• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

I noticed Joel's defensive side has dropped off a bit from any footage I have seen of his recently. I didn't feel that was the case in earlier footage. He often used to chase down and tackle.
It will get drummed into him at AFL level. He can't take liberties at his size if he wants to make it.

How’s he look for those watching?
Chris was on Team Gold and got limited opportunities along with all their forwards. Think we'll get a better read in the next game once they shift a few players around to even things up.

What about Chris? How did he look?
Twomey seems to rate him top 40. He hasn’t been in Twomey’s top 25 but is in the next 15.

the second round is going to be very Long with a heap of academy and f/s picks, this after a long first round. I’ve always felt Western is in the 30-45 range.

Like Chris proposed we could trade 10 and 28 for a couple of picks between 16-22 and maybe another later pick for some additional points. What that may then cost us is a player of the likes of Heath Chapman, Finlay Macrae, Oliver Henry or Brayden Cook.

Twomey seems to rate him top 40. He hasn’t been in Twomey’s top 25 but is in the next 15.

the second round is going to be very Long with a heap of academy and f/s picks, this after a long first round. I’ve always felt Western is in the 30-45 range.

Like Chris proposed we could trade 10 and 28 for a couple of picks between 16-22 and maybe another later pick for some additional points. What that may then cost us is a player of the likes of Heath Chapman, Finlay Macrae, Oliver Henry or Brayden Cook.
Sorry Chris not Brandon.

giantroo's summary (on eDPS's D&T thread) pretty much fits with my comments throughout the game above and how I saw it...

FT WA Black 13.15.93 - 6.2.38 WA Gold

My bests for each team

Best WA Black: J.Western, S.Page, T.Brockman, H.Chapman, C.Johnson
Best WA Gold: I.Winder, C.McPartland, L.McDonald, D.Grainger-Barras

Quick thoughts:

For the WA Blacks:
Joel Western was everywhere, liked the look of Ugle in the last quarter for WA Black. Sandon Page was dangerous up forward kicking 4.1, Logan Guelfi started on fire in the first kicking 1.3. Tyler Brockman was very good as well.

For the Golds:
Grainger-Barras as usual reads the ball well, got some good spoils in and took a ripper mark.
Logan McDonald kicked 2 goals,one from the boundary from 45-50m out. Could have had 3-4. Worked hard up the ground as the ball was barely getting down there after half-time. Had about 10 disposals, 5 marks, 2 goals.

Sam Alvarez in the best for the black team.

From The Worst:

A Fremantle Next Generation Academy talent, a top-10 draft fancy and a Subiaco premiership forward starred in the first of two AFL Under-18s All-Stars matches at Leederville Oval yesterday.

Joel Western and Heath Chapman powered WA Black to a dominant 55-point win - 13.15 (93) to 6.2 (38) - to further strengthen their draft credentials.

Claremont speedster Western impressed in the midfield and up forward, finishing with two goals and a stack of possessions, while Chapman’s intercept-marking prowess was on full display across half-back, combining well with West Perth teammate Kellen Johnson.

Sandon Page backed up his brilliant colts season with the Lions, capped off by an upset grand final victory over the Tigers, with a game-high four goals and several more score involvements.

His explosive WAFL teammate Tyler Brockman, the nephew of former Docker/Sun Greg Broughton, showed plenty in his two-goal performance across half-forward as he shapes up as a draft smokey.

WA Black were dropping like flies with colts leading goal-kicker Corey Rundle going down with a hamstring injury in the opening term and Claremont midfielder Jake Willson (ankle) and Swan Districts winger Max Chipper (quad) following soon after.

But that didn’t stop their dominance with WA Gold struggling against the pace and creativity of Western, Sam Alvarez, Ty Sears, Brockman and Logan Guelfi.

Perth key forward Logan McDonald, who will almost certainty be the first West Aussie called out in the December national draft, was relatively quiet other than a two-goal burst in the third quarter.

McDonald lacked supply up forward for WA Gold in his last appearance of the year, with a rest on the cards for next Saturday’s All-Stars clash after a taxing debut season of senior footy.

Peel Thunder livewire Isiah Winder showed off his pace and elite skills, Perth midfield bull Conor McPartland and Claremont colts best-and-fairest Logan Young won plenty of contested footy and top-five fancy Denver Grainger-Barras did some good things down back.

WA BLACK 2.5 5.10 8.11 13.15 (94)

WA GOLD 1.0 2.2 5.2 6.2 (38)

Goals – WA Black
: S Page 4 C Johnson J Western T Brockman 2 M Johnson. WA Gold: L McDonald 2 M Mallard J Van Rooyen K Brooks L Paton.

Best – WA Black: J Western H Chapman S Page T Brockman L Guelfi K Johnson S Alvarez. WA Gold: I Winder C McPartland L Young J Browne D Grainger-Barras.

Injuries – WA Black: C Rundle (hamstring) M Chipper (quad) J Willson (ankle)

Crowd: About 1700 at Leederville Oval

Unfortunately Shai Bolton tearing it up at a similar size isn't helping our cause. Nor is him kicking two goals and should have kicked 3 - showing he can play as a small forward. I think his size keeps him out of the first round bids (crosses fingers) but we'll be getting a bargain if it is later than 2nd round.

I don't believe the height listed for Bolton. Just like Cotchin (who is almost the same height as Bolton) isn't anywhere near 185cm. I'd say the truth is somewhere in the middle. If Western really is 172cm, then Bolton is significantly taller (5cm is a lot at that end of the spectrum).

I think people (especially on BigFooty) get way too obsessed about height. Bolton could be 5cm shorter and still play the way he does. He doesn't rely on height at all, he relies on his speed/explosiveness, reading of the play and clean hands on the ground. If you had him sitting down the line expecting him to take contested marks all the time then he'd be a liability but that's not his role. Bolton, like Western, uses his speed to get separation so he can play uncontested to move the ball.

Western is by no means a sure thing of making it but if Freo play him in a role that plays to his strengths (eg his speed, clean hands and booming kick) then he could make plenty of difference to a midfield that is currently lacking pace big time. Western is faster, cleaner, a longer kick, a better kick and with better footy IQ than Bolton was in his draft year (who played wing/hf in u18s). It's disappointing we didn't get to see him lining up alongside O'Driscoll and Carroll (with Lane rucking) for WA in the u18 champs because that midfield would be hard to stop with McDonald and Van Rooyen at one end and Grainger-Barrass and Chapman at the other. Possibly the best WA u18 team we've had in memory and we never got to see it in action :(

There are a bunch of weaknesses Western needs to work on though and if he does I think his height will have little impact on his ability to impact at AFL level. I see him as a lightning fast midfielder in time but at worst he's an exceptionally quick small forward who knows where the goals are.

I think a key component of what we get up to for trading/drafting this year is the fact any deficit comes from the round the pick is taken in. So if as projected, Western and Walker get there bids in the second round (late hopefully but still second round), if we don't have the points to cover, the remaining points deficit will be taken from our second round pick next year and not our first.

So with that in mind do we think the club has it as much of a priority to try get ahead of it? I would personally see it as a bit silly if we try and downgrade our first this year (which again personally I think is high enough to still be picking from the pool of known talents who have shown their stocks) just to get points to cover a deficit that will drop us down at a guess 5ish picks in the second round? It just doesn't add up to me.

I think all we can hope for is B.Walker to keep missing his testing with that *suspected* broken foot and Western to always have his grand final colts performance on tape for his suitors just to keep them after the second round ;)

Edit: Sorry probably could have put this in the drafting/trading thread but figured it is a good discussion point in here too.

I think a key component of what we get up to for trading/drafting this year is the fact any deficit comes from the round the pick is taken in. So if as projected, Western and Walker get there bids in the second round (late hopefully but still second round), if we don't have the points to cover, the remaining points deficit will be taken from our second round pick next year and not our first.

So with that in mind do we think the club has it as much of a priority to try get ahead of it? I would personally see it as a bit silly if we try and downgrade our first this year (which again personally I think is high enough to still be picking from the pool of known talents who have shown their stocks) just to get points to cover a deficit that will drop us down at a guess 5ish picks in the second round? It just doesn't add up to me.

I think all we can hope for is B.Walker to keep missing his testing with that *suspected* broken foot and Western to always have his grand final colts performance on tape for his suitors just to keep them after the second round ;)

Edit: Sorry probably could have put this in the drafting/trading thread but figured it is a good discussion point in here too.
I think we are more likely to use our 2nd to trade our first up than we are to split our first but I don't think either is likely.

Reckon we will do some minor shenanigans with later picks and maybe a bit of future trading (not 1st though).

So looks like we should start getting excited about this Western kid
Almost exactly what we need too(speed around the ball).

Sam Alvarez in the best for the black team.
He played a great game, especially in the first quarter. Had me thinking maybe he was the one for a Cat B spot given Chris Walker had a bit of a mare in the 1st quarter (fumbled/turned it over 3 or 4 times from memory).

Alvarez was in the right position a lot. Good footballer, would be a nice story for such a Freo fanatical family to have him drafted but seems unlikely :(

Excuse my ignorance but Western for us is pretty much a given if we want him like Henry last year?

yep, similar with b.walker, would be a serious surprise if they don’t end up in the purple on draft night