Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
If only the first part of this was true...
F**k that. Do they make you purchase your own uniform?I think it's been 3 weeks since I had an official lunch break during a shift, and if the weather is sh*t then we're stuck out in it - had that a couple of times
The pay is ok, though I've seen some companies pay additional/double rate in wet weather but I'm not that lucky
At this stage though I'm not sure I could make a sustainable living working with this particular company long term - during the job interview they indicated that "while it's casual employment, it's not uncommon to be working close to full time hours", but I'm averaging around 30 hours per week
I've worked with some long timers who's shifts have dropped to 2 or maybe 3 days a week over the past year as the company focused more on recruitment of the unemployed over that timeframe due to government kickbacks for companies taking on new staff & job seekers
They have public health orders in NSW?
I think that about every OlympicsAnyone else thinking the olympics is going to be a total disaster, and they should just cancel it?
Athletes dropping like flies with covid infections already, and it hasn’t even started yet. The people of japan largely don’t want it.
Kermit and the other Muppets could do a better job than what we have now.People need to get some perspective and think of what the alternative solution looks like.
Does anyone seriously think Albo has a grip on things, and can lead us down the right path?
He’s a simpleton - but let’s be honest - that’s a pre-requisite in Canberra. I actually feel sorry for him whenever I see him interviewed.
He’s not all there.
At least your outside. I reckon a gig with vicroads would be ok, cruising around seeing which pothole Is the biggest, then booking it in to get repaired in 6 months timeI've worked various roles at Centrelink - front office, back office and call centre
Worked in not-for-profit with a key focus on fundraising & marketing. The vast majority of that was sitting at a desk behind a computer and doing data entry - I always enjoyed the opportunity to get out of the office and with at events, functions or whatever allowed me to be away from the office. I also dealt with back pain and they finally got me a height adjustable desk after a fight - apparently my medical massage therapists request for a standing desk was sufficient and I needed a letter from a "medical" professional
Plus other odd office jobs
I've always said I hate being stuck within 4 walls and none of those jobs helped change my mind
Traffic isn't my dream job or something i necessarily want to do long term - when I left my job in fundraising I retrained to move into tourism but obviously that sector has turned to sh*t the last 12 months. I haven't given up hope of ultimately working in that field or even something with better conditions than TC
At least your outside. I reckon a gig with vicroads would be ok, cruising around seeing which pothole Is the biggest, then booking it in to get repaired in 6 months time
Warrnambool where the last 9 months by real estate prices we have finally been discovered.6 months?!!?
Where do you live to get such rapid response?!
I used to do that.At least your outside. I reckon a gig with vicroads would be ok, cruising around seeing which pothole Is the biggest, then booking it in to get repaired in 6 months time
F**k that. Do they make you purchase your own uniform?
The whole thing sounds f**ked.
Luckily there's a lot of work around though.
Not the same but kind of, but I used to do NDD and that treatment was the same.
I ended up just moving around companies till one weren't campaigners.
Have you thought about rail safe working? Way easier and way more money.
Anyone who thinks Scummo is either the "alternative" solution - or, indeed, any "solution" at all - must be asking a really, really weird question.People need to get some perspective and think of what the alternative solution looks like.
Does anyone seriously think Albo has a grip on things, and can lead us down the right path?
He’s a simpleton - but let’s be honest - that’s a pre-requisite in Canberra. I actually feel sorry for him whenever I see him interviewed.
He’s not all there.
Is the company unionised?....Either way make a point of reading through your EBA (or award if there’s no EBA) to know what they can do with your shifts, shift % etc.I think it's been 3 weeks since I had an official lunch break during a shift, and if the weather is sh*t then we're stuck out in it - had that a couple of times
The pay is ok, though I've seen some companies pay additional/double rate in wet weather but I'm not that lucky
At this stage though I'm not sure I could make a sustainable living working with this particular company long term - during the job interview they indicated that "while it's casual employment, it's not uncommon to be working close to full time hours", but I'm averaging around 30 hours per week
I've worked with some long timers who's shifts have dropped to 2 or maybe 3 days a week over the past year as the company focused more on recruitment of the unemployed over that timeframe due to government kickbacks for companies taking on new staff & job seekers
From midnight tonight, only "critical retail stores" can remain open.
"We have a list of what is critical retail," Ms Berejiklian said. "Obviously things like supermarkets, pharmacists, they will retain face-to-face retail. But anything which is regarded as non-critical retail will not be able to have face-to-face."
"Click and collect" options for takeaway and home delivery are still allowed to operate. Post offices, news agents and office stores will remain open.
Anyone else thinking the olympics is going to be a total disaster, and they should just cancel it?
Athletes dropping like flies with covid infections already, and it hasn’t even started yet. The people of japan largely don’t want it.
Is the company unionised?....Either way make a point of reading through your EBA (or award if there’s no EBA) to know what they can do with your shifts, shift % etc.
Interesting....Especially that last point, It sounds like you’re getting a rough deal, especially on having to stand at your point, it should be mandated to be given a smoko break, & also a lunch/dinner break.I found the EBA and read through it
Regarding breaks - The taking of the breaks are subject to operational requirements.*
Ordinary Hours of Work - The ordinary hours are 38 per week, worked between 6.00 am and 6.00 pm Monday to Friday inclusive.
Then there's stuff around overtime time and the requirement of a 10 hour break between the end of overtime and the commencement of the next "normal" shift. But again it goes into if the employer requires you to work within that 10 hour period, that you'll be paid at a higher rate until released from your duties and at that stage will be entitled to the 10 hour period of absence
*basically, the minimum number of TCs required to work a job is all that will be rostered on, even if that results in no opportunity for one to have a break during the day as you're required to stand at your post for the entirety of your shift