2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion Part 2

Why was the goal umpire in that position? Shouldn’t they have been at the opposite post watching the ball approach?
to see if touched one the line and it did get close......

Great position

Why was the goal umpire in that position? Shouldn’t they have been at the opposite post watching the ball approach?
Ump probably needs to see if ball is touched, and before or after it crosses the goal line fully - plus you don't want to be at or too close to where the ball is going to be.

I'm probably being biased, but Port's drumming in the team song is pure cringe. If it was us doing it, we'd be mocked left, right and centre.
Its got power stance written all over it

to see if touched one the line and it did get close......

Great position

The pathetic thing is that all the Melbourne players showed no urgency in chasing the ball: in fact, if it hadn't been a goal, then the GWS guy, who did show urgency, would have kicked it through anyway. That was terrible by Melbourne.

In case you didn't see it

daniels-gif.959886
Wingardium Leviosa

To be fair maybe he didn't see the ball spinning that way.
Ump probably needs to see if ball is touched, and before or after it crosses the goal line fully - plus you don't want to be at or too close to where the ball is going to be.
Grommo got it for me

Its like cricket - you need to be the same side as the ball coming in - you dont block anyone on the other side

He could also make eye contact with the boundary umpire - if he is on the other post there is no communication and he puts himself in position to be run over by the players

Come on GWS, just give up on the last game. At best you will finish 8th and have to play the Eagle in WA.....

Either Melbourne or GWS finishing 8th is certainly possible but unlikely. GWS less so as Melbourne plays the woeful Essendon and % gap between these two sides unless GWS defeat Saints by over 50 points (unlikely).

Western Bulldogs should win both their games against Hawks and Freo (this one is the more problematic of the two). If they fail to win both it opens the door for either Melbourne or GWS.

GWS are more likely to probably finish 11th 😱. Assumes Carlton win today and narrowly lose to Brisbane.

It should end up looking like this

6th - Collingwood 42 (if they beat the Power, which I think they will. If they don’t they will finish 8th - facing West Coast in the first final in Perth 😱)
7th - Saints 40
8th - Western Bulldogs 40
9th - Melbourne 36
10th - Carlton 32
11th - GWS 32

Either Melbourne or GWS finishing 8th is certainly possible but unlikely. GWS less so as Melbourne plays the woeful Essendon and % gap between these two sides unless GWS defeat Saints by over 50 points (unlikely).

Western Bulldogs should win both their games against Hawks and Freo (this one is the more problematic of the two). If they fail to win both it opens the door for either Melbourne or GWS.

GWS are more likely to probably finish 11th 😱. Assumes Carlton win today and narrowly lose to Brisbane.

It should end up looking like this

6th - Collingwood 42 (if they beat the Power, which I think they will. If they don’t they will finish 8th - facing West Coast in the first final in Perth 😱)
7th - Saints 40
8th - Western Bulldogs 40
9th - Melbourne 36
10th - Carlton 32
11th - GWS 32
They dropped their captain so it doesn't look like a happy camp right now, pity they don't play last when they really know they can't play finals as they could really drop their bundle and get smashed.

All the old skool sanfl people here know what I'm saying when I tell you to put money on port for the flag.

They've got Mongrel in them

All the old skool sanfl people here know what I'm saying when I tell you to put money on port for the flag.

F*cking delusional if you think “old school” SANFL supporters would bet on Port....f*ck me.
Your further delusion is that you compare this corporate entity run by a snake oil salesman media whore perpetually grasping at a desperate “us and them” paranoia fuelled shtick to keep membership and interest up is anything like the Port that your old school SANFL supporters bared with....J.H.Christ.

Port won't win the flag. Hinkleys famous flat track bully game plan doesn't stack up in tough games. Ports mids often get badly exposed against good running teams because they always break forward looking for cheap goals. They rarely stay on the defensive and as such get smashed if they don't get on top in the midfield. I'd put money on them going out in straight sets.

On VOG-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Dogs winning with percentage essentially pushes GWS pick into the top ten and ends their finals chances.

Giants now need Dogs to lose to Freo next week (unlikely), Pies to lose to GC (unlikely), Demons to lose to Bombers (unlikely) and beat the Saints (unlikely).

Likely result is Pies beat GC, Dogs beat Freo, Demons beat bombers and Saints beat GWS.
This would leave GWS 10th and Fremantle 11th.
But with points defecit GWS pick 9 (Pick 10 if Crouch compo) becomes Pick 8 (Pick 9 with Crouch compo).

Troll flog tracksuit bandit

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Possibly posted while sitting awkwardly all alone in a pub in Thebarton or walking morosely around the area looking like one of the many regular can pickers.....who actually do some benefit in recycling as compared to The Bandit’s regurgitations and reflux bile.

The AFL and the lack of umpiring the actual rules of the game is a massive farce.

1. The holding the ball rule.

The AFL need to reward the tackler way more than they do. By this I mean players most of the time pretend like they are trying to dispose of the ball in a tackle. You watch how many balls come out if the umpires started paying these. Harsh I know but players will almost certainly stop pretending. I don't know when it happened but for some reason umpires stopped paying htb to tacklers who have hold of the jumper and their player is swung around 360 or more degrees. Never was the onus on the tackler to take a player to ground or wrap up their opponent in a tackle to achieve htb. One handed hold of the jumper is just as good. It staggers me just how often players are turned in standing tackles with their arms free and given an amazing amount of time to dispose of the ball yet another player can take two steps be wrapped up and dumped in a tackle with no time and it's called htb.

2. Incorrect disposal should be the easiest free kick to call yet the umpires get this one wrong the most. When tackled your team mate can't come in and rip the ball from your hands. Why because that's not a legal pass. It's not rugby, you can't just do that. It's called in junior football all the time. Yet afl it's not policed. Like how hard is it. The throw has clearly crept back into the game. Cripps threw the ball all game today and so did plenty of others. I'm almost of the view that umpires need to assume it's a throw if it doesn't look like a handpass. I'd say we'll over those called will be throws anyway.

Also they need to ditch the participation award for attempted disposal when tackled. Lol. That's incorrect disposal. Attempt isn't in the rules. The fact umpires call these suggest this is a symptom of people who have never played the game. Rules need to be black and white not umpired on feel.

On VOG-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon JL would be getting a game at the Sun's still, let alone us