GC, but more than likely he'll just go on the scrap heap unfairly.

Won’t be long with 27000 turning up on Saturday nights !

Of the 20 lowest crowds at Adelaide Oval - 3 of the 4 lowest have happened in 2019. In addition, 5 of the 20 have occurred in 2019 with a further 3 in 2018 and 4 in 2017 - that is 12 of the 20 lowest crowds have happened in the past 3 years.

Expecting the last two home games to be just as bad if they are out of finals contention.

Of the 20 lowest crowds at Adelaide Oval - 3 of the 4 lowest have happened in 2019. In addition, 5 of the 20 have occurred in 2019 with a further 3 in 2018 and 4 in 2017 - that is 12 of the 20 lowest crowds have happened in the past 3 years.

Yep, Port keep replacing their own lowest crowd records in the top 20.

Pretty confident they had the whole top 20 to themselves before this season so that gives them the whole top 25 and probably more.

From 2 less home games, we've had an equivalent of 9 average Port crowds more than them through the gate to see us.

So much for this 50/50 now stuff, the last Stadium deals were done when both clubs were pretty strong right? Hopefully we are getting the reward for turning up, if not, negotiate our own deal next time.

With Hinkley it was the perceived risk posed by GC

With Pyke, you’re right, there was no immediate risk or threat of him leaving. The extension was to reward him for getting to the GF and when you’ve got a coach who’s just taken you to a GF, if he’s got one year to go it’s pretty normal to lock him up and prevent other clubs circling

Unlike Hinkley, Pyke had proved he was capable. Big difference

Maybe read my post next time where I said you extended him in a s**t season.... unless you think 2018 wasn't?

Roughly what percentage of the 2018 season do you reckon we were dealing with on 25 January 2018? Let’s say to the nearest 10%.

Than get back to me, how I undermined my post...

At the time Pyke’s contract was extended, the previous match was a grand final. Whether the 2018 season turned to manure or not clearly not a factor in the extension, so your argument is bizarre.

With Hinkley it was the perceived risk posed by GC

With Pyke, you’re right, there was no immediate risk or threat of him leaving. The extension was to reward him for getting to the GF and when you’ve got a coach who’s just taken you to a GF, if he’s got one year to go it’s pretty normal to lock him up and prevent other clubs circling

Unlike Hinkley, Pyke had proved he was capable. Big difference
It shouldn't be that difficult to understand really.