List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

essendons midfield runs just as deep as ours

Good point, also, Dodoro does not select the team, the coach does. Sounds like the script from The Club.

A couple of points.

1) Nobody should ever be guaranteed a game. it should be on integrity
2) If he is being promised that, it should ring alarm bells to the culture of the place, where you don't need to work for a spot and the recruiting manager has more sway over team selection than the coach. Couple that with the mass exodus of players and their direction and you would have to be worried.
3) If he contemplates the above and think that is the place for him, well he is looking for the easy ride and just the payday.
4) if he goes to Essendon currently, his manager would want rooting.

Good point, also, Dodoro does not select the team, the coach does. Sounds like the script from The Club.

A couple of points.

1) Nobody should ever be guaranteed a game. it should be on integrity
2) If he is being promised that, it should ring alarm bells to the culture of the place, where you don't need to work for a spot and the recruiting manager has more sway over team selection than the coach. Couple that with the mass exodus of players and their direction and you would have to be worried.
3) If he contemplates the above and think that is the place for him, well he is looking for the easy ride and just the payday.
4) if he goes to Essendon currently, his manager would want rooting.
100%Agree

Caldwell pass. He’ll be another Freeman imho
Without having watched much of him, am a bit concerned that all the injuries he's had will have had an impact on his ability to burst away from clearances that was supposed to be one of his best attributes, pre-draft.

Has anyone who's paid close attention to him noticed him being able to use his pace much?

If Caldwell is baulking at the thought of needing to compete for a spot, then that isn't a good sign. We're no GWS with superstar mids poking out of every orifice - there is a very real opportunity for him to have a season-long starting role. We cannot guarantee a start, and nor should we. Not for him or any player, for that matter. We can guarantee a favourable opportunity at earning a starting role, but the reality is that the only way we could genuinely guarantee that would be if we had a midfield of comprised solely of less-than-VFL-quality midfielders, or if we kept him in ahead of more deserving players; neither of which are qualities of a team to which you'd want to be traded, anyway.

We should want players who have the drive and confidence (or even arrogance) to earn and prove they deserve a starting spot. The way Butler and Jones seem to have tackled this season, for example.

SEN reporting Essendon doing there best to convince Caldwell to pick them.
The report says his after opportunity to play regular senior footy.
my concern is that I’m not sure he’ll get a regular game for us at the moment unless someone gets traded out like Seb.
well as at Essendon he might play every week. Might be enough to pick them?
thoughts?

The ideal move from us would be to slot him into Clarks role on half back and move that player into the middle full time. If and when Caldwell is ready in the future he join the midfield rotations. Would play every week under those circumstances.

If Caldwell is baulking at the thought of needing to compete for a spot, then that isn't a good sign. We're no GWS with superstar mids poking out of every orifice - there is a very real opportunity for him to have a season-long starting role. We cannot guarantee a start, and nor should we. Not for him or any player, for that matter. We can guarantee a favourable opportunity at earning a starting role, but the reality is that the only way we could genuinely guarantee that would be if we had a midfield of comprised solely of less-than-VFL-quality midfielders, or if we kept him in ahead of more deserving players; neither of which are qualities of a team to which you'd want to be traded, anyway.

We should want players who have the drive and confidence (or even arrogance) to earn and prove they deserve a starting spot. The way Butler and Jones seem to have tackled this season, for example.
Dare say that he’s probably not even weighing it up. We might all be jumping at shadows.

Firstly I am sure Caldwell is not demanding a midfield spot guaranteed the point being made is that the reason he is considering leaving the Giants is their midfield is stacked and his opportunities are going to be limited there. They have Kelly, Coniglio, Ward, Taranto, De Boer, Hopper, Green, Perryman before you look at the fringe players. Anyway I doubt that is the only reason just the one his manager has told him to use as it casts him in the best light. Better than:
I hate living in Sydney
I want to play at a real football club
I am going to cash in while I can
I miss my Mum
I barrack for the Saints and can't bring myself to play against them anymore
I have no faith in Leon Cameron and the dire game style GWS have been playing this year
Brett Ratten reminds me of my Dad
I am sick of roving to clapped out old fart ruckmen and am looking for a bit of that Paddy Ryder silver service
I want to win a premiership

Are we really going to take the speculation that he is baulking at competing for a spot as gospel?
Could be complete rubbish... Let's just not assume it's correct and run with it.

Name a worse midfield of the top 10 sides than ours...
Caldwell walks in.
Our midfield is our weakest area and he strengthens that from round.

His numbers would suggest he's not ready for a midfield role just yet. He is only 11 games into his career.

I don't think he's a lay down misere many are hoping for to fix our midfield depth at this point in time.

If we lose Carlisle, I'd be happy for us to go after Tarrant. Despite being a few years older, he doesn't have a debilitating back injury, clearly looks after himself and adds a senior head and leadership to a pretty bloody young backline. He's also still a very good defender, and in my opinion one of the most underrated in the past decade. He'd be a good 1-3 year upgrade on Jake while we wait for something better to present itself.

In trying to attract a player of Caldwell's ilk, there is no better example than Jack Steele. Left GWS for opportunity but was not gifted games. Worked his way into best 22, then starting mid, steady progression from stopper to now a bonafide star balanced midfielder. With hard work the opportunity will present itself.

His numbers would suggest he's not ready for a midfield role just yet. He is only 11 games into his career.

I don't think he's the lay down misere many are hoping for to fix our midfield depth at this point in time.
His numbers are a reflection of a 2nd year player trying to break into the deepest midfield in the comp. He adds genuine quality and a potential A Grade Midfielder to our mix.

Are we really going to take the speculation that he is baulking at competing for a spot as gospel?
Could be complete rubbish... Let's just not assume it's correct and run with it.

Oh dear, I feel bad for giving the kid a bad name....

it was mentioned he is moving for more opportunity and I just mentioned that we couldn’t guarantee an immediate spot in the seniors because of others like Bytel and Byrnes who are also fighting for spots, and if he did want a guarantee it’s more likely to be from the Bombers due to everyone leaving.

There is no talk about him baulking at competing for a spot, it was just something I mentioned in my post, I didn’t mean to start a bushfire, so I hope I haven’t done him a disservice and made him out to be a demanding Prima Donna, which I’m sure he’s not.

Sorry Jye 🥺

Who has had the Best Midfield in Caldwell's 2years in the AFL system.
GWS,St.K or Ess?

GWS then Essendon and then Saints. We still would have the least midfield rotations of any side in the league I reckon.

With Hanners back in the fold & Ross regaining form we suddenly have some decent depth. Ross, Jones, Hanners, Gresh, Steele & Clark. Also Billings & Hill on the wings. Not too bad. Essendon lack the midfield diversity that we have. GWS clearly better. But I think we are underrated.

Without having watched much of him, am a bit concerned that all the injuries he's had will have had an impact on his ability to burst away from clearances that was supposed to be one of his best attributes, pre-draft.

Has anyone who's paid close attention to him noticed him being able to use his pace much?

I actually thought he looked slow in the AFL, he's not shown much yet at senior level, well from what I watched anyway. I don't know if I was expecting too much but he looked pretty much like Ryan Byrnes did. Looked a bit off the pace, low on confidence and not really showing any of the tricks he is meant to possess. It doesn't mean he won't turn it around but he looks more a bit overwhelmed at the moment. He will be another year more advanced next year so should be little bit closer but if it wasn't for my mate saying how good he will be I don't think I'd even take a second look to be honest.