Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter HeHateMe

It would be of great benefit to us if both JUH & Campbell are bid on by Adelaide. It would allow us to acquire our number 1 draft target.

Downey is also a lot higher rated than a few on here think. Which is a good thing in the overall scheme of things.

What to do with Norths 2nd rounder then??

Last edited by a moderator:
It would be of great benefit to us if both JUH & McDonald are bid on by Adelaide. It would allow us to acquire our number 1 draft target.

Downey is also a lot higher rated than a few on here think. Which is a good thing in the overall scheme of things.

Good to see you back mate. Thought we may not see you again after last year.

It would be of great benefit to us if both JUH & McDonald are bid on by Adelaide. It would allow us to acquire our number 1 draft target.

McDonald bid ? Huh ? Don’t you mean Campbell

If Crows get first 2 picks I hope they go Jamarra and Campbell knowing they won’t get either
There’s no chance they’d bid with their first pick imo, they’d want to give their fans the impression they have picked the player they rate at 1. However I’m confident they’d have some fun with pick 2. The crows have been more than happy to bid on players in the past

Good to see you back mate. Thought we may not see you again after last year.

All good mate, I was the first with the Cogs staying mail. Plenty of under appreciate blokes on here, but also plenty of appreciative Hawthorn tragics on here I’m happy to share my mail with. We need to lift our spirits a little, been a tough year. I don’t think we’re in as bad a situation as everyone thinks.

I’m very confident we will nail this draft/trade period. Never been a better time to move on 8-10 players, the good clubs (current ladder position) are gonna feel the list squeeze. There’ll be some bargain gems out there.

That’s fantastic and obvious from a coaches perspective

From my perspective, a supporter, while I hate Hawthorn losing even a NAB Cup game, the benefits of finishing as low as possible, especially in this convoluted season, far outweighs winning a couple more games at the end of the year

We need QUALITY youth desperately
Understand that.
But it's a fine line. Wins and a positive mentality going into the off-season can provide a springboard. May still get the player we want at the pick anyway.
I'm also fine with honourable losses and a low pick.
Either way I think we'll be aggressive again. Gut tells me we'll try to nab another good pick.

We should be looking at trading a future first to Geelong to take their second first Rd pick and their second at 35 for Downie.
I can’t seeing it being a hard sell to look at a top 5 pick 2021.
It’s a gamble the Cats can afford to roll the dice on and a second pick inside the top 20 would be ideal this year. Throw in the North second Rd and it’s a pretty good draft.
In saying that, I don’t think we will be a bottom 4-5 team next year and for all the talk of a compromised draft I still think that I would back in the work done by the recruiters before COVID.
the recruiting team usually set their sights on high prospect kids early and I would be pretty surprised if that sways to much on a single season outside of a genuine draft bolter.

2015 is a classic example of what happens if you miss your targets.
I would bet that of the top 10 Hopper was the man there which was a high price to pay to move up for with 2 late firsts. I’ve said it before but Gresham was the target at 19 in that draft and Rioli was the second choice at 21. We got pipped on both and took a flyer on Burton and made a massive reach on an accumulator with neat skills in Lovell. In hindsight we could have addressed our KPP with McKay (not Collins) and grabbed a big body mid in Dunkley or just grabbed a hardworking kid in Tucker.
I recon we will get who we want with our first but there will be another that we rate that will be gone before our second.

Next year the list cuts will kick in and you would assume that the 3 compulsory picks may also be looked at. I’d be trading out of that draft as there is a whole lot of unknown still to come in the world.

4,16,21,35... 4th and 5th Rd picks.
that’s a strong hand to make more moves

We should be looking at trading a future first to Geelong to take their second first Rd pick and their second at 35 for Downie.
I can’t seeing it being a hard sell to look at a top 5 pick 2021.
It’s a gamble the Cats can afford to roll the dice on and a second pick inside the top 20 would be ideal this year. Throw in the North second Rd and it’s a pretty good draft.
In saying that, I don’t think we will be a bottom 4-5 team next year and for all the talk of a compromised draft I still think that I would back in the work done by the recruiters before COVID.
the recruiting team usually set their sights on high prospect kids early and I would be pretty surprised if that sways to much on a single season outside of a genuine draft bolter.

2015 is a classic example of what happens if you miss your targets.
I would bet that of the top 10 Hopper was the man there which was a high price to pay to move up for with 2 late firsts. I’ve said it before but Gresham was the target at 19 in that draft and Rioli was the second choice at 21. We got pipped on both and took a flyer on Burton and made a massive reach on an accumulator with neat skills in Lovell. In hindsight we could have addressed our KPP with McKay (not Collins) and grabbed a big body mid in Dunkley or just grabbed a hardworking kid in Tucker.
I recon we will get who we want with our first but there will be another that we rate that will be gone before our second.

Next year the list cuts will kick in and you would assume that the 3 compulsory picks may also be looked at. I’d be trading out of that draft as there is a whole lot of unknown still to come in the world.

4,16,21,35... 3rd and 4th Rd picks.
that’s a strong hand to make more moves at the trade table without trading Gunston or Breust

That really worries me, because I think we'll be a bottom 6 side again in 2021.

I think when you look at the system that Clarkson wants to play you can blamethe disconnection in the group on COVID training protocols. There is still enough talent on the list to make the 8 next season if we nail this draft and get a FA like Jezza Cameron or Williams or a couple ofoff contract cheapies that fill a need in Skinner, Gallucci, Cockatoo. Then it certainly looks ok. There is also simply trading a future first for a Caldwell type player but I think that ship has sailed with high end mature talent. We need to be developing our own at this point and try to land a couple of top up gems.

All good mate, I was the first with the Cogs staying mail. Plenty of under appreciate blokes on here, but also plenty of appreciative Hawthorn tragics on here I’m happy to share my mail with. We need to lift our spirits a little, been a tough year. I don’t think we’re in as bad a situation as everyone thinks.

I’m very confident we will nail this draft/trade period. Never been a better time to move on 8-10 players, the good clubs (current ladder position) are gonna feel the list squeeze. There’ll be some bargain gems out there.

Exactly, great season to retool on the run.

Not the thread for it but we would not even be in the top 15 most likely clubs to land Jeremy Cameron. I wouldn't even bother bringing him up.

We should hit the next couple of drafts hard and only bring in FA's or players who can't get a look in at their current club that we can get without heavily compromising our draft position. If that pans out well then in 2-3 years time is when we should be looking to make some bigger moves on the trade table or bring in some bigger names to really get over the hump but we need to build a stronger base first.

On the draft - really like the look of Hollands and hope we can get him. Would be happy to take him despite the injury.

No thanks to trading out of next years draft just to get more picks in this one.

Very little footy played this year
We might have a high draft pick next year
it is supposed to be a stronger draft next year

Every year people want to trade the future first to get in to the current years just because of impatience. Unless on Draft night there is a clear slider that we rate very highly i want to keep that future first.

I think when you look at the system that Clarkson wants to play you can blamethe disconnection in the group on COVID training protocols. There is still enough talent on the list to make the 8 next season if we nail this draft and get a FA like Jezza Cameron or Williams or a couple ofoff contract cheapies that fill a need in Skinner, Gallucci, Cockatoo. Then it certainly looks ok. There is also simply trading a future first for a Caldwell type player but I think that ship has sailed with high end mature talent. We need to be developing our own at this point and try to land a couple of top up gems.

TBH I can't blame the interruption to our training. It's not as if Clarkson is trying to employ an entirely new gamelan, or even make big tweaks to it. It's the same plan as last year. We haven't had a huge influx of new players either.

It would be of great benefit to us if both JUH & Campbell are bid on by Adelaide. It would allow us to acquire our number 1 draft target.

Interesting. Makes sense RE Campbell if Swans finish below us on ladder but I wouldn’t have thought where a JUH bid comes really matters to us given bulldogs will just match

Is there a view that our preferred player is not rated top 4 by Crows and North (meaning he’d be available if JUH and Campbell bids are made), but that Swans are keen?

Appreciate the intel and hope you will continue to share it, mate!

Do any of your sources have an idea of what list sizes will look like next year?

TBH I can't blame the interruption to our training. It's not as if Clarkson is trying to employ an entirely new gamelan, or even make big tweaks to it. It's the same plan as last year. We haven't had a huge influx of new players either.

And that is the problem though. We’re trying to play the same plan with the same guys that just don’t cut it and we can’t get the next in line guys in the mix due to the training numbers.
Clearly better options than continuing with Stratts, Hendo, Poppy, Cegs, BB in defence, Mitchell expected to pick up where he left off, the “power forwards” injured.
it has really been a shambles of a season,
every other team has the same problems and we haven’t adjusted as well as others.
If not for Covid and the Waverley training continued and the Box Hill players got a run at it to force selection, actual home games at the G and ...🤦🏼‍♂️ The great spectacle of a game style in Tassie and we are easily a 10-14 side :)
Seriously though, this season has the Hawks being defiled by a pineapple in a transition year.
We couldn’t have had much more go wrong other that Clarko announcing a step down at the end of the year for Mitchell to take over with Ross Lyon as his side as a mentor and little Brendan Bolton throwing in his 2 cents for good measure in between getting coffees for the boys. 🤦🏼‍♂️✌🏼