Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion

Listening to the MMM call of Dons Hawks. Not a fan of Daisy Thomas as a player, but very enjoyable listening to him call with Kate McCarthy, good team. Not sure who the others are apart from Joey.

Great game to listen to, awesome to have crowds back!

Can anyone remind me why Caldwell & Hind aren't playing for St Kilda?

Jeeeeeeeesus, radio ads are the worst, and Aussie ads are laughably poor, so Aussie radio ads are making me want to go the Van Gogh.

Caldwell was really impressive in the clinches, really good body use and quick hands out to the right options. BUT, his kicking let him down a few times. Not sure if it's a general knock or a bad game, but he caused a few horrible turnovers by kicking it straight to Hawthorn players.

Draper will be a player

He looks like he'll be good, Ridley is a pretty good find for them too. They should have drafted a few years back instead of picking up talent from other clubs.

Hind was told he could play off half back, Caldwell was guaranteed mid minutes all game and more money. He didn't want to fight for a spot in our midfield

I was talking to a mate's nephew who is close mates with Caldy. He wasn't happy with us. Apparently he'd told everyone he was a Saint including all his mates and as soon as Crouch was announced we just stopped communicating while Essendon upped their offer. It sounds like he wasn't happy with the way we were operating during the trade. It's possible he's just gone for more cash and is covering his arse to make himself look good but he sounded like his mates believe it.

Nick Hind with 25 disposals makes me disappointed that we didn't do more with him. His speed is a weapon.

I was talking to a mate's nephew who is close mates with Caldy. He wasn't happy with us. Apparently he'd told everyone he was a Saint including all his mates and as soon as Crouch was announced we just stopped communicating while Essendon upped their offer. It sounds like he wasn't happy with the way we were operating during the trade. It's possible he's just gone for more cash and is covering his arse to make himself look good but he sounded like his mates believe it.

Legit just reckon we had a crack at Crouch expecting him to go elsewhere...and when he accepted, the money for JC evaporated.

Absolutely should have communicated better by the sounds of it.

A shame, reckon he'll be something and he was a pretty cheap pickup IIRC. Future 2nd special? For a top 12 or so pick in a super draft.

Nick Hind with 25 disposals makes me disappointed that we didn't do more with him. His speed is a weapon.
I dont get why we didn't use him as a defender

From the bits I’ve seen of games so far i think defenders will have to be one very good at defending one on one. The ball moves so quickly you can’t rely on extra numbers helping you out all the time.
That's spot on mate , you wont want too many blokes sagging off their man chasing kicks or you will be in trouble

Long would be the one for me.

Long looks to be out of our best 22 right now anyway.

Hind is definitely capable and list-worthy, but he was way down the pecking order for us, so we did the right thing by him to trade him to a team where he will play every week. While footy is a competitive sport, there is also something to say about treating the human beings properly. I have no qualms with the decision.

Caldwell had an offer and didn't accept it. Either he or his manager was playing games with us. Did they seriously think we'd wait around for a fringe player to a make a decision when there were going to other possibilities.

Anyway - he's got his wish - playing seniors - with the added bonus of little or no competition for his spot and a big payday as well.

The man on the mark rule.... We need to have a second player running into this space to spoil! The player can't stop their run up when the clock is ticking, so if these pricks want to arc-off to scab ten more metres closer to goal we should be ready to nail them (just know left or right footed).

This rule shouldn't be applied to shots on goal, it's total BS, ugly and embarrassing.

Untitled.png

The man on the mark rule.... We need to have a second player running into this space to spoil! The player can't stop their run up when the clock is ticking, so if these pricks want to arc-off to scab ten more metres closer to goal we should be ready to nail them (just know left or right footed).

This rule shouldn't be applied to shots on goal, it's total BS, ugly and embarrassing.

View attachment 1082912
Its a real tough one, if you leave your man to fill that space you are creating opportunity for that short pass. I just hate the concept of "oh we want to increase scoring by hobbling defensive efforts".

View attachment 1082912
The players need to be more alert, when the umpire calls play on they need to react quicker. I've seen umpires call play on this round and players still just stand the mark when they don't need to.

In the attachment look where the umpire is, behind the player on said mark.

Given the amount of noise that can be in an area on the ground, visual instances is also required, it's why they wear high vis colours after all, to be identified.

But on a right footer, who swings right to kick, they are positioned to the left, so if the mark was ran around for example, anyone on the mark is blindsighted by turning to see the umpire call play on. In image you see the eyes follow the track of the ball, facing where the ball is coming from.

So you need to be seen and heard, not just heard.

If anything, for a shot on goal the man on the mark should be able to move in line with the kick to then account for "natural" arcs in kicking, as it stands where umps state stand as in no lateral movement allowed, they need to be in better position to show the mark when they can move.

In the attachment look where the umpire is, behind the player on said mark.

Given the amount of noise that can be in an area on the ground, visual instances is also required, it's why they wear high vis colours after all, to be identified.

But on a right footer, who swings right to kick, they are positioned to the left, so if the mark was ran around for example, anyone on the mark is blindsighted by turning to see the umpire call play on. In image you see the eyes follow the track of the ball, facing where the ball is coming from.

So you need to be seen and heard, not just heard.

If anything, for a shot on goal the man on the mark should be able to move in line with the kick to then account for "natural" arcs in kicking, as it stands where umps state stand as in no lateral movement allowed, they need to be in better position to show the mark when they can move.
Well if they can be allowed to follow the natural arc for a set shot, if he fakes kicking for goal and passes it by the letter of the law it should be a 50m penalty. Players just need to be more aware of when they can and can't move. Obvious instances over the weekend of players playing on and almost running past the player on the mark before he reacts.

View attachment 1082912

Arcs should culminate at the mark not go around them.
Simple like driving a car round the corner, when you have finished your "arc" you should be in the correct lane, not in the ditch.

View attachment 1082912

I understand your point, but must admit I don't mind it personally - arcing around is just another skill the players need to practice. I prefer games with more goals.

How TF is this cretin allowed to publicly defend himself leading up to the tribunal? This is utterly ridiculous. He is trying to buy public sentiment & compromising the process. FMD.

"I ran however many metres to make that contest, I have a right to protect myself by elbowing that man in the face." AFLPA players el presidente ladies and gentlemen.

I hope the Tribunal adds an extra game onto his ban for that terrible defence, idiotic even.

If you want to protect yourself why don’t you just apply a normal tackle? Or better yet, not even make contact?

Of course he’s all for the smack down on rules and bans for concussion incidents when it’s other players. But when it’s him that’s the accused? Nah mate I was just protecting myself, he was charging straight for me!

Discussion 2021 General AFL Discussion