• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

I thought Freddy showed excellent skills and a good footy brain at times this year. Very good vision and almost always chose a good option when handballing under pressure. Can kick very well and knows how to weight it.

Go back and look at his U18 highlights to see what he can do when he's comfortable at the level.

Club obviously has no doubt about him as an important player having signed him to an extension straight after his first season.

I thought Freddy showed excellent skills and a good footy brain at times this year. Very good vision and almost always chose a good option when handballing under pressure. Can kick very well and knows how to weight it.

Go back and look at his U18 highlights to see what he can do when he's comfortable at the level.

Club obviously has no doubt about him as an important player having signed him to an extension straight after his first season.
Yeah he looked nervous as **** so often but his technique looks sound. I think his missed targets are almost entirely mental at this stage.

Indeed. He's as natural a kick as you'll see and he reads the game really well. Its his vision and decision making in tight that really sold me. He would get a receive in traffic exiting the D50 and every time get it on uickly to someone in a good spot (never sold anyone into trouble). That peripheral vision and awareness at the speed things happen in AFL now is priceless. You can't teach it.
Its why Blakely looks like being a bust at the top level. He can find it all day and get his hands on it but more often than not just fires it off blindly without being able to read the surrounding situation. And I was a fan of Blakely too.

I think we must be watching a different Freddie. I see a headless chook with little footy awareness but with tremendous athletic ability. That being said, im bullish on the kid and I think some games in the WAFL will help him tremendously.

I am hoping Frederick can improve his footskills. He looks like he has pretty good basic ability but is a bit inconsistent. Simplifying the thought process may allow him to have a bit more time. Love to have both Sturt and Henry being dangerous from 50+
Strongly disagree. He has the skills it is the composure and consistency he lacks which hopefully given more time he can get a grip on.

I re-watched our game against Sydney yesterday and Fredericks skills were brilliant he had some good inside 50's and a brilliant left foot kick down the boundary line under strong pressure hit his team mate lace out. As well as that goal from outsode 50.

Strongly disagree. He has the skills it is the composure and consistency he lacks which hopefully given more time he can get a grip on.

I re-watched our game against Sydney yesterday and Fredericks skills were brilliant he had some good inside 50's and a brilliant left foot kick down the boundary line under strong pressure hit his team mate lace out. As well as that goal from outsode 50.
That's a weird strongly disagree where immediately after you repeat what I presesented: good skills, lacks consistency.

What happens with AFL drafting is cut throat and arguably unfair Scham, but Varnirsen didn't even get a combine invite even with the last minute extra invites, so I think it is highly unlikely he even gets drafted (the stats on non-combine invites getting drafted are really very poor). Chris Walker who is an athlete more than a footballer is more likely to get drafted, which I get is not fair on those who are footballers; that is just the way it is.
Ysaye pretty much nailed it. I spoke to a couple of locally based recruiters from interstate clubs at the game yesterday and both said Varnirsen can play but not what recruiters look for, in that he doesn't have much more that puts him above 200 other young players around the country.

Peter Bell, Sam Mitchell, Lachie Neale all come to mind

Just saw the Nick Cox highlights. Will be very happy to land him in the draft if available.

All the VIC highlights are from 1 year ago, they may have grown, or may have been on Uber Eats with Maccas.. it’s a mystery to be honest.

The big fellas develop so much as they get older and grow mentally and physically into their bodies.

Footy smarts don’t change. Big fellas with footy smarts are very very coachable. If they have the right mindset.

I believe Cox is one of them, as are some other VIC players. The SA, WA, TAS, and Allies players are more visible this year, so easier to forward project.

Hence the number of VIC combine invites.

Winning the ball at will and kicking goals from the midfield not what they’re looking for??? Performing in big games??? Bizarre.

They’ve got it wrong imo.

So here is Cal Twomey October rankings. Nathan O’Driscoll not in top 25 at all. No walker or Western either. Finlay McRae/Perkins/Cook the guys he has around our pick

Heath Chapman, very interesting in the amount of possessions at colts, wins 2km trial over McDonald, is he only a key defender?
Having him with Cox, Logue, gives plenty of options.
Cox forward back.
Logue forward back midfield
Chapman back, ? Injury depth.
3 good players 193-194cm in height with different skill sets.

His kicking for a big man was impressive. Personally hope we go for a vic kid first round. Some of the WA and SA talent will be overhyped this year.

My faith in our draft crew is at an all time high

Heath Chapman, very interesting in the amount of possessions at colts, wins 2km trial over McDonald, is he only a key defender?
Having him with Cox, Logue, gives plenty of options.
Cox forward back.
Logue forward back midfield
Chapman back, ? Injury depth.
3 good players 193-194cm in height with different skill sets.

A WP boy so he’ll get JLo’s vote too. 😜