List Mgmt. 2019 Trade Thread

Yeah, Martin's stats aren't that impressive, provably below Newnes. But he is good for a bit of x factor I know. Hasn't really come on like most thought, hard to know what we'd have to give up.

Not sure where we'd end up playing Tomlinson.

Like I said, unfulfilled talent. I’d back him in to mature & become a more complete player. He’s similar age to Billings.

I’d prefer to give up say pick 12 for Martin rather than going to the draft. Even if we had to pay him 600-650k.

Like I said, unfulfilled talent. I’d back him in to mature & become a more complete player. He’s similar age to Billings.

I’d prefer to give up say pick 12 for Martin rather than going to the draft. Even if we had to pay him 600-650k.
Yeah he's cost every bit of that I reckon, just for his potential.

I'd probably be happier to do it the higher we finish up the ladder.

It still leaves us with a hole in the midfield though and one less high draft pick and cap space to fill it.

You've gotta take talent when it's there to take though.

Surely the fact Martin has 16 clearances for the year and has had 39 CP's in total for 3 of his games suggests he can play on the inside.

And with Stuv (hopefully), Seb, Steele, Gresh, Hunter and so-on likely to play there a bunch going forward, we don't necessarily need someone who plays mostly in the guts.

Sure if there's a Kelly/Coniglio type who wants to come to us we'd prioritise them, but if not, Martin would probably be my next preference.

Someone like him who we can confidently add to the inside rotation for as much or as little as we like would be a whole lot better than just taking a pick like say 10ish to the draft, IMO.

Imagine a forwardline with Winx, Bruce and Skunk patrolling the air and Gresh, Martin, Long, Parker, Lonie and maybe Kent swarming around their feet!

Surely the fact Martin has 16 clearances for the year and has had 39 CP's in total for 3 of his games suggests he can play on the inside.

And with Stuv (hopefully), Seb, Steele, Gresh, Hunter and so-on likely to play there a bunch going forward, we don't necessarily need someone who plays mostly in the guts.

Sure if there's a Kelly/Coniglio type who wants to come to us we'd prioritise them, but if not, Martin would probably be my next preference.

Someone like him who we can confidently add to the inside rotation for as much or as little as we like would be a whole lot better than just taking a pick like say 10ish to the draft, IMO.

Imagine a forwardline with Winx, Bruce and Skunk patrolling the air and Gresh, Martin, Long, Parker, Lonie and maybe Kent swarming around their feet!
Yeah, I was really surprised to see how much contested footy he wins. His numbers overall aren't huge but half of them are contested touches and also has plenty of tackles.

His stats are actually a lot closer to Jack Steeles than they are to Jack Newnes. Same amount of contested possessions, similar clearances.

Yeah, I was really surprised to see how much contested footy he wins. His numbers overall aren't huge but half of them are contested touches and also has plenty of tackles.

His stats are actually a lot closer to Jack Steeles than they are to Jack Newnes. Same amount of contested possessions, similar clearances.
And from way less midfield time!

Had games last year of 9, 9, 8, 8, 7, 6, 6 tackles and is good for about 1 contested mark per game.

Dons has a crack at him at the end of last year and according to MITSUHIRATO he tried to get to Port Adelaide aggression on the quiet.

Next year Armitage will be gone one of Longer or Pierce , maybe Rice and Rowe and doubts over McCartin and Roberton.
We have plenty of room for players and they will only make the team stronger if any of Jones , Martin or Tomlinson come to our club.
Tomlinson being a FA would be good due to the fact he will not cost ant draft picks.
I'm pretty sure Gubby Allen would have his feelers out everywhere.

Won’t get a game.

Seriously ...just recycled rumour according to former StKilda recruiter .

The only info I got was Jye Caldwell. homesick..
I'd imagine we'd go fairly hard at Caldwell if true. We did try hard to do a deal with the Giants to get their pick to take him.

Not sure about Tomlinson. Who's spot would he take if Snake was back?
Not sure who exactly, but I'd be surprised if he wasn't best 22. Can play him back, forward and wing and even throw him in the ruck.

He seems to have important roles at the Giants regularly so whilst he isn't a star seems like the type that buys in and is very coachable.

Well Martin is far from an elite midfielder so we'd probably have to ask ourselves whether he is worth giving up a first round pick for.

Coniglio would he ideal being a FA, but extremely unlikely.
agree , I would only use our draft pick on a true star mid or a kid that could become one like Caldwell , Cerra , Bonar types that were first round draft picks
Having Steele , Ross , Steven , Gresham , Acres and grooming Hunter , Coffield , Bytel is Martin the mid we want.

But if he want to come to us do you knock him back - I don't think they would.

With dunstan banished to the VFL seemingly forever the club must be seriously concerned about our whipping boy depth in the ones.

Martin has limitless amount of untapped potential.

So did Justin Koschitzke, Raph Clarke and every other member of the Stkilda Whipping Boy Hall of Fame.

He's like shane savage if you extracted everything about shane savage that makes him good.

With dunstan banished to the VFL seemingly forever the club must be seriously concerned about our whipping boy depth in the ones.

So did Justin Koschitzke, Raph Clarke and every other member of the Stkilda Whipping Boy Hall of Fame.

He's like shane savage if you extracted everything about shane savage that makes him good.

I totally disagree. Even with his current output he’s a very good player. He’s surprisingly a really tough player that wins his own footy & tackles really hard. He’s more like a better version of Ben Long than the players you mentioned. Savage, really?

I'd imagine we'd go fairly hard at Caldwell if true. We did try hard to do a deal with the Giants to get their pick to take him.

we were linked to him weren't we? i think i was into him from memory. if its the kid i'm thinking of man that'd be a good get!

Yes we were. We tried to live trade with the Giants to get him.

He looks a talent, but his body worries me. Missed most of his 18's footy and has already broken down this year.

now we are talking. we need to use our good start and optimism to nail some targets. we should be able to wrap up tomlinson no worries given his management were keen a couple years back. which would mean we don't have to worry so much about browns age, nor carlisles back. giants will be prioritising their mids too. we'll get him i think.

martin i'm not sold on. i think long and parker are going well. i don't know where we see martin playing? would he force out someone like kent? is he a free agent?

i think we need a genuine inside mid. what can we pry out. a fit luke parker would be amazing. wines would be my wish.

we need to be mindful of not bringing in too much change.
He was never coming Tomlinson

Seriously - 88 games from a Pick 17 is considered a bust?

Strange since the average games for Pick 17 over 35 drafts is only 68.

Pick 22 has averaged 44 games so McKenzie (38) is pretty much on par.

It might be a bit harsh but I thinking in terms of players that consolidated their position in the best 22. The best 22 for a contender is more the point.

As it stands Dunstan hasn’t been able to do this. Overall of those 88 games he has been a below average level player for his position. Is he a player that would be best 22 on a contender? Or a depth player around 23-26 on the list? I think the latter. If that’s your standard then have him as a middling first round pick. It’s a low bar though just saying.

That “bust” Mc Kenzie is looking pretty settled in our 22. ( concussion aside.)

White has been emergency lately (twice?) Not writing him off just yet either.
(Edit: OK, wrong White as pointed out by ARR)

Easy to put Paddy and Goddard in that category with hindsight, but no one can predict major injuries. Although the diabetes issue should have been a huge red flag, esp for a number one pick.

Spencer White.

I can definitely see the argument for McKenzie as a middling pick.

It’s all in hindsight. There is good and bad luck involved.

Yes pls to Jack Martin. Is playing very well this year from what I’ve seen and he’s pretty versatile; half back, wing or forward.
I think he’s just about to hit his peak. Over his injuries and playing a very good forward roll. Averaging over 20 disposals, with a lot contested and his tackling has been elite. Would slot in perfectly on the half forward line and relief wing. I’d happily give our first pick this year, that’s looking closer to mid teens.