• Nathan O'Driscoll

Votes: 14 10.1%
  • Zane Trew

Votes: 3 2.2%
  • Other

Votes: 13 9.4%

My "fancy" Worst subscription just dropped profiles (including videos) of all the WA prospects today. It's actually pretty good. Luckily McArdle and Robinson aren't in the useless footy journo camp at The West.

I always find reading what player comparisons people make interesting. So here is their list (these are the players with profiles btw)...

Joel Western => Shai Bolton (um yeah no prizes for that one)
Brandon Walker => Adam Saad (don't agree fully but also can't think of a better current player comparison)
Chris Walker => Jamie Cripps (I'm thinking we will definitely take him with Cat B, not because of the comparison btw)

Logan McDonald => Nick Riewoldt
Denver Grainger-Barass => Jeremy McGovern (but with a very different body shape)
Nathan O'Driscoll => Liam Duggan (reckon they could do better on that one)
Heath Chapman => Sam Taylor
Jack Carroll => Scott Pendlebury (not bad, meanwhile O'Driscoll gets Duggan :D)
Zane Trew => Trent Cotchin (well we've already got one of those)
Shannon Neale => Rory Lobb (ha ha - half the people on here now hate the idea of drafting him whilst the other half are excited)
Isiah Winder => Michael Walters (not so sure about that?!? doesn't have the skills to make that comparison)
Tyler Brockman => Christian Petracca (really like him but reckon that is a bit ott)
Logan Guelfi => Zak Butters
Kalin Lane => Brody Grundy
Jack Avery => Nick Haynes
Finn Gorringe => Jack Redden
Logan Young => Patrick Cripps (he wishes)
Lachlan Vanirsen => Stephen Coniglio
Nick Martin => Brody Mihocek
Sandon Page => Tom Lynch
Jack Hindle => Ethan Hughes (he wishes!)
Blake Morris => Brad Sheppard
Jaiden Hunter => Mark Blicavs
Will Collins => Noah Balta
Kellen Johnson => Jack Lukosius (um yeah nah)

So low expectations on most of the WA boys :oops: Sumich expects about 12 to get drafted - I'd agree with that estimate.
I agree with the number of 12 too

McDonald/DGB/O'Driscoll/Western/Walker/Trew/Carroll/Chapman/Neale are all guaranteed to get drafted imo, with the likes of Winder/Lane/Morris/Brockman/Walker and Alec Waterman a late chance.

I do like a lot of those names (Guelfi/Avery/Martin/Hunter/Page) but I'd be surprised to see them drafted

Should also note the Draft Central guys have Nic Cox at #11 in their power rankings for October. I get that he might seem a bit jack-of-all-trades master of none but he seems a really good prospect to me. Zach Reid is at #14 and Kaine Baldwin at #15.

Reid did well in the combine too.

His Jack of all trades ability may translate into the ability to contribute as a hff/hbf/wing until he builds into a KPP/third tall option.

Yeah I think so. In Twomey's October Phantom he writes:

The son of former Fitzroy, Melbourne and Brisbane player Darryl Cox is an athletic tall player who has been used in a number of spots. He appears best settled as a key forward, but has also spent time on the wing and in the back half. Played for Vic Metro last year and his highlights package will excite.

he doesn't seem super fussed about it. Wants to be an engineer. But I'll let him know that some random bloke on BF says he won't be drafted.

Wow you know him, cool.
I have watched a lot of EF Colts games and cannot see any reason why we would draft him.
I know a couple of kids in the 18s (cool eh?) who have said he is a great bloke but probably doesn't have the tools to make it.
Please tell him "some random bigfooty guy like me says hi"

Just watched a highlights video of Kaine Baldwin and wow doesn’t he look a man amongst boys! Kind of reminds me, dare I say it, of a young Jesse Hogan. The risk could very well be worth the reward in drafting him as he looks and Sounds like exactly what we need, big contested marking beast. Obviously massive risk with his knee issues however.

Our first pick will end up out at 30 at this rate, he might still be available.

I've only seen Walker once. My main memory of him is cruising into the 50 looking like he's running at half pace, pulling away from Subi defenders. Very quick, very smooth. Played well early but faded.

I haven’t seen it (his highlight reel) but man vs boy doesn’t sound good. Reminds me of Kirsten, Mason Shaw and Darcy Fogerty in colts.
That plus the knee issues put me right off.

Would rather Reid or Cox.

If Hogan is gone, we have a need for a new KPF. We are scrubbers and just grab whatever we can get.
Has to be a seasoned player. Which means we are unlikely to get one of Hogan's calibre. Young KFs don't often excel in their first year. Even the good ones.

I think we can cope with Tabs, Lobb and Cox until we’re contending, with a developing tall playing a lesser role until he’s ready ala Allen.

Not seen much of him, but Neale has looked pretty good and seems to have a fair amount of interest from AFL clubs.

Is James a forward or a ruck?
He's a ruck. I've only seen him once but was impressive. So was Neale, but I don't think he'd physically capable for a couple years. James is a much bigger guy. Found a lot of the ball, kicked a couple of goals in a team that got belted. I think we need a KF more, but who?

I think Neale will become a ruck/forward or even a forward/ruck and I never subscribe to overlooking talent in the draft because of readiness. If it takes a few years to get totally up to AFL speed then so be it imo. We’re not contending in the next two or three anyway imo, so there’s no hurry.

If we’re still picking around 15 and have our heart set on a KF, then there will be a few options.

I don’t think we need to go mature age or ready to go, unless they’re going to be better than the youngsters or developing talls in 2022/23 when we should be contending.

I think Neale will become a ruck/forward or even a forward/ruck and I never subscribe to overlooking talent in the draft because of readiness. If it takes a few years to get totally up to AFL speed then so be it imo. We’re not contending in the next two or three anyway imo, so there’s no hurry.

If we’re still picking around 15 and have our heart set on a KF, then there will be a few options.

I don’t think we need to go mature age or ready to go, unless they’re going to be better than the youngsters or developing talls in 2022/23 when we should be contending.
I've seen James once and now I'm an expert on him.

A young KF is a must. Trouble is, development takes a while and we need one now. Hogan out is a a disaster.