List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III

So our dilemma is something like do we use pick 2 on someone like Petracca vs getting both LDU and Sympkin, plus two players of Comben/Mahoney/Perez level.

What needs to be considered is opportunity.

We have opportunity to trade or draft a pick 10 to 12 each year IF we really wanted.

We have opportunity to trade or draft a Comben/Mahoney/Perez each year IF we wanted.

There has not been a single other opportunity to draft at pick 2 since Wayne Carey left the nmfc.

So our dilemma is something like do we use pick 2 on someone like Petracca vs getting both LDU and Sympkin, plus two players of Comben/Mahoney/Perez level.

Or, using the 2018 draft for the sake of argument, our complete lack of dilemma may be that we are confident Adelaide will take the Sam Walsh equivalent at pick 1 and we are equally comfortable taking either Lukosius, Rankine, King or Rozee with our pick.

In that (hypothetical) case, why would we use pick 2 to take our equal first choice when we can use pick 5 and get add-ons from GC?

Or, using the 2018 draft for the sake of argument, our complete lack of dilemma may be that we are confident Adelaide will take the Sam Walsh equivalent at pick 1 and we are equally comfortable taking either Lukosius, Rankine, King or Rozee with our pick.

In that (hypothetical) case, why would we use pick 2 to take our equal first choice when we can use pick 5 and get add-ons from GC?
I don't know if there really ever is an equal first choice. I'd rather leave that in our hands than wait to see who is left. More responsibility, sure, but the draft selection team should back themselves in.

The biggest reason to keep pick 2 is star power. A reason to keep us, the fans, going to the footy, buying memberships, merch etc. North are forever getting slagged off for a lack of star power. Use Pick 2 on a bloke that is going to amaze, astound & keep us going back. For mine that's why we need to keep Pick 2.

Yeah I don’t mind this train of thought. But just because they are pick 2 doesn’t guarantee he’s the best player. Hawks took Roughy at 2 because they read the lay of the land and knew Buddy would make it to 5. So it could be that our team have worked out who they really want will be at 5. Dunno. Its interesting times though. Love it.

I hear ya, but as it stands there's a void between 2 & 11. And that was strategy, beautifully executed strategy. Love em or loathe em, Hawthorn smacked that one out of the park... And the fact that we're still talking about that draft shows how right they got it, and how rare it is to get it THAT right....
But we are talking about the void between 2 and 5 mate......exactly same draft numbers. Not 2 and 11.
I used that purely as an example as they are same draft spots. Yep agree re hawks strategy, was brilliant.
Plus the prospect of another free 2021 first rounder.......which could be anything. As well as some 2nd rounders.

But we are talking about the void between 2 and 5 mate......exactly same draft numbers. Not 2 and 11.
I used that purely as an example as they are same draft spots. Yep agree re hawks strategy, was brilliant.
Plus the prospect of another free 2021 first rounder.......which could be anything. As well as some 2nd rounders.
I get your point, but I'd rather take the best player now than chase the rainbow in future drafts.

True on 2 -5. Point taken.

I don't claim to be the all-knowing on the top 5 (6 including JUH), but I want the brightest star we can get.

I guess the other difference is the Hawks had 2 and 5. For us it is one or the other.

True on 2 -5. Point taken.

I don't claim to be the all-knowing on the top 5 (6 including JUH), but I want the brightest star we can get.
We want the same thing I’m sure. We will do the deal once we’ve worked out who everyone is taking. As I reckon it could be who others rate at 2 we rate at 5 or whatever. You’d have to think the clubs and recruiters know a lot more than us BF clowns. Certainly hope so :drunk:

I guess the other difference is the Hawks had 2 and 5. For us it is one or the other.
This is where the live trading g on the night is awesome. We don’t know who crows are taking. Once they pick, the whole thing could turn on its head. Looks forward to the machinations on the night.

So what the dees did with Watts. How did that turn out? If we keep pick 2, and take {insert players name}, can we please not consider him the saviour. This rebuild wont be done in one draft.
In saying that, if interchange goes down, does that make Logan more appealing than Hollands?

I think one option if Thilthorpe goes one would be to trade down with Sydney if they're desperate for McDonald. They have pretty ordinary key forwards with not much coming through. Would allow us to take Hollands plus get an extra high first next year. Probably depends on Sydney having good academy kids coming through though.

So what the dees did with Watts. How did that turn out? If we keep pick 2, and take {insert players name}, can we please not consider him the saviour. This rebuild wont be done in one draft.
In saying that, if interchange goes down, does that make Logan more appealing than Hollands?
No need to worry. We recently picked up Stephenson, who, whilst not the messiah, is still a naughty boy (according to Collingwood).

It's a fine line isn't it? I'm not expecting the messiah, but I want him to be someone who projects as being a star. Not anticipating this to be day one.

List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread III