2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

You don't even bump a player who is coming off injured. You truly are the classless piece of shit that you were labeled.

He had a broken collarbone... they could have caused serious injury by bumping a player with a broken bone.
Are you thick ??

As hes coming off injured he is entitled to protection. When he stood in position he isn't.

You calling me a piece of shit is rich, you're one of the least respected people in this place. You disagreeing with me actually validates my opinion

He didn't stand in position! You're making stuff up in order to defend an indefensible position.
We know you don't watch footy, you probably dont even know the incident we are discussing

And... I owe hey shorty an apology.

I've just re-watched the incident on youtube:

Riewoldt was in the hands of the trainers, but he didn't go straight off until after Mal Michael and one of the Scott brothers bumped his shoulder. Let's repeat that - he didn't come straight off. Even so, the Brisbane players were clearly wrong to target a player who was in the hands of the trainers, even if he wasn't (yet) making a beeline for the bench.

He was also targeted again, on the way to the bench, but hey shorty has made it clear that he didn't condone that particular act.

I was wrong, and I apologise to hey shorty.

Is it really that hard to disagree without bringing this kind of insult and abuse into it?

The Adelaide board has really gone to shit the last couple of weeks.

We were much more united when Burton was around. Should bring him back just for the lulz.

Riewoldt was in the hands of the trainers, but he didn't go straight off until after Mal Michael and one of the Scott brothers bumped his shoulder. Let's repeat that - he didn't come straight off. Even so, the Brisbane players were clearly wrong to target a player who was in the hands of the trainers, even if he wasn't (yet) making a beeline for the bench.

He was also targeted again, on the way to the bench, but hey shorty has made it clear that he didn't condone that particular act.

All good mate.

Yep every part of that was a dog act by the Lions players.

As far as I'm concerned that should have been a season long ban for every player involved.

Yep every part of that was a dog act by the Lions players.

As far as I'm concerned that should have been a season long ban for every player involved.
No wonder we dont win flags

How does doing potential serious long term damage to a player who already isn't going to take any further part in the match going to win you a flag?

Hawks and Geelong players have done some questionable stuff, but NEVER anything close to this.

How does doing potential serious long term damage to a player who already isn't going to take any further part in the match going to win you a flag?

Hawks and Geelong players have done some questionable stuff, but NEVER anything close to this.
Like I said, I do not condone the whacking of a bloke in the hands of trainers, and even moreso running off with them.... but physical intimidation is part of the game, even more so back 15-20 years ago. Bumping a guy with a bung shoulder is unsportsmanlike sure, but when you are presented with a weakness you can legally exploit, you do so. Unsociable football they call it, and it wins flags.

You don't condone it.. but you excuse it.

that's the message I'm getting here.

If the Crows tried to pull that sort of shit, we'd get absolutely crucified, especially playing in Melbourne.
Yep no question, thats why it was fanciful for us to try and start a biff at HT of the 2017 debacle, because we wouldve paid for it...... even if half of us wouldve wanted to see it

You don't condone it.. but you excuse it.

that's the message I'm getting here.
Not at all, I would hate for one of our players to run alongside a player with a trainer and try to belt him.

Stephen Baker missed game(s) I reckon for repeatedly slapping someone's injured hand. I remember the uproar over the Brisbane boys, but don't recall anyone missing any games.
Steve Johnson. I remembered that incident earlier, couldn’t remember who was hitting his hand

Not at all, I would hate for one of our players to run alongside a player with a trainer and try to belt him.
Which is exactly what the Brisbane players did...

Roo may not have been making a beeline for the bench, but he did have a trainer running alongside him when he was bumped. He was then bumped again, while making a beeline for the bench.

Which is exactly what the Brisbane players did...

Roo may not have been making a beeline for the bench, but he did have a trainer running alongside him when he was bumped. He was then bumped again, while making a beeline for the bench.
Riewoldt tried to jog it off even though the trainers were trying to drag him. Not a good choice in his part but totally understandable given he's a natural competitor.

Sometimes it's smarter to wave the white flag.

Cant jog off a broken shoulder.

Sometimes it's smarter to wave the white flag.

Cant jog off a broken shoulder.
I've been in that position myself albeit a different injury. You always think if you just keep moving, it will come good. It's like a sort of coping mechanism. I agree it's pretty naive if you've clearly broken something but the adrenaline in your system sometimes masks the severity of the injury.

Mate of mine broke his arm in the middle of Rugby game and still played the game out. Didn't even go to the hospital until later that night when the pain started to really become overbearing.

I've been in that position myself albeit a different injury. You always think if you just keep moving, it will come good. It's like a sort of coping mechanism. I agree it's pretty naive if you've clearly broken something but the adrenaline in your system sometimes masks the severity of the injury.

Mate of mine broke his arm in the middle of Rugby game and still played the game out. Didn't even go to the hospital until later that night when the pain started to really become overbearing.
I broke my collarbone and my arm went numb....... after 10 seconds of searing pain.

Never thought I could run that one off!!!

Agree 100%

With Drew Roberts, Kevin Bartlett and co it felt like a little VFL cabal who were giddy with excitement when Victorian teams were doing well.

Goals to Vic teams were the result of their great play and champion players
Goals to us were the result of Vic teams' mistakes, bad luck or poor umpiring decisions.

Even the non-Vic commentators like Sandy Roberts (even Morphett was from Sydney but it was clear where his football heart lay) got swept up in this mindset.

Then if we were losing and started saving face with some late goals they'd go overboard enthusiastic with "Here come the Crows!" like a series of token, late game free kicks which were also common at the time.

It backfired on them in the 1997 preliminary.

Tim Watson after the siren: "A lot of what-ifs KB... (but let's actually talk about the team who won, eh?)"

One I liked was Ian Robertson. Seemed a bit more balanced than the others. Became less prominent over time sadly.

What about Lee Matthews commentating in the last Qtr of the 98 GF after Bruce says something along the lines of " they're going to win it again...they're a super team"....Matthews responds with something like "no I'm not sure they're a super team...what they are is a super September team."

Then someone (Watson I think) says sadly "But that's the only time it matters" to which Matthews grudgingly agrees!

What a load of crap .....everyone else is equally affected .....his car is licensed to him, irrespective of him giving details to local residents ....he did flee the accident

We want to excuse these idiots because they're AFL players ......rubbish