Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter HeHateMe

I want the actual person who first brought up the name WILL DAY to have a massive input into our 1st pick selection
I think you may find they are no longer with the club.

I like that there are 5-6 names still thrown around as possible top picks. Increases odds of us getting our first or second choice even if we drift to pick 6 or so. Good year to have a high pick but without the pressure of trying pluck pick 1 among the uncertainty

Reading between the lines on Crows getting looked after on Crouch departing and NGA bids I think we are realistically placed to get O’Driscoll, then Jackson Callow, and Downie. I’d like to secure another second rounder and go after Jack Ginnivan.

Tall mid with penetrating kick- [emoji818]️
Key forward/defender- [emoji818]️
Winger- [emoji818]️
Crafty small forward- [emoji818]️

If he wasn’t from south Australia, would you still expect him to go 1? I struggle to project what kind of player he will be at afl.
That’s my main reason for thinking he will go 1.
Quite similar to Luke Jackson.
I would be saying McDonald if he was from SA

Reading between the lines on Crows getting looked after on Crouch departing and NGA bids I think we are realistically placed to get O’Driscoll, then Jackson Callow, and Downie. I’d like to secure another second rounder and go after Jack Ginnivan.

Mate, this is actually my dream draft. I'd take O'driscoll top 3 anyway in a heartbeat. I would also add Bailey Laurie to Ginnivan as a target. maybe trade up to get one of them. Then as a late pick I wan either Keitel or Highmore, the best 2 mature age talents.

Wahts your thoughts mate
Anyone who stands out to you?
Hollands - although his ACL worries me
Thilthorpe - we are desperate for quality big man

Warming to O’Driscoll.

If we somehow manage to get another 1st round pick - I would go midfielder 1st O’Driscoll then Hollands
Next pick - tall....Grainger-Barras then Callow

If we got - Hollands/DGB/Downie
Or O’Driscoll/Callow/Downie
...our ‘window’ starts to open up heaps earlier than expected

Davo-27 ...he would be our best person to ask.

(Note - I don’t think Thilthorpe/McDonald will be available come our selection)

If we can somehow get McDonald with our first round pick, I would build the forward-line around him. Then get a key defender with pick 21 or 22 and start building that spine. Get a couple of small forwards with those late picks and we’re set.

One of the reasons the guide lines for what compensation pick you get is "kept secret" is for exactly this reason and the situation with Melbourne a few years back, Melbourne got pick 3 for Frawley which totally wasn't a priority pick, Adelaide are not Melbourne they wont get a "priority" just yet. Adelaide will get pick 21, nothing surer.

Yep, Odriscoll will be available to us if we stay in top 5 pick calculations. Tough country lad aswell but has great skills by hand and foot.
If we had a Top 5 pick , will be huge for our club
We would have selection of either - Thilthorpe: McDonald : Hollands : O’Driscoll : Phillips
Any of the above could have been touted as No.1 in anytime during the last 2 years.
Exc NGA - Ugle-Hagan ; Campbell
So we are in an awesome position.

Sadly if we win Crows & Gold Coast ....could be pushed back to pick 8/9...which is ok but not ideal

If we had a Top 5 pick , will be huge for our club
We would have selection of either - Thilthorpe: McDonald : Hollands : O’Driscoll : Phillips
Any of the above could have been touted as No.1 in anytime during the last 2 years.
Exc NGA - Ugle-Hagan ; Campbell
So we are in an awesome position.

Sadly if we win Crows & Gold Coast ....could be pushed back to pick 8/9...which is ok but not ideal
Yeah, as much as I hate us losing, I will be a bit disappointed if we get a couple of nothing wins to finish the season. Any of the players you mentioned will be guns. Odriscoll or Holland’s are the big mids we need. Mcdonald will be a great forward. A future midfield of Worpel, Day, Finn and Odriscoll or Holland’s plus with Omeara and Mitch will be elite.

thought this was an interesting watch- Mcdonald seems like a real nice guy and real awkward, whilst O'Driscoll seems like your typical up and about footy boy but seems real nice.

I think the priority should still be Hollands, but on personality I wouldn't be upset with either of these two lads.

thought this was an interesting watch- Mcdonald seems like a real nice guy and real awkward, whilst O'Driscoll seems like your typical up and about footy boy but seems real nice.

I think the priority should still be Hollands, but on personality I wouldn't be upset with either of these two lads.

Jeez O'Driscoll is huge...