Richmond v Carlton - 211k (7 metro), 64k (fox) - National 7 (melb/adl), 7mate

Saturday
GWS v Gold Coast - 24k (7metro), 45k (fox) - Syd/Brs 7mate only
Melb v Nth Melb - 45k (7metro), 55k (Fox) - Syd/Melb 7mate only
Bris v Adelaide - 38k (7 metro), 22k (Fox) - Bris/Adl 7 mate only

Sunday
Coling. v WCE - 38k (7 metro) - 7 Perth only
St Kilda v Bulldogs - 28k (7 metro) - 7mate Melb/Adl only
Frem v Geelong - 17k (7 metro) - 7mate Perth only.
Sunday Fox - 41k + 35k - not specified, one match missing.

Do you mind explaining the differences in broadcasting strategy and how it might affect the figures?

Last season we had 2 games broadcast nationally on Saturdays - one in the afternoon, one in the evening during prime time, with others. In R1 this year at least, while 3 games were broadcast in each city, only 1 was national, with no other game shown in more than 2 clties.

Last round 1, only 4 games even had a broadcast out of 5. This year all 7 were featured in at least one city, 4 in at least two. Both Perth games were stand alone.

Even though the Eagles AFLW team will no doubt average bigger crowds than the Dockers AFLW team over time, and this weeks Derby will help boost the crowd for the Eagles first home game, I suspect this crowd won’t be as big as the Dockers first game at Optus Stadium as that crowd was bolstered by being the first ever football game of any sort at the brand new stadium and a lot of people would have gone just for that experience besides from the actual AFLW game.

Still it will be interesting to see the RAC Derby crowd especially with the $3 entry fee as a fundraiser for the bushfire appeal.

I assumed they'd get 50k plus when they announced it. I haven't heard how ticket sales are going though.

Have to say though that Lathlain and Leederville are far better venues in summer than Freo Oval is, especially since for some reason they refuse to play games there at night.

I assumed they'd get 50k plus when they announced it. I haven't heard how ticket sales are going though.

Have to say though that Lathlain and Leederville are far better venues in summer than Freo Oval is, especially since for some reason they refuse to play games there at night.
I didnt think it would get anywhere near that much. Someone on a different thread said 15k tickets got sold the first day, but I dont know where that number came from.

That Gold Coast crowd is the biggest northern states AFLW crowd except for the grand final at the same ground in 2017
Womens footy pretty popular up here.
all the girls playing it. Once these juniors all age, girls and boys, we going to have a good pool of supporters

Questionable whether North's decision to base its AFLW team in Tassie has worked.

2k yesterday and even the Tasmanian branding of the team hasn't really attracted the footy loving locals.

Exactly NP. The whole point of getting backing (the team isn't based in Tasmania, for a start) from AFL Tas and the state government there was to secure an AFLW licence for North Melbourne.

Beyond that, Melbourne and North played in front of 3500 for R1 (albeit in the hole that is Casey Fields). No reason to expect more than 2k for yesterday's match against GWS in Launceston.

That said, I doubt it was a crowd that makes the league think "gee look at that huge support, we should play even more Roo-girl games there!". And yet, the H&A season is increasing to 9 rounds in 2021 and 10 rounds in 2022, while North's deal is to play half of their home games in Tassie from 2019-2023...

Hate to bag my state out but it was in Launceston. It is only a town of 120K, give or take. I don't think many people would have travelled to watch it. Last year, they got 3K, so it wasn't huge in the first place.

think the game at North Hobart will get 3-4K, give or take. Was 5K last year.

Great crowd at Perth but also a notable 7071 at Metricon for gcs first womens home game.

Seemingly done without a significant opposition support like their AFL games tend to be.

That is a very good crowd, but i noticed some time ago ... looking at junior participation figures that QLD had very high rates of girls playing.

Craig Starcevich can take some credit for that, but it just seemed to for whatever reason click up there.

Weekend TV

Friday -
Dogs/Dees: 7 - 143k (Syd/Mel/Adl/Per), 29k Fox

Saturday
Roos/Giants: 7 - 8k (Syd), 41k Fox
Suns/Tigers: 7 - 10k (Bri) 51k Fox
Eagles/Dockers: 7: 76k (Mel/Adl/Per) 62k Fox

Sunday
Cats/Lions: 7 - 15k (Bri), Fox 29k
Blues/Pies: 7 - 50k (Syd/Mel/Bri), 31k Fox
Crows/Saints: 7 - 16k (adl), 33k Fox